Help-Overclocking Q9550...not happening.

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by Hav0q, Oct 8, 2009.

1. Hav0q

Hav0q Master Guru

GPU:
    nVIDIA Titan X
    My RAM runs at 5-5-5-18 CL2...ram 1:1? So if my FSB is running @ 1800Mhz...that's quite a jump from 800Mhz...I never ran 1:1 when I OC'd my e8500.

2. ibitato

ibitato Guest

what you mean by CL2 ?????

um, 18 ?? that's high

what did you change on the bios ???

what settings you have for RAM ???

what ram d y have ??

I suppose you're running the CPU FSB at 450 Mhz, right ???

If so, 1:1 on RAM it's 900Mhz that at 5-5-5-15 CL5 , 2.0v should be doable.

running 1:1 contributes to stability ; don't pay attention to those ppl that say it's for n00bs.

If you what to run your RAM 1:1 yo need to multiply FSB x 2 and set accordingly.

3. Hav0q

Hav0q Master Guru

GPU:
    nVIDIA Titan X
    Ohhhh...I'm a noob overclocker...let me make some changes.

Default Memory timings is 5-5-5-18 2T according to Corsair. It's Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) 800Mhz.

Yeah, FSB is 450x8 @ 3.6Ghz.

So pushing the RAM from 1.8v to 2.0v and dropping the 18 -> 15?

In my BIOS when I run 1800 @ 1:1 it says RAM is 1800Mhz...when I boot it says the frequency is 1800Mhz instead of 800...I run it unlinked.

Yeah...FSB x 2 for RAM since it's DDR2, right?

4. ibitato

ibitato Guest

Don't worry.
    Manually set the timings to 5-5-5-18 2T, your stock clocks, you will only be running a bit faster the RAM to add stability at 1:1.

Yes, you multiply CPU FSB x2 to know the RAM speed would be at 1:1, so 450FSB means RAM will be running at 900. MANUALLY set this speed. Don't let the BIOS toy with this (it will if you vary FSB)

I don't know your RAM voltage specs, but find out. So after you set the timings manually and ram speed at 900, raise ram voltage a couple of notches over stock voltage, that should be enough for 900, since your stock ram it's 800.

5. Hav0q

Hav0q Master Guru

GPU:
    nVIDIA Titan X