Low FPS on my new 22'' inch LCD Need some Advice

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Hirokiseki, Feb 13, 2007.

1. Hirokiseki

Hirokiseki New Member

Hi I just got a New 22" ViewSonic VX2235wm and i am using the Res 1680 by 1050. I didn't notice much difference on my Computer until I started playing World of warcraft (yes i am an Addict). I realized i was getting 25-60 fps. And It was making be Sick. I currently have a Sapphire 850xt non-crossfire. Am i Getting low fps because of my graphic card? I am really lost.

My set up:
    ASUS A8R-MVP Socket 939
    AMD Opteron 148 Venus 2.2GHz Socket 939 (OC to 2.4)
    2g of OZ ram
    OCZ Gold Edition 2GB (2 x 1GB)
    Ati 850 XT
    500watt PSU

So do i need to upgrade my Graphics Card for this Resolution or is it something wrong with my LCD. Also i tried overclocking it but Still no luck at all and i was getting around the same fps.

Any help or advice would be Great

Thanks

2. The Kyle

The Kyle Banned

GPU:
    Radeon HD3870 / Radeon HD
    What kind of budget are you looking at? I believe the 8800GTS 320mb version was just released. They should run just under $300. I'm not exactly a fanboi of either ATI or nVidia, but that is a pretty good deal imo.

Last edited: Feb 13, 2007
  3. scatman839

scatman839 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    3080, KD55XD800
    There can't be anything wrong with the actual monitor, that wouldn't make sense, the increase in resolution however would slow things down.

When I got a 1680x1050 monitor, I had a x800xt, games were slower than before of course, but playable.

4. The Kyle

The Kyle Banned

GPU:
    I guess he's not used to the drastic range of frames. It can cause some people to feel nauseous.

5. bug77

bug77 Banned

GPU:
    Palit 8800GT
    I wouldn't expect an X850XT to do any better at that resolution.

6. weston

weston Guest

GPU:
    GTX 275
    what resolution did you play at before? Frame rate will obviously drop as you increase resolution.

7. Unity