Need GTX560Ti Advice!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by jcsnider, Dec 1, 2013.

1. jcsnider

jcsnider Guest

GPU:
    GTX560 TI OC (Skyrim Ed.)
    Hey everyone,
    First of all I would like to say Hi! My name is JC and obviously this is my first post so I will apologize in advance if I am in the wrong forum section, asking wrong questions, providing inadequate information, etc..

Anyways, I am a programmer at heart and up until 2 weeks ago never built a personal computer. I have only done the simple hard drive replacements, ram upgrades, etc for other broken or sluggish machines and generally I work with laptops. With that said I was offered a lightly used Asus P5n-d motherboard, a GTX560 Ti (Factory overclocked) graphics card, skyrim edition if that is important from PNY, and everything else except for a case so I waited on the parts and put this pc together. My only real goal/hope for this PC was to run skyrim at decent speeds with decent quality and all in all it works fine for its purpose but in the end I am having a few GTX560 Ti problems that it seems everyone has had once or twice.

It pretty much goes like this... I launch a game, web video, etc and my GPU goes to work, warms up (not too hot, generally around 60-65c max) and I can play a game for as long as I would like but if I close the game/web browser my gpu's clock speed throttles down, cools down and starts to freak out. (Red artifacts and a 50-50 chance of my whole pc going to a blank black screen with no way to recover without hitting the reset switch OR the desktop coming back to a Nvidia driver has crashed error.)

I have tried multiple things to fix this issue including different drivers (currently on 314.XX), switching out ram (as proposed by someone on the Nvidia forums - didn't see the point in that personally), switching from windows 8 back to 7 making sure I had a clean install and more.