Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum > RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum
RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum This forum is intended for advanced comments, ideas and general discussion of the RivaTuner Utility which is hosted here at the Guru of 3D. This forum is visited by programmer himself - you can only post in this area with a minimum of 10 posts and 7 days forum membership.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
7800GT can be unlocked from 20 pipes to 24
Old
  (#1)
Dutch Guy
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 7800GT @ 480/1180Mhz
Processor: SD 3700+@11*250 = 2750Mhz (1.50V)
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 2x512 Ballistix@250 2.5-2-2-10-1T
Soundcard: Audigy 2ZS/Logitech X-530
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 485W
Exclamation 7800GT can be unlocked from 20 pipes to 24 - 08-11-2005, 12:31 | posts: 34 | Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

http://www.hkepc.com/hwdb/7800gt-5.htm

True or false?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 08-11-2005, 12:40 | posts: 5,095 | Location: England

true from what i have heard from other threads.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-11-2005, 13:40 | posts: 11,465 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

I'm afraid false


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Dutch Guy
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 7800GT @ 480/1180Mhz
Processor: SD 3700+@11*250 = 2750Mhz (1.50V)
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 2x512 Ballistix@250 2.5-2-2-10-1T
Soundcard: Audigy 2ZS/Logitech X-530
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 485W
Default 08-11-2005, 14:49 | posts: 34 | Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally posted by Unwinder
I'm afraid false
Did nVidia lasercut the quad of pipelines and made it impossible to unlock?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-11-2005, 14:55 | posts: 11,465 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Sort of


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 08-11-2005, 15:05 | posts: 20,941 | Location: Guru3D testlab

I have 3 7800 GT boards here, none of them where able to be strapped.

They (HKEPC) did however use other boards then we had. I find their findings to be very curious.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Dutch Guy
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 7800GT @ 480/1180Mhz
Processor: SD 3700+@11*250 = 2750Mhz (1.50V)
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 2x512 Ballistix@250 2.5-2-2-10-1T
Soundcard: Audigy 2ZS/Logitech X-530
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 485W
Default 08-11-2005, 15:12 | posts: 34 | Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn
I have 3 7800 GT boards here, none of them where able to be strapped.

They (HKEPC) did however use other boards then we had. I find their findings to be very curious.
They don't show a image with the pipes unlocked, maybe they just lowered the core and memoryspeed of a GTX to simulate unlocked 7800GT performance?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 08-11-2005, 15:20 | posts: 20,941 | Location: Guru3D testlab

it would be stupid, but yeah .. possible. We'll soon find out, lot's of people will buy the card and without a doubt try this.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Dutch Guy
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 7800GT @ 480/1180Mhz
Processor: SD 3700+@11*250 = 2750Mhz (1.50V)
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 2x512 Ballistix@250 2.5-2-2-10-1T
Soundcard: Audigy 2ZS/Logitech X-530
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 485W
Default 08-11-2005, 15:31 | posts: 34 | Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Nice review BTW, strange that all three cards "only" overclocked to 465Mhz

[H]ardOCP had more luck, almost getting to 500Mhz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
REGENERATI0N
Master Guru
 
Videocard: X1950XTX
Processor: AMD64 FX55
Mainboard: A8N32-SLI
Memory: 2GB Crucial
Soundcard: CL X-Fi
PSU: Antec
Default 08-11-2005, 15:41 | posts: 501 | Location: Under the bridge

Quote:
Originally posted by Dutch Guy
Nice review BTW, strange that all three cards "only" overclocked to 465Mhz

[H]ardOCP had more luck, almost getting to 500Mhz
They probably had few artifacts.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
pduan87
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-11-2005, 18:40 | posts: 31

Think it will be impossible to unlock or we'll find out a way in the future?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Chris Chiu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 5970
Processor: Intel Q9550@3.9GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-D
Memory: 8GB DDR2
Soundcard: SB X-Fi PCIE
PSU: Antech TPQ-1200OC
Default 08-11-2005, 19:47 | posts: 85

Their cards are from the manufacturer with very good relation. The review is part of ad. So these few cards are specail version that the chip is still can unlock. There review is trustful jsut these cards can't be the retail version that can find in market. I have read many reviews and all of them can't unlock the locked piplelines.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Starks
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI AGP 6600GT VIVO
Processor: Athlon 64 3000+
Mainboard: Chaintech VNF3-250
Memory: 1024MB PC3200 DDR
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU:
Default 08-11-2005, 21:08 | posts: 158 | Location: New York

What Quadro can a 7800GT be softmodded into?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
J-Mag
Member Guru
 
Videocard: SLI BFG 7800GTX
Processor: 3000+ rev E @ 2.65ghz
Mainboard: DFI SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB Crucial Value 3-3-3-8 @ 238mhz
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-11-2005, 21:47 | posts: 45 | Location: Bay Area, CA

Quote:
Originally posted by Dutch Guy
Nice review BTW, strange that all three cards "only" overclocked to 465Mhz

[H]ardOCP had more luck, almost getting to 500Mhz
I ahve two BFG 7800GTX's and i ran the coolbist autodetect on both individual 8 times. EVERY FREAKING TIME had the same results.

I am thinking there is something jacked up in the drivers I am using... (currently 77.76)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 08-12-2005, 15:53 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

Quote:
Originally posted by pduan87
Think it will be impossible to unlock or we'll find out a way in the future?
Unwinder said no, and he's the dude that know's
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
pduan87
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-12-2005, 20:32 | posts: 31

Quote:
Originally posted by Burnt_Ram
Unwinder said no, and he's the dude that know's
Yes, as of right now. But I have faith in the wonderful overclocking/modding community

Hey, even if it doesn't unlock, it's still quite a monster card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Cybercat
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Leadtek GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
Processor: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6
Mainboard: DFI LANParty UT nF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 1.5GB PC3200 @ 432MHz
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Value, Beyerdynamic DT990
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 485W
Default 08-12-2005, 23:14 | posts: 138

Quote:
Originally posted by Burnt_Ram
Unwinder said no, and he's the dude that know's
He also once said that hard-locked 6800s would never unlock, and only ones locked on a BIOS level could. Then the very next version of Rivatuner proved to the contrary.

I'm pretty confident someone will find a way. It's only a matter of time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
flexmaster
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Saphire X1800XT 512mb/ 6800 GO
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800/ PM 1.86
Mainboard: Asus A8R MVP Crossfire/ Centrino
Memory: 2GB Corsair DDR/ 1GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Onboard 7.1
PSU: 450 Watt
Default 08-12-2005, 23:22 | posts: 1,149 | Location: Arizona

Probably yes but not right now, but very soon when we discover how to overcome the masking they put on it. Much like the NV40 series it will most likelly be unlocked when we get through the protection.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Cybercat
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Leadtek GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
Processor: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6
Mainboard: DFI LANParty UT nF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 1.5GB PC3200 @ 432MHz
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Value, Beyerdynamic DT990
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 485W
Default 08-12-2005, 23:50 | posts: 138

It is very likely though that this will require modding on a hardware level. I think NVIDIA learned from ATI and their PCIe series that hard-locking quads is the only way to stop people from changing things around. New revisions of NV4x cores that are not able to be unlocked via software indicate this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
don-vercetti
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Connect3d Radeon X1800XT 256mb
Processor: Intel Allendale E6300 ES
Mainboard: Asus P5WDH Deluxe
Memory: 2x1gb G.Skill PC6400 ZX
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Hiper Type-R 480W
Default 08-14-2005, 09:56 | posts: 536 | Location: Oxford

the new revisions don't even HAVE 16 pipes, nvidia just took it down to 12.

Hoping you find a way past these blocks unwinder, knowing you and you're skills, i'm sure you will. You worked wonders with the 6800 series, and i think virtually everyone with an unlocked 6800 series card (le or nu) is indebted to you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Cybercat
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Leadtek GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
Processor: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6
Mainboard: DFI LANParty UT nF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 1.5GB PC3200 @ 432MHz
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Value, Beyerdynamic DT990
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 485W
Default 08-14-2005, 18:01 | posts: 138

Quote:
Originally posted by don-vercetti
the new revisions don't even HAVE 16 pipes, nvidia just took it down to 12.
well I was more talking about NV43 A4s. People who bought Asus 6200s are especially screwed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
S_Kinton
Maha Guru
 
S_Kinton's Avatar
 
Videocard: 512mb 8800GT & 22" Samsung LCD
Processor: Intel Q6600 G0
Mainboard: Abit IP-35 Dark Raider
Memory: 4Gb (2x2Gb) Corsair PC6400
Soundcard: SB Audigy 4 => Logitech X-530
PSU: 535w Enermax SLi PSU 38a
Default 08-16-2005, 09:16 | posts: 1,884 | Location: Leeds

If only they could be unlocked.......Hopefully unwinder will find a way, but if not Im still happy
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.