FreeSync broken since Crimson ReLive

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Australis, Dec 20, 2016.

1. Angeland

Angeland Guest

GPU:
    Fury Nitro OC
  2. N0bodyOfTheGoat

N0bodyOfTheGoat Member Guru

GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB
    Well i wasn't sure if my Freesync was broken, but having followed the tip about setting scaling at 100% just before I turned the pc off this morning, I swear desktop icons and text in general looks crisper!

Give that forum member a cookie!:invasion:

3. Australis

Australis Guest

GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G
    This looks like a favorable discovery. I would follow suit.

Nevertheless, I must testify my ReLive FreeSync failures only occurred in Resident Evil Revelations 2, Resident Evil 5 & Resident Evil 6. Could Crapcom's game engine be guilty, if any?

Eventually, I started playing Dead Space 3 & Alien Isolation. FreeSync simply worked there.

EDIT: Cough! Isn't 100% scaling the default? I never messed with that value. So this "fix" has nothing to do with me.

Last edited: Apr 3, 2017
  4. Australis

Australis Guest

GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G
    Complete FreeSync failure after Windows 10 Creators Update. #Alien Isolation

RSCRE 17.4.2.

Edit:

I found out Windows 10 Creators Update rolled me back to Crimson 16.6 without my knowledge! Outrageous.

The ReLive tab is still present though. Weird.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 17, 2017

5. PrMinisterGR

PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    Do a clean installation with DDU. The Creators update also made RadeonPro not to work in fullscreen any more with a lot of games.

6. Australis

Australis Guest

GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G
    Absolutely. Now I'm back in business.:)

Spoiled by FreeSync, I can now proclaim myself able to find the traces of screen tearing at static 144 Hz.:infinity:

7. Australis

Australis Guest

GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G