MMO New World (Closed Beta) is killing GeForce RTX 3090 Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jul 22, 2021.

1. barbacot

barbacot Maha Guru

GPU:
    MSI 4090 SuprimX
    I have a university degree, masters degree and PhD degree and guess what? - in physics...so I know something about capacitors, currents, etc - I don't know about "Jayz2Nothing"...I'm talking about myself here.
    Anyway this is not the point. This game affects both AMD and Nvidia cards so either all are to blame or the software is doing something bad...
    About your statement I think you are wrong..it's like driving very hard a card with ESP and other safety gadgets and while taking a curb at 180+ km/h hitting a tree outside the road...I should blame the car manufacturer for not making the ESP computer good enough to keep me (the less technical one) on the road and not myself for doing something stupid???

Krizby likes this.
  2. David Lake

David Lake Master Guru

GPU:
    Titan V watercooled
    The little white component that failed is in fact a fuse which has failed by design due to an over current condition.

3. Zooke

Zooke Master Guru

GPU:
    3090FE + EK Block
    Hell of a lot of damage for something designed to fail in order to protect the other components.
    That board looks like it will need a lot more work than simply soldering in a new fuse.

4. David Lake

David Lake Master Guru

GPU:
    Titan V watercooled
    Its designed to prevent a far more catastrophic failure such as an exploding MOSFET, not to be replaced.

5. Krizby

Krizby Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Asus RTX 4090 TUF
    EVGA made a mistake putting 20amps fuse that's all, the VRM portion that is connected to each power rail can handle way above 20amps so it doesn't need to shut down to protect anything.

It's like to put an 20amps fuse right after a 30amps one, the 20amp fuse is just useless baggage.