Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Flash FX 5900 --> FX 5950 Ultra!!
Old
  (#1)
AJ²06
Ancient Guru
 
AJ²06's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GT 330M 512MB
Processor: Intel Core i5 - 520M
Mainboard: Intel PM55 Express-M
Memory: 4BG DDR3/1066
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: 108w
Lightbulb Flash FX 5900 --> FX 5950 Ultra!! - 01-09-2004, 03:07 | posts: 4,890 | Location: USA

Hey guys,
I found this on the net. It says u can possibly flash ur FX 5900 cards to FX 5950 Ultra cards!! It even works for some of the FX 5900 XT cards.....
Quote:
Although NV35 cards are available in both 128MB and 256MB versions while the NV38 cards are only 256MB, the amount memory available on the card shouldn't be a problem with this method. The article notes that Nvidia-based cards don't store their buffer memory into the card BIOS, but instead determine the amount of buffer memory automatically each time the computer is booted. Thus, flashing a 128MB GeForce FX 5900 to become a 128MB GeForce FX 5950 Ultra is quite possible since the new BIOS won't know any better. Cards that feature VIVO capabilities will also retain their functions after the flashing.
AS FAR AS I KNOW ONLY THE 5900 FAMILY CAN FLASH. NOT the 5200's, 5600's, or 5700!!!!!

Check this site out: Click here

Heres a site on how to flash ur card with the BIOS and flash utility Click Here!

And HERE by Chouji

IF YOU HAVE A 5900XT, then go HERE!

AS ALWAYS, FLASH AT UR OWN RISK....

Last edited by AJ²06; 05-08-2004 at 10:15.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
WarheadMM
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asylum FX 5900NU
Processor: AMD XP 2500+
Mainboard: A7N8X Deluxe Rev 1.04
Memory: 1 GB PC 3200
Soundcard: SoundStrom
PSU:
Default 01-09-2004, 05:59 | posts: 263 | Location: Washington State US

yeah that story has been on basically EVERY video card forum. Alot of people have already dont it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AJ²06
Ancient Guru
 
AJ²06's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GT 330M 512MB
Processor: Intel Core i5 - 520M
Mainboard: Intel PM55 Express-M
Memory: 4BG DDR3/1066
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: 108w
Default 01-09-2004, 06:36 | posts: 4,890 | Location: USA

y? it messes things up?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
WarheadMM
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asylum FX 5900NU
Processor: AMD XP 2500+
Mainboard: A7N8X Deluxe Rev 1.04
Memory: 1 GB PC 3200
Soundcard: SoundStrom
PSU:
Default 01-09-2004, 09:26 | posts: 263 | Location: Washington State US

no....just informing you that alot of people are doing it.....and there has been alot of successful mods
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lost_soul9k
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ???
Processor: Pentium 4 2.6 GHZ 800FSB HT
Mainboard: Intel 865 Mainboard
Memory: Hynix 256 MB DDR400 (sucks)
Soundcard: xfi music along with logitech z-680
PSU: 350 sumthin ..
Default 01-09-2004, 09:49 | posts: 147

Wow that's nice. I've got a Gainward Geforce Fx5900, I guess I would have to ask my friend to mod it cause I'm not a expert at modding !
What are the risks involved ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
WarheadMM
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asylum FX 5900NU
Processor: AMD XP 2500+
Mainboard: A7N8X Deluxe Rev 1.04
Memory: 1 GB PC 3200
Soundcard: SoundStrom
PSU:
Default 01-09-2004, 10:06 | posts: 263 | Location: Washington State US

all the mod does is flash your video card bios to another cards bios. The worts thing that could happen is your flashing goes bad and you will have a dead card. But there is a way to recover so you wont lose it. BTW if your freind is good at modding then i highly recomend that he does it casue he will know what to do
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BlackAce
Master Guru
 
BlackAce's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS EN7800GTX
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 FX-57
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
Memory: 2GB OCZ EL Titanium Dual Channel
Soundcard: SB Audigy4 - Logitech Z-5300
PSU: 480W Antec Neo
Default 01-09-2004, 14:27 | posts: 274 | Location: The Netherlands, Amsterdam

so...does this mean u can flash the fx5600 bios to a fx5600ultra with stock cooling??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Shuffl@
Master Guru
 
Shuffl@'s Avatar
 
Videocard: HD5870M
Processor: i5-460M
Mainboard: msi
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: 5.1
PSU: laptop
Default 01-09-2004, 16:57 | posts: 639 | Location: UK / Northamptonshire

waste of time the download links dont work anyway!!! if anyone was succesful to get the leadtek 5950 bios could u send me it plz! ill try and tell u the results!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
armhunter
Master Guru
 
armhunter's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 EVGA 7800GTX 256 ACS³ SLI
Processor: AMD 64 x2 4800
Mainboard: Asus A8n SLI
Memory: 2 x 1 gig
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 7.1
PSU: 500w
Default 01-09-2004, 17:34 | posts: 262 | Location: Bakersfield CA

I am looking for the Gainward fx5900 to 5950u bios as well...
if anyone has them, please help....

The Gainward tool for downloading bios will only let you download bios for your existing card, not another card...


thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Blissed
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3d 8800GTS 320mb
Processor: Intel E6420 Core Duo
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty nForce 650 SLi
Memory: 2Gb DDR2 PC5300
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
PSU: Coolermaster 500W
Default 01-09-2004, 17:43 | posts: 800 | Location: England

I'd be very interested to hear how others have gotten on with the Leadtek patch, especially with the LX model like mine.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 01-09-2004, 18:37 | posts: 165 | Location: Reality

Think it would be worth selling my 9700 pro and picking up one of these 5900nu's (to mod it of course)? Im really tempted to, but I want to here other people's opinions first.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
xXMrMeathooksXx
Maha Guru
 
xXMrMeathooksXx's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 295's Quad sli
Processor: Intel i7 950 @ 4.18 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12Gb DDR 3
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS PCI-X
PSU: Thermaltake TP 1200w
Default 01-09-2004, 18:39 | posts: 939 | Location: Chico,California

Uh...why go through the trouble of flashing the bios?Just o/c the 5900!Anyway...a 475/950 o/c isent really worth the trouble,now is it?YOUR 5900 WILL AUTO DETECT A HIGHER CLOCK AN BE STABLE!!!!Besides that it is only tested to work on two cards so far.....Bragging rights would be the only logical explaination for trying this,its not like its going to transform your hardware into a super Geforce or something. lol...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
reborn
Master Guru
 
reborn's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460 1GB @Stock
Processor: Core i5 750 @Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E Premium
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 4x2GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 01-09-2004, 18:40 | posts: 433

i did it
and now its working perfectly well......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
xXMrMeathooksXx
Maha Guru
 
xXMrMeathooksXx's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 295's Quad sli
Processor: Intel i7 950 @ 4.18 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12Gb DDR 3
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS PCI-X
PSU: Thermaltake TP 1200w
Default 01-09-2004, 19:03 | posts: 939 | Location: Chico,California

But it still doesent change the hardware,just the bios.Will never be as stable.Again,bragging rights.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
armhunter
Master Guru
 
armhunter's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 EVGA 7800GTX 256 ACS³ SLI
Processor: AMD 64 x2 4800
Mainboard: Asus A8n SLI
Memory: 2 x 1 gig
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 7.1
PSU: 500w
Default 01-09-2004, 19:18 | posts: 262 | Location: Bakersfield CA

Erics

it raises the voltage as well... which does make it more stable...

here is a link I think you should read.

http://www.madshrimps.be/forums/show...&threadid=3766

Why overclock the thing when it can be set to those specs,, where it probably should be set too... THink about it...
they tune the card down on purpose for marketing... lower the memory and they have another device to sell.... same chipset, different bios....
stop crying about it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Blissed
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3d 8800GTS 320mb
Processor: Intel E6420 Core Duo
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty nForce 650 SLi
Memory: 2Gb DDR2 PC5300
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
PSU: Coolermaster 500W
Default 01-09-2004, 19:21 | posts: 800 | Location: England

The only thing that concerns me with my card (aqnd it is one of the ones that it is supposed to work for) is that the memory on mine is only 2.8ns and not designed to run that fast. Is this an issue and if I went and did the bios flash should I be down rating the memory speed?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
uffjohn
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GF470 GTX
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6850
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 4096MB OCZPlatinum PC6400
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi! Extrem
PSU: 750w Antec TruePower New
Default 01-09-2004, 19:22 | posts: 51

Would one need any special cooling for this? And would it work with my Gainward GeForce FX5900 128MB DDR 2.8ns
AGP, "Ultra/1100TV-DVI", Retail?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
armhunter
Master Guru
 
armhunter's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 EVGA 7800GTX 256 ACS³ SLI
Processor: AMD 64 x2 4800
Mainboard: Asus A8n SLI
Memory: 2 x 1 gig
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 7.1
PSU: 500w
Default 01-09-2004, 19:25 | posts: 262 | Location: Bakersfield CA

Read the link I sent in my earlier post....
I have the same Gainward fx 5900 card... it works fine..
did not need any extra cooling. as long as your computer has decent cooling/circulation...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Blissed
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3d 8800GTS 320mb
Processor: Intel E6420 Core Duo
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty nForce 650 SLi
Memory: 2Gb DDR2 PC5300
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
PSU: Coolermaster 500W
Default 01-09-2004, 19:32 | posts: 800 | Location: England

Uffjohn, just out of interest what is the default memory clock speed of your card. I have a Leadtek FX5900LX and by default the memory is clocked at 700Mhz as opposed to 850Mhz because the memory is 2.8ns rather than 2.2ns. Now I had read that 2.8ns memory is rated at around 700-800Mhz speed and 2.2ns was faster. However, I am sure that I have seen advertised standard fx5900nu running at 400/850 with 2.8ns RAM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
fivefeet8
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800gtx @625/2100
Processor: Intel Q6600@3.2 ghertz
Mainboard: Asrock 1600sli 110db 775
Memory: 4x1 Gig DDR2 PC8500@1066
Soundcard: SBlive Xgamer Audigy
PSU: Antec TP 650w PSU
Default 01-09-2004, 19:37 | posts: 1,955

Considering the 5950u is just a higher voltaged, higher clocked 5900, why not bios flash it? You get the benefits of higher overclockable stability just like a real 5950 does with it's higher voltages.

I've been able to overclock my BFG fx5900u(450/850 stock) to 540/1000 with the 5950u bios. Before the flash, I maxed out at 500/950.

90 mhz more from the gpu
150 mhz more from the Ram

All this on stock cooling.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
TOKbt6
Master Guru
 
TOKbt6's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 580 GTX
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Pro
Memory: 4x2GB G-Skill PC6400 DDR2
Soundcard: Onboard Sound
PSU: Gigabyte Superb 720
Default 01-09-2004, 19:45 | posts: 172 | Location: Belfast , Northern Ireland

"I am looking for the Gainward fx5900 to 5950u bios as well...
if anyone has them, please help....

The Gainward tool for downloading bios will only let you download bios for your existing card, not another card..."

You can get the bios files from the Gainward site (Germany in the location selection)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
armhunter
Master Guru
 
armhunter's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 EVGA 7800GTX 256 ACS³ SLI
Processor: AMD 64 x2 4800
Mainboard: Asus A8n SLI
Memory: 2 x 1 gig
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 7.1
PSU: 500w
Default 01-09-2004, 19:51 | posts: 262 | Location: Bakersfield CA

http://www.madshrimps.be/forums/show...&threadid=3766

I will post the link again...
they tell you how to flash your Gainward card....
with links to files.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
xXMrMeathooksXx
Maha Guru
 
xXMrMeathooksXx's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 295's Quad sli
Processor: Intel i7 950 @ 4.18 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12Gb DDR 3
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS PCI-X
PSU: Thermaltake TP 1200w
Exclamation 01-09-2004, 19:58 | posts: 939 | Location: Chico,California

[QUOTE]Originally posted by armhunter
[B]Erics

it raises the voltage as well... which does make it more stable...

here is a link I think you should read.
Well dude I wasent saying it wasent possible.And voltage,it has nothing to do with stability?What do you think happens when you add more voltage?Heat,thats what happens,and what affects hardware stability more then anything?heat does.Why do you think they slapped a better cooling solution on the 5950?Certainly not to win a beauty contest,but mearly to make it more stable and reliable for the higher clock speed..period.And onother thing,the 5950 is a newer card,thus the technology is newer memory,etc..which inturn allows that card to run more stable then the older 5900u when at the identicle clock freq. Only exception to a stability issue is watercooling-And by the way...I can change the agp voltage and reset the clock frequencies on the card alot quicker and painlessly then flashing the bios and praying it works.No one is craying,just proving the facts.Never theless,you still have a flashed 5900...woopie
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
armhunter
Master Guru
 
armhunter's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 EVGA 7800GTX 256 ACS³ SLI
Processor: AMD 64 x2 4800
Mainboard: Asus A8n SLI
Memory: 2 x 1 gig
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 7.1
PSU: 500w
Default 01-09-2004, 20:08 | posts: 262 | Location: Bakersfield CA

lol,

I dont like being spanked by a guy... only a girl....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
fivefeet8
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800gtx @625/2100
Processor: Intel Q6600@3.2 ghertz
Mainboard: Asrock 1600sli 110db 775
Memory: 4x1 Gig DDR2 PC8500@1066
Soundcard: SBlive Xgamer Audigy
PSU: Antec TP 650w PSU
Default 01-09-2004, 20:13 | posts: 1,955

[QUOTE]Originally posted by EricsP4xtrmeKLR
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by armhunter
Erics

it raises the voltage as well... which does make it more stable...

here is a link I think you should read.
Well dude I wasent saying it wasent possible.And voltage,it has nothing to do with stability?What do you think happens when you add more voltage?Heat,thats what happens,and what affects hardware stability more then anything?heat does.Why do you think they slapped a better cooling solution on the 5950?Certainly not to win a beauty contest,but mearly to make it more stable and reliable for the higher clock speed..period.And onother thing,the 5950 is a newer card,thus the technology is newer memory,etc..which inturn allows that card to run more stable then the older 5900u when at the identicle clock freq. Only exception to a stability issue is watercooling-And by the way...I can change the agp voltage and reset the clock frequencies on the card alot quicker and painlessly then flashing the bios and praying it works.No one is craying,just proving the facts.Never theless,you still have a flashed 5900...woopie
Then I guess all those overclockers are wrong for running their CPU's at 1.8vcore's. Because something else must be making their CPU STABLE at higher Overclocks.

Every Overclocker knows that having higher Voltages will allow for a higher stable overclock. Why do you think all these people with Overclocked AMD cpu's raise their Vcore voltages? For fun? And yes, more heat is also associated with more voltages, but for most with good cooling in their system, that small extra amount of heat is not a problem.

Another thing is, most fx5900's have very good stock cooling. So a little more heat doesn't hurt it much.

5950 new technology? Different Ram chips maybe, but not much else. That doesn't really mean much though. How do you explain all the people who have Overclocked beyond what they could before the flash? BTW, I don't think raising your AGP voltage does anything to the voltage supplied to the GPU and RAM. It just increased voltage on the AGP bus.

Maybe you didn't see my post. I've overclocked beyond my previous overclock with the 5950u bios with STOCK air cooling. No water cooling. I've run games for hours and looped 3dmark and Aquamark. It's stable as it ever was now with higher clock speeds equal to normal overclocks achieved on 5950u's.

Your right, it is a flashed fx5900, but it's a faster fx5900 than your non flashed one.

Last edited by fivefeet8; 01-09-2004 at 20:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.