Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Voltmod 7800GS [Core G71] up to core 700MHz
Old
  (#1)
PAIIITET
Newbie
 
Videocard: AGP 7800GS 375@620Mhz 1.3V
Processor: C2D E4300@2.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDRII 2Gb Kingstone 600Mhz 3-3-3-6
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 420W THN-P
Thumbs up Voltmod 7800GS [Core G71] up to core 700MHz - 10-12-2006, 15:14 | posts: 44 | Location: Russia, Tomsk

First voltmod 7800GS [Core G71] in World!!!

------------- For G71 -------------

Up to 1.1v to 1.5v



Use the current-conducting varnish, glue or thin wire

My Result Leadtek AGP 7800GS [G71] 256Mb

Default
1.1v --- 513Mhz
Default cooling + 90x90 Fan in ATITool - 51

Voltmod
1.5v --- 700Mhz
Default cooling + 90x90 Fan in ATITool - 66
Code:
3DMark03 [Test 4]

500/700 --- 85 fps
600/700 --- 97.5 (14.7%)
650/700 --- 101.3 (19.17%)
700/700 --- 109.3 (28.6%)
-------------------------------------


***1048;***1085;***1092;***1086;***1088;***1084;***1072;***1094;***1080;***1103; ***1085;***1072; ***1088;***1091;***1089;***1089;***1082;***1086;***1084; ***1103;***1079;***1099;***1082;***1077; VID ***1074;***1086;***1083;***1100;***1090;***1084;***1086;***1076; AGP GeForce 7800GS [G71] - Translate into english

-------------------------------------

New Metod 1.2v, 1.3v, 1.4v or Sparkle 7800GS (G71) Voltmods

------------- For G70 -------------

Up to 1.4v to 1.5v




Result bernek 570Mhz

Last edited by PAIIITET; 01-21-2007 at 15:11.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
fungry
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 8800GTS 320mb
Processor: Intel C2D q9300 @ 3.37ghz
Mainboard: DFI LT LanParty x38
Memory: 2*1G Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec TruePower Quattro 850W
Default 10-12-2006, 17:51 | posts: 253

wait, you simply stuck a "current-conducting varnish/glue/thin wire" onto the PCB? lol and you got this thing overclocked?

sorry but i'm not very knowledgeable in terms of modding components :S
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 10-12-2006, 22:18 | posts: 11,993 | Location: new jersey

all it took was grounding the tp?
good job

edit somebody grow some ballz and try it g71 7800gs agp be a hero like this guy (i like this guy already)

Last edited by cowie; 10-13-2006 at 00:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sidret99
Master Guru
 
sidret99's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800Ultra on Dell 27
Processor: C2Q6600@3.6 GHz Scythe
Mainboard: DFI T2R-X38
Memory: 2x2GB_DDR2 OCZ-Gold@960
Soundcard: Auzen Prelude@Z-5500
PSU: TT Toughpower 1.2KW
Default 10-12-2006, 22:38 | posts: 189 | Location: Austria

would this work on my xfx also like you describe is there more to know about
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
PAIIITET
Newbie
 
Videocard: AGP 7800GS 375@620Mhz 1.3V
Processor: C2D E4300@2.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDRII 2Gb Kingstone 600Mhz 3-3-3-6
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 420W THN-P
Default 10-12-2006, 22:51 | posts: 44 | Location: Russia, Tomsk

You prostite for my English, but this method it works.

I was used the thin wire.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Luvabud
Maha Guru
 
Luvabud's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GTX
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: GA EX58 UD3R F11
Memory: Corsair 6GB 1448MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer SB0770
PSU: Corsair 620
Default 10-12-2006, 23:08 | posts: 919 | Location: Uk

You've got 700MHz, I'm impressed, that core must be screaming for mercy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
morfeus02
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870 1GB GDDR5
Processor: Intel Q8200@3Ghz- H2O -
Mainboard: Asus P5N-D
Memory: 8GB DDR2 800@900mhz
Soundcard: Audigy SE@X-fi softmod
PSU: TT ToughPower 600w 48A
Default 10-12-2006, 23:09 | posts: 1,460 | Location: Italy

OMG I'Ll do it immediately O.O


700mhz core









O MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-12-2006, 23:16 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

hmmm everybody here has G71 ???

only I'm stuck with G70 ???

hope it works for G70 too ...

Please post more information and more pics if possible !

This could be very very interesting if it really works ...

My OC is up to 520 Core on default voltage ...

If I hit above 550-600 I'll be thanking you all my life
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-12-2006, 23:17 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

strange you only ground a terminal ... (you put a terminal of a chip to the ground ???) what is on the otherside ? where is connected that pin ???

what does it do ? a lot of questions here mate ...

(and in the end ... is the pcb of G71 the same as G70 ???)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Luvabud
Maha Guru
 
Luvabud's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GTX
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: GA EX58 UD3R F11
Memory: Corsair 6GB 1448MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer SB0770
PSU: Corsair 620
Default 10-12-2006, 23:24 | posts: 919 | Location: Uk

could we see some proof that you have 700MHz, I volt modded my card to 1.5v and only got 670 with some artifacts, too scared to push anymore
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-12-2006, 23:38 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

I believe he is not talking about the GS+ models ...
He said about modding a Leadtek 7800 GS - NON PLUS ... AGP 256 MB with G71 core ... (newer models)

only few of the first models had G70 core like mine

P.S. I believe the PCB from GS+ is different from GS standard models
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-12-2006, 23:43 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

I will measure the curent from that point to the ground and post back immediately !

I don't really think this mod will work but ... who knows
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Luvabud
Maha Guru
 
Luvabud's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GTX
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: GA EX58 UD3R F11
Memory: Corsair 6GB 1448MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer SB0770
PSU: Corsair 620
Default 10-12-2006, 23:50 | posts: 919 | Location: Uk

First voltmod 7800GS [Core G71] in World!!!
I believe he referring to the 7900 core, I will wear a pair of socks for a week and then eat them if he's got a G70 core @ 700MHz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
PAIIITET
Newbie
 
Videocard: AGP 7800GS 375@620Mhz 1.3V
Processor: C2D E4300@2.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDRII 2Gb Kingstone 600Mhz 3-3-3-6
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 420W THN-P
Default 10-12-2006, 23:51 | posts: 44 | Location: Russia, Tomsk

This is safe, if the temperature in the order. to 7900GT many people are placed even 1.55
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PAIIITET
Newbie
 
Videocard: AGP 7800GS 375@620Mhz 1.3V
Processor: C2D E4300@2.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDRII 2Gb Kingstone 600Mhz 3-3-3-6
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 420W THN-P
Default 10-12-2006, 23:56 | posts: 44 | Location: Russia, Tomsk

Quote:
hmmm everybody here has G71 ???

only I'm stuck with G70 ???

hope it works for G70 too ...
only on G71 with Referenc design (16 pipes) [For instance Leadtek 7800GS 256mb, Club3D 256mb and so on with new core G71](not Gainward+)

Last edited by PAIIITET; 10-13-2006 at 00:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Luvabud
Maha Guru
 
Luvabud's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GTX
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: GA EX58 UD3R F11
Memory: Corsair 6GB 1448MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer SB0770
PSU: Corsair 620
Default 10-12-2006, 23:56 | posts: 919 | Location: Uk

I know it's safe as safe can be, but my wallet starts twitching when I get adventurous
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-13-2006, 00:01 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

G70 doesn't show any resistance or voltage between that point and ground ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-13-2006, 00:05 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by PAIIITET View Post
only on G71 with Referenc design (16 pipes) [For instance Leadtek 7800GS 256mb, Club3D 256mb and so on with new core G71](not Gainward+)
nothing for Leadtek 7800GS 256MB G70 ????

((((((((((((((
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
PAIIITET
Newbie
 
Videocard: AGP 7800GS 375@620Mhz 1.3V
Processor: C2D E4300@2.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDRII 2Gb Kingstone 600Mhz 3-3-3-6
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 420W THN-P
Default 10-13-2006, 00:07 | posts: 44 | Location: Russia, Tomsk

Measure voltage
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-13-2006, 00:11 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

I can't see the pictures ... seems your hosting for pics doesn't work good

here is the measure:

http://www.popsoft.ro/poze/7800GS/multi.jpg

this is 0 zero

and here are the points I measured:

http://www.popsoft.ro/poze/7800GS/points.jpg

Last edited by bernek; 10-13-2006 at 00:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 10-13-2006, 00:13 | posts: 11,993 | Location: new jersey

sure it does for me anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
PAIIITET
Newbie
 
Videocard: AGP 7800GS 375@620Mhz 1.3V
Processor: C2D E4300@2.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDRII 2Gb Kingstone 600Mhz 3-3-3-6
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 420W THN-P
Default 10-13-2006, 00:18 | posts: 44 | Location: Russia, Tomsk

Quote:
strange you only ground a terminal ... (you put a terminal of a chip to the ground ???) what is on the otherside ? where is connected that pin ???

what does it do ? a lot of questions here mate ...
Method is founded on VID table from Datasheet ISL6568

By default VID AMD HAMMER
Code:
V4 V3 V2 V1 V0 
1  0  0  1  0 = 1.1v

***1057;onnect V4 to Ground 

0  0  0  1  0 = 1.5v
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-13-2006, 00:20 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by PAIIITET View Post
Method is founded on VID table from Datasheet ISL6568

By default VID AMD HAMMER

V4 V3 V2 V1 V0
1 0 0 1 0 = 1.1v

***1057;onnect V4 to Cround

0 0 0 1 0 = 1.5v
take a look at my pics pls

Yes I took a quick look to the datasheet of the current regulator.

If I have the same ISL then modification can be made just I have to look again at the voltage table in the pdf.

I have 1.4 default Voltage for G70

0 0 1 1 0 for 1.4 default

vid2 to ground will give me 1.5 ????

0 0 0 1 0 for 1.5 ?

Last edited by bernek; 10-13-2006 at 00:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
PAIIITET
Newbie
 
Videocard: AGP 7800GS 375@620Mhz 1.3V
Processor: C2D E4300@2.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDRII 2Gb Kingstone 600Mhz 3-3-3-6
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 420W THN-P
Default 10-13-2006, 00:35 | posts: 44 | Location: Russia, Tomsk

bernek
Please measure resistance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
bernek
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 @ 950 /1900/2100
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: MSI 760GM-E51
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3 - 8GB
Soundcard: AC97
PSU: 500W
Default 10-13-2006, 00:37 | posts: 1,303 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by PAIIITET View Post
bernek
Please measure resistance
will measure right away only a second !

is it posible to be ZERO ???? or maybe my multimeter is wrong ...

Last edited by bernek; 10-13-2006 at 00:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.