Red Dead Redemption 2 actually performs better on Linux than Windows with AMD Graphics

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 19, 2020.

1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Passus

Passus Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI 4070 Gaming X
    I tried ubuntu 20.04 yesterday,, kept having software crashes all over the place

3. GoldenX86

GoldenX86 Guest

GPU:
    SapphireToxicR9270X
    Anyone with years of Linux will tell you that Ubuntu is not the best distro option 99% of the time.

I hope AMD someday incorporates the fixes and improvements of the Linux drivers on Windows, specially for OpenGL.

4. yasamoka

yasamoka Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    More details ...? I mean, this doesn't really help.

MonstroMart likes this.

5. Passus

Passus Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI 4070 Gaming X
    Well as im very new to linux distros i can only say that they were system software errors and i kept being asked to "report the problem"

what that problem was i have no idea

6. asturur

asturur Maha Guru

GPU:
    Geforce Gtx 1080TI
    The good thing here is that wine has a really low overhead.
    That makes moving away from window and keep playing easier.
    For me that i most of the time develop and sometime games, keeping an entire windows build just to boot wow is an overkill.

7. ruthan

ruthan Master Guru

GPU:
    G1070 MSI Gaming
    Well, its possible, but i would like to see side by side comparision, i suspect that some effect would be missing incomplete in Linux.

8. RzrTrek

RzrTrek Guest

GPU:
    -
    This comes not long after the proton/contributors was able to work around the Rockstar Games Social Club (drm), which essentially made it impossible to launch the game. There are a couple of Wine builds floating around and driver fixes, but it looks like the MESA driver update was backported to 20.1.2 stable (or parts of it anyway), which is due to release on June 24th.