Temperature Hysteresis?

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by Strider, Sep 23, 2010.

1. Strider

Strider Active Member

GPU:
    nVidia GTX470 Overclocked
    I am new to MSI Afterburner and I am trying to figure out how this setting works, but without much luck. What does it do and what do I need to set it on?

2. mkchiu

mkchiu Member

GPU:
    Neat new feature. I've never used it in Afterburner, and the hint was written in a way that implies a hardware-style implementation.

For a hardware-style implementation of hysteresis set to 10C, you should have the following fan behavior. That is, fan turns on 10C early and turns off 10C early.

[​IMG]

Turn on logic would follow red curve, turn off logic would follow blue curve. Both are relative to green set point curve, but offset up and down by 10C.

3. Strider

Strider Active Member

GPU:
    So tell me if I get it right >> When I have made a fan profile, and for example I take 1 point, the fan starts blowing at 70 degrees with 80% fan power, a temperature hysteresis of 10 degrees will let the fan start at 60 degrees with 80% fan power, and when cooling down faster then heating up it will decrease fan power at 90 degrees to 80% fan power?

So all it does is starting and stopping earlier according to the temperature difference filled out at the temperature hysteresis settting?

If that is so, won't the GPU stay to warm because it starts lowering fan power to early?

Edit: Right now I made a very aggresive fan profile to cool down my GTX470 as much as possible, it looks like this:

Degrees (celsius) / Fan speed (%)
    40 / 60
    50 / 70
    60 / 80
    65 / 90
    70 / 100

Why would I want to start and stop earlier? What are the benefits of that? If it starts earlier it hasn't got much use yet, if it stops earlier my gpu will quickly rise in temperature again.

Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  4. mkchiu

mkchiu Member

GPU: