How do I enable AMD/ATI HD3D?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by blesner, Aug 8, 2011.

1. blesner

blesner Guest

GPU:
    MSI Nvidia GTX 690
    Hi

I am very new to 3D , I recently got a Samsung S23a950d

How do I enable AMD/ATI HD3D? My monitor is supported.

Do you still need a 3rd party program?
    Shouldn't you be able to enable it in the ATI CCC (Like Nvidia's 3D vison)?

2. k1net1cs

k1net1cs Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    Do you use 11.8 Preview?
    And do you use DP as the connection?

3. blesner

blesner Guest

GPU:
    MSI Nvidia GTX 690
    Yes I am using 11.8 preview mate.

DP?

4. The Creator

The Creator Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Hellhound 7900XT

5. blesner

blesner Guest

GPU:
    MSI Nvidia GTX 690
    Hi

So I have to use third party software?, is there any way to enable it in the CCC?

6. DmitryKo

DmitryKo Master Guru

GPU:
    ASRock RX 7800 XT
    In short, you can enable HD3D (i.e. quad-buffered frame sequential 120 Hz mode) if
    a) the software you are using supports HD3D mode of the Catalyst driver, and
    b) the Catalyst driver itself supports your specific monitor in HD3D mode.

I have the S27A950 as well and it seems like HD3D currently does not work over DVI or DisplayPort connections with this monitor, not even with the latest Catalyst 11.8 preview which claims to support A950/A750 series.

You might be able to enable Blu-ray 3D playback if you have a Radeon HD6000 card and are using the HDMI connector on the monitor (but not DisplayPort-HDMI or DVI-HDMI cable). You will be limited to mandatory HDMI 3D modes, i.e. 720p60 stereo and 1080p24 stereo. You have to use compatible media players such as Cyberlink PowerDVD 10/11 Ultra or Corel WinDVD Pro 2010.

If you only need to play games, the most trouble free option is to use built-in 2D->3D conversion mode in your monitor, however the stereo effect will be quite subtle.