Lexar hits 7 GB/s with new M.2 PCIe 4.0 SDD

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 16, 2019.

1. NewTRUMP Order

NewTRUMP Order Master Guru

GPU:
    rtx 3080
    That's a great college course quote in economics, but I am talking specifically about ssd speeds.

2. pegasus1

pegasus1 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    TUF 4090
    And for free.
    Something new being faster is a selling point, and also not everybody goes from the last gen to the next gen, some jump several generations, i went from a 2700k (5ghz) to a 3800x and noticed a huge improvement. If id have upgraded several times instead i doubt the perceived improvement would have been as great.

Faster also sells, and that's the whole point.

3. nosirrahx

nosirrahx Master Guru

GPU:
    HD7700
    FYI, not a college grad, self taught IT career.

I mentioned it above but I will mention it again. Your PC spends almost all of its IO time working with small random files so speed in the 4KQ1T1 metric is what you feel.

From a marketing perspective though this is tough as 300meg per second is insanely fast for 4KQ1T1, yet the number is smaller than the advertised 3000 to 6000 megs per second sequential speed.

The average Joe/Jane sees a huge number and buys the drive never knowing that this number applies to .1% of their use case.

In the car world, this is like HP, top speed and lap times. Massive HP and insane top speed gets attention even though a small lap time actually better reflects how the car drives and handles.

Need does not dictate as much as you think.

4. nizzen

nizzen Ancient Guru

GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    My 3x Optane 900p In raid-0
    Everything else feels so slow :p
    [​IMG]
    Happy christmas :D

5. nosirrahx

nosirrahx Master Guru

GPU:
    HD7700
    I do something similar with 4 905Ps in my workstation. You have me beat on 4K.

[​IMG]

nizzen likes this.
  6. wavetrex

wavetrex Ancient Guru

GPU:
    TUF 6800XT OC