When SLI is enabled, games freeze

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Boifido, Feb 23, 2009.

1. Boifido

Boifido Member

GPU:
    EVGA GTX 260 SLI
    Hi,
    I was wondering if anyone could provide insight into the issue I'm having. I can play games fine with SLI disabled, and they don't crash or have issues. When I enable SLI the newer games freeze withing seconds of loading. In the Empire: Total War demo, for example, when I load the battle, it will show 5 - 10 seconds of graphics, and the freeze, but the sound continues, and I have to do a hard reset. I've searched on google for the same problem but everytime I see it asked, no-one knows the answer (It could be I'm not good at searching though). I'm wondering if it's caused by two slightly different cards, but its the same basic model, just different clock speeds.

My system specs:
    EVGA 780i FTW Motherboard
    E8500
    BFG 8800 GTX OC2 Core 626
    BFG 8800 GTX OC1 Core 600
    Creative X-fi Soundcard
    4 GB Ram
    Coolit Systems Quad drive bay liquid cooling
    Thermaltake toughpower 1200w power supply
    Vista 64 Bit

I don't think it's being caused by overheating since my video cards get as low as 26c Idle, and I have a large enough power supply, so it's probably not caused by a power issue.

Any help would be much appreciated

Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
  2. Aznthug186

Aznthug186 Member Guru

GPU:
    Asus GTX 580
    try to reinstall the driver

3. Boifido

Boifido Member

GPU:
    EVGA GTX 260 SLI
    I have, done driver cleaner, reinstalled vista, multiple driver versions, nothing seems to work

4. sakis213

sakis213 Master Guru

GPU:
    Nvidia eVGA 8800Gtx
    Check if the sli bridge it's connected right, some edges must look down, i had it once this problem and was because of that

5. nascasho

nascasho Master Guru

GPU:
    GV-N670OC-2GD @ 1250Mhz
    And see if the problem persists with just one card.

6. Boifido

Boifido Member

GPU:
    EVGA GTX 260 SLI