Help with GeForce Go 7300

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA Modified Drivers' started by Haedos, Feb 24, 2008.

1. Haedos

Haedos Member

Hi, i have an acer aspire 9420 and have had enough of the poor perfomance with vista so i decided to dual boot xp onto it. Finally i got it all working except i havent got the right drivers yet, i need someone to please help get my a driver which will get it working, i don't mind if it is a modified driver, if it makes it perform better then i would actually prefer it :D. Oh yeah, and this is for the xp home edition.

thanks in advance, please get back to me :)

2. morbias

morbias Don TazeMeBro

GPU:
    -
    Try the drivers here, they have every conceivable display adapter listed in their modified .inf file.

3. Haedos

Haedos Member

Thanks, i have not already got a driver installed on this pc btw.

sorry, i am a noob when it comes to drivers and have no idea which driver to pick out of all those that you showed me, do i need to do anything or just download them and run setup

sorry for all the questions but this is the only place that actually seems to help

=) thank in advance

EDIT: oh yeah, also , are these drivers modified? i would like modified drivers if they make the card work faster and perform better.

Thankee :D

Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  4. morbias

morbias Don TazeMeBro

GPU:
    -
    They're not modified drivers, they just have modified .inf files so that they will install for any card. Actually, the drivers on there are quite old, I didn't notice that at first. You can modify .inf's yourself, then you can use any driver.

First you have to extract the forceware driver package, then open up nv4_disp.inf in Wordpad.

For the Go 7300 you'd have to add the following lines;

under:

[Manufacturer]
    %NVIDIA% = NVIDIA.Mfg

[NVIDIA.Mfg]

add:

%NVIDIA_G72.DEV_01D7.1% = nv4_mobile, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_01D7

under

; Localizable Strings

add:

NVIDIA_G72.DEV_01D7.1 = "NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300"