Help me understand Android

Discussion in 'Tablets and Smart Phones' started by WindtalkerCS, Sep 17, 2012.

1. WindtalkerCS

WindtalkerCS Master Guru

GPU:
    2x EVGA GTX 280's
    So I've been using iPhone's for about 4 years now and I decided that I wanted to give Android another go since the Galaxy Nexus is so cheap in the Play Store. I picked it up about 2 weeks ago and I'm struggling to understand how I'm better off using Android.

So far what I like
    1. the notification system, really nothing on the iPhone (stock) compares and I really like the LED, been hoping for that on an iPhone for years.
    2. I have liked Jelly Bean so far, it is decently optimized. I like the size of the screen in comparison to the iPhone.
    Now what I'm struggling with.
    1. There is a bug with the Messaging app that drops area codes when you select contacts. I checked and it was reported to Google in July, seriously how can a bug like this exist? (This is only one example but the one that is most constantly annoying.)
    2. No pinch zoom in email? Is this a joke? I thought it was 2012.
    3. The apps are nowhere near the quality of iOS counterparts. There are some excellent exceptions however. Spotify is brilliant on Android, NZB 360 is great as well.

Maybe I'm looking for something that just instead there but I was hoping for a better experience than iOS. So far, for all the openness the only thing that I've found is bugs. Am I just expecting too much?

2. nhlkoho

nhlkoho Guest

GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    Pinch to zoom in e-mail works on my droid so maybe its a bug with your phone.

There's a lot of differences so it will take time to get used to. Personally I dropped my Android phone for a Windows phone and I don't think I'll ever go back. Yes the app selection sucks but how often am I using them? The only apps I use on a regular basis are Flixster, iheart radio, Netflix, and Office.

Once you get used to navigating the OS you'll like it a lot more than iOS.