AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX performance can see up-to 2X Boost with CorePrio tool

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jan 3, 2019.

1. Yakk

Yakk Guest

GPU:
    Graphics card
    Yes, separately Wendell confirmed Windows Server uses the same flawed kernel.

2. I am no chip designer, and no one is more solidly on the red team.......but looking at the circuit diagram for the threadrippers, giving only two of the four ccx direct memory pathways seems like a mistake. Maybe they couldn't, or maybe they had their reasons, but it seems like quite a bottle neck. If someone wants to send me a 2990wx and motherboard (maybe a couple titans, 128 gigs of ddr4 3200, about 4 2tb 970 pros, and an nvme raid host card, ya know....the basics) i would be happy to test CorePrio and report back with my results.....totally won't gank all the fancy gear :D

3. schmidtbag

schmidtbag Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Asrock 7700XT
    I'm not sure what your logic is. If you're suggesting that a multi-billion dollar company shouldn't be collecting their customer's data for bug tracking and internal statistics, then why does free software not usually do this sort of data collection?

You might not have an obligation to them (I don't either), but a lot of people who need to run Windows-compatible software do. But, I do for the most part agree with the gist of your statement, though to extrapolate further: if you buy hardware for a certain version of a piece of software that you also bought, they should work correctly without any fuss, and the 2990WX was not one of such cases.

Yup, pretty much.

Actually that's more because of how lightweight and customizable Linux is, but I digress.

4. Astyanax

Astyanax Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    When Threadripper launched, I saw on friends machines that load balancing was not respecting CCX package barriers, I concluded that tagging was not working properly at that point.