JPR estimates Intel GPU unit losses at $3.5 billion, suggests selling it

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Aug 11, 2022.

1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Ivrogne

Ivrogne Master Guru

GPU:
    a GPU
    Who expect Intel will be competitive with it's first gen of GPUs? I don't. But I hope they keep on trying so we can have a real third player in this market.
    I'm not an expert, but if they keep on doing it and keep on learning, they probably can be competitive at the 3rd gen.
    I might be wrong tho, but whatever.

3. TLD LARS

TLD LARS Master Guru

GPU:
    AMD 6900XT
    That is a weird recommendation from JPR.
    First using Billions with little to show for it and then sell off everything, who would buy something like this at a good price and would it even survive a owner change?
    Intel has the money to make it work, the worst enemy is maybe the investors.

heffeque, Maddness, Kaarme and 3 others like this.
  4. vf

vf Ancient Guru

GPU:
    ATi Radeon™
    That seems to be the market. Quick fixes, quick money, quick profits. If it doesn't deliver instant results, sell it off. Instant society. Lets not try and nourish something with a bit of time and time to build up experience.

heffeque, Maddness, Kaarme and 5 others like this.

5. Horus-Anhur

Horus-Anhur Ancient Guru

GPU:
    RX 6800 XT
    JPR, a company that makes nothing and innovates nothing. They only speculate about immediate market value.
    When a company has a mindset like this, of course they can't understand why real companies invest money today, to get returns years later.

I remember the story about when nvidia in the mid 90´s, when they were almost bankrupt. They could have cut their loses short, after the failure of the NV1.
    But Jensen and his team decided to make one last bet, and put all the money the company had in one last graphics chip. And it worked, the RIVA 128 was a success.