The Evil Within PC Seems to be Locked At 30FPS

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Oct 9, 2014.

1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Bethesda has posted some info, the PC version of The Evil Within seems to be locked at a 30fps framerate cap, the company should provide some debug options via which players will be able to unlock the...

The Evil Within PC Seems to be Locked At 30FPS

2. h4rm0ny

h4rm0ny Guest

GPU:
    R9 285 / 2GB
    I'm not an expert but that sounds like the laziest console port ever. Recommended 4GB of VRAM if you want to play at 1080p?

I wonder how companies interpret weaker PC sales with things like this - do they say "we didn't put enough work into the PC version" or do they say "PC market is dying" ?

3. RealNC

RealNC Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4070 Ti Super
    Laughable. The only reason for the aspect ratio is that they have to render less. Designed for Consoles.

Welcome to "next-gen" console gaming, where you're still limited to 30FPS and still can't use 1080p.

Thanks, I'll pass. This stuff is why people don't buy those PC ports. The "best experience" nonsense are just just platitudes some marketing droid is spouting out of his mouth.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2014
  4. moab600

moab600 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    PNY 4090 XLR8 24GB
    30FPS is unbearable, 60fps is the min standard and even that is not enough. Limiting FPS on PC is NOT fine, never should happen.

5. spectatorx

spectatorx Guest

GPU:
    Radeon RX580 8GB
    I thought standard for movies is 23.397, why they didn't lock it to this value? This would make more sense. 30 fps is too much for movie.

A bit more serious... some companies should decide what they are making: games, movie-like games, or movies? And they should post in description of their product what it really is.

6. HitokiriX

HitokiriX Master Guru

GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1070