Aquariums who has one?

Discussion in 'The Guru's Pub' started by ShadowMyth, Jun 19, 2010.

Tags:
  1. ShadowMyth

ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    Ever since I was a kid I've wanted a aquarium. I've kept putting it off for various reasons but next week I'm going down to the store & see if I find one I like. I mainly want to put one in by bedroom since I've found them to be very soothing & it may just help me sleep a little better. Currently I'm looking at tanks around 55 gallons & already have a base that can handle that size & weight. My question is as a noob what should I be looking for? How demanding is the upkeep? Should I skip a saltwater setup for now until I have some experience? Though the internet is full of info I'd like to hear it from someone that has had first hand experience. Any advice would be welcome. Thanks.

2. ST19AG_WGreymon

ST19AG_WGreymon Guest

GPU:
    eVGA RTX2070
    I'm looking to own a salt water aquarium in the near future and stock with some exotics like sea horses and a nautilus.

3. Hyvry1

Hyvry1 Maha Guru

GPU:
    AMD 7900XTX
    Keep the tank away from anything that vibrates and use a water filter. Don't change the water to often either. I find that keeps the fish living a long time. I have a simple fresh water goldfish and that has been alive for 8 years and is still going strong.

4. F1refly

F1refly Ancient Guru

GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
    saltwater can get very expensive and can mean a lot of upkeep and may be tough to get equally balanced. but here is a good site for info. i never did saltwater due to all the maintanence and expense it can be for a really good setup.
    http://saltaquarium.about.com/od/startinganaquarium/How_to_Start_a_Saltwater_Aquarium.htm