How do I know if I have just bought a K Sandybridge?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by HonoredShadow, Jan 20, 2011.

1. HonoredShadow

HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

GPU:
    msi 4090
  2. TheHunter

TheHunter Banned

GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
  3. HonoredShadow

GPU:
    msi 4090
    How much over clock should I expect on this with air?

What is this Turbo mode I keep reading little bits about? It seems to clock it up to 3.7ghz. Is that an easy noob o/c?

That would be great for me as I am relatively new to over clocking!

Thanks for your answers and time.

Sy.

4. Rochin

Rochin Ancient Guru

GPU:
    EVGA GTX460 EE 1GB
    Not much of an overclock if at all. The K versions can be overclocked, yours is not a K version.

5. Octavean

Octavean Guest

GPU:
    GTX960 / GTX670 / GTX760
    Essentially you cannot appreciably OC the standard non “K” version on the Sandy Bridge LGA1155 platform. Unless some cleaver cuss comes out with a way to do it by coverling a landing pad on the CPU or something like that.

The Core i5 2500 and 2500k unlocked version both have a standard 3.3GHz clock speed that can auto turbo up to 3.7GHz. OCing would go beyond this 3.7 speed.

6. HonoredShadow

GPU:
    msi 4090
    Is that 3.7 easy to do? Do I just just tick something in the BIOS for this one or it much more in depth than that?

7. sdamaged99

sdamaged99 Guest

GPU:
    Asus TUF 6800XT
    You bought the wrong one unfortunately

8. HonoredShadow

GPU:
    msi 4090
    Oh well. I'm not much of an overclocker anyways. I had a tight budget as I have a new baby on the way next month.

I was very grateful when my missus said I could spend £400 on an upgrade! :)

So I will definetly not be able to enable that turbo mode then?

Thanks all.

9. Veteran

Veteran Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Tell them you bought the wrong one and send it back and pay the extra,shouldnt be a problem.