How To Overclock? Please Help.

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by kanej2007, Aug 13, 2008.

1. kanej2007

kanej2007 Guest

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    I have never overclocked before. As you can see I have an amd 6000 x2 3.0 at the moment.

I want to overclock my processor to at least 3.4ghz.

My current processors temps are very good, idling at around 45, while gaming rises to max 55-60.

My system is kept cool as I have a massive coolermaster case, 4 large fans and 2 small fans so ventilation is very good.

Could somebody please give me easy basic instructions to safely overclock my processor bit by bit?

Thanks

2. Lowteckh

Lowteckh Member Guru

GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 @ stock
    Those are good temps? I think you have much to research.

Edit: And rofl google athlon 6000 overclock, there's like a gazillion pages on it. So much butt wiping...

3. Lain

Lain Guest

GPU:
    HD5970 @ 950/1200MHz
    The only way you get your CPU up to 3.4 GHz with your current set up is by shaking it... REAL HARD!!

4. kanej2007

kanej2007 Guest

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    Haha, yeah, I know what you mean. I will try to look for a good easy guide to follow of how to overclock.

Do any of you know a link of where I can find a simple guide to overclock?

Many thanks.

5. Lain

Lain Guest

GPU:
    HD5970 @ 950/1200MHz
    Not by hard, google should serve you well.

but if you're running 55/60 on load, you don't have any headroom to overlock your CPU.

6. SaltyDog1976

SaltyDog1976 Member Guru

GPU:
    GTX-285
    I've never OC'd before either but hope to soon. I've been looking here and have found some really great information. From what those guys above are saying above it looks like you need to overhaul a couple few things first. I'd probably start with finding out what kind of temps are safe and move on from there. Good luck to you on your venture.

7. kanej2007

kanej2007 Guest

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB