PC Gamers At A Audio Disadvantage Against Console: Surround Sound vs Positional Audio

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by Eastcoasthandle, Jun 12, 2021.

1. CrunchyBiscuit

CrunchyBiscuit Master Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti
    My brother wanted me to post this:

"@Eastcoasthandle, I believe you hit the nail on the head with almost all the issues you mentioned (technical details excluded, I'm no expert so I wouldn't know). For months now I have been struggling with positional audio issues. Thing is, I only started noticing these issues after I upgraded to Windows 10. In Windows 7, these issues were much, much less apparent to me. I now bought new speakers, I bought an external sound card, I bought a couple of cheap headphones, but I just can't seem to fix the positional audio issues and the issue of certain sound effects drowning out other sound effects. I can't pinpoint the position of my enemies correctly anymore, I can't hear how far or how close they are and I can't clearly hear if they're higher or lower than me. It's been driving me absolutely nuts. Now, I don't know if this is an issue between Win10/consoles, I can't be sure. What I do know for sure, is that ever since I upgraded to Windows 10, I have become a worse player because of the bad positional audio. As soon as I have money to spare, I'm probably gonna get myself the JBL Quantum ONE."

2. TimmyP

TimmyP Guest

GPU:
    RTX 3070
    If you do not have DDL, DTSC, or an analog multichannel setup and accompanying receiver to decode DDL, or DTSC if used (DDL\DTSC takes care of DAC through toslink\coax\hdmi?), or if a game (very rarely) will output a pre-encoded multichannel digital data track (like the one DDL\DTSC encodes from a 5.1\7.1 analog sound setup that has always been present in Windows), you will NOT have positional audio.