I´m addicted to being a guru.

Discussion in 'The Guru's Pub' started by StewieTech, Apr 14, 2015.

1. grunger

grunger Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Palit GTX970 4GB
    I'm going to echo what seems to be a growing sentiment....

I work in IT full time as a senior infrastructure engineer and sysadmin so its not like I really have the inclination to 'play' with them at home any longer.
    Managing network and infrastructure leads you to think of desktop pcs simply as 'tools'
    Build image, WDS deploy image, all settings are then done via GP
    If the machine has a fault software wise re-image it, if it has a h/w fault under warranty HP or Dell come, if not replace it.

Also the revolution of the gaming rigs has somewhat passed it seems - everything now is more evolutionary.
    I would have one point have had a new rig every ~2 years or so, my current board is probably getting on for 5.

The massive jumps in performance just aren't there any more, who is really excited that the new i7 is a 18% faster than the old one in real world performance?

SSDs getting faster sure, but they've now passed the speed that anyone will notice in the real world (unless talking SANs but that's not really what this forum is about)

Video cards are still getting quicker, but (much as I hate to say this) like it or not the gaming world IS console orientated nowadays (I know they don't have the resolution or some of the detailing you can get with a PC) as they are what the public buy, they require no hard end user setup and they are a nice closed architecture system - easy to develop for.

I do still have a fairly powerful machine, it will play pretty much anything @ 1440p but I'm not sure what I'll do next.

I might do an X99 build, but I'm struggling to see the point of investing that kind of money.

I do encode things still, and that does require power, but as soon as plex on the Xbox on can do MKVs without transcoding then that might not even be required