Fix game stutter on Win 10 1703-1809

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Exostenza, Apr 3, 2018.

1. mbk1969

mbk1969 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    Just a words without link.

2. Smough

Smough Master Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1660
    Sorry, I am not a full expert on these things, so if I come up with something a bit stupid, my bad then. The thing is that with standby memory full or not on my system, there's no performance change or least, its not visible.

3. Astyanax

Astyanax Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
  4. mbk1969

mbk1969 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GF RTX 4070

5. aufkrawall2

aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    7800 XT Hellhound
    It's very apparent that programs start slower after the 1st time when standby memory is flushed. So yeah, it was really unfortunate that it was required with older drivers on Win 1703+ to fight game stutter.
    Btw. no need for fancy tools, just watch the cache value reported in Task Manager RAM section when downloading, copying stuff etc. And Linux basically works the same.

Smough likes this.
  6. Smough

Smough Master Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1660
    Turns out you are completely right! Games stutter more if you keep clearing the standby memory. RE2 for example runs miles better if you allow the game to cache all it needs, much less asset load fps drops when you change areas in-game. Also it leaves like 4MB free of standby, sometimes even 0, but the game is smooth all the same. I see that having an SSD or not does not change this. Games still need to cache info to run faster.

7. EdKiefer

EdKiefer Ancient Guru

GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
  8. Astyanax

Astyanax Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    The crux of it was on a microsoft page that was deleted when moving to their new blog system.

9. AATT

AATT Master Guru

GPU:
    GTX1080