About to blow my head off

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Nemesis44, Jul 25, 2016.

1. Nemesis44

Nemesis44 Member

GPU:
    MSI Nvidia GTX 1060
    Okay, so that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I am really frustrated right now and I wondered if anyone has some advice for me.

I have an EVGA 780ti graphics card, which I'm very happy with. Unfortunately, I keep having crashes with it under Win 10. I have the latest drivers (I always do), using DDU? to clean the previous versions.

I check the reliability log feature in Win10 and the culprit always seems to be an NVxxx driver. For a while, I had no crashes and games which had issues performed perfectly. Something has changed with either this last driver, or maybe the one before to make it unstable again.

Can anyone give me some advice on how to fix this? I'm not a newbie to computers, but I've never had such trouble with a hardware/software configuration.

Many thanks, in advance.

2. chinobino

chinobino Maha Guru

GPU:
    MSI 3060Ti Gaming X
    When is the PC crashing? In game only? At desktop as well?

What error shows in your event viewer?

Which nvidia driver are you using?

Have you tried rolling back to your previous video driver?

Is your CPU and/or GPU overclocked? If yes, have you tried setting things back to stock?

How old is your PSU?

3. diddly

diddly Guest

GPU:
    KFA2 GTX 970 Infin8
    Please post GPU temperatures at idle & load. Make sure the power connections to the motherboard, CPU and GPU are ok.

Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
  4. AsiJu

AsiJu Ancient Guru

GPU:
    KFA2 4070Ti EXG.v2
    Did you just upgrade to Windows 10? Clean install may solve such issues.

5. cryohellinc

cryohellinc Ancient Guru

GPU:
    RX 6750XT/ MAC M1