Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PCI latency? a Q for Gurus
Old
  (#1)
Emile
Member Guru
 
Emile's Avatar
 
Videocard: GS7800, GF FX5200
Processor: P4 HT 3 Ghz
Mainboard: P4S800D-X DX 9c
Memory: DDR 2 Gbyte
Soundcard: Audigy Player
PSU:
Question PCI latency? a Q for Gurus - 01-06-2005, 06:58 | posts: 92 | Location: Brussels Belgium

Hello,
I did find this on an other forum. I run FS2004 game.
What is the opinion of the gurus about the suggestion?
http://www.flightsimnetwork.com/dcfo...D21/20370.html
Thanks in advance

Mirrored @ Guru3D

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=951
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
AGnoobler
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus v9999GE 256
Processor: pentium 4/2.8/800 stock speed
Mainboard: asus p4p 800 se
Memory: 512 cheap
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-06-2005, 08:33 | posts: 92

ive read about this one before but was not bold enough to give it a go. Maby if the guru puts the file on the download list i might try it. Those programs are always located at strange locations.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Damnit
Maha Guru
 
Damnit's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek 5970
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Mainboard: ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Memory: G.SKILL Trident+ 16Gb
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatality
PSU: Cooler Master 1000w Gold
Default 01-06-2005, 09:15 | posts: 2,430 | Location: Uncle Sam's Pocket

I set mine from 248 to 64 like the others did and I noticed that Resistance ran muuuuch smoother afterwards. HL2 seems a little better now but I still need to dust off FS9 and see how that runs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
baroudan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 1950 XTX
Processor: Intel E 6400 @ 3,6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5B Deluxe
Memory: 2x1 Go Gskill 6400 HZ
Soundcard: audigy 2, MX1000,20"LCD
PSU: OCZ PowerXstream 700W
Default 01-06-2005, 23:27 | posts: 101 | Location: france

i try it too and set the value from 248 to 64 and i must say there is a big difference, thanks for the link, wonderful utility.It's strange, all latencys are set to 0, only vga is set to 248, and pci bridge to 64. Now pci and agp have the same value.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Freeze
Member Guru
 
Freeze's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 reference
Processor: Intel Core i5 3470 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: 750W
Thumbs up 01-07-2005, 03:03 | posts: 46 | Location: New Delhi

Yeah! Wonderful Utility to set PCI Latency.

THE BEST SO FAR.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mr_ALLroy
Maha Guru
 
Mr_ALLroy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX780 Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7-4770k @4.4
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Deluxe
Memory: Dominator Plat 1866 16Gig
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Silverstone Gold 1000W
Default 01-07-2005, 03:07 | posts: 1,806 | Location: Calgary Canada®

This is a really good post with some great info.

I tried the PCI Latency tool, but found it did not keep the settings on reboot. So I googled and found another software that does the same thing and kept my settings after a reboot. I also ran PCI Latency Tool to see if my settings were shown as changed in that, and they were.
If you find your changed settings don't "stick" after a reboot, try this proggy as an alternative.

http://www.mark-knutson.com/t3/downloadbuy.html

The link is located at the bottom of the page.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Toxic Worrier
Maha Guru
 
Toxic Worrier's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 275
Processor: Phenom ll X4 955 BE ;)
Mainboard: DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R
Memory: 4GB-OCZ-DDR21066LV-Blade-
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: PCPC 850 watt
Default 01-07-2005, 21:23 | posts: 938 | Location: Middle Georgia

Emile,
You get my vote for helpful mofo of the day.....
Thanks, because I didn't know about any latency tool. ATI expert tool has the option I think, but ...EVGA supplies a small booklet with a 6800GT and in there it says to set AGP aperture to 4. "believe it or not" and also to set pci latency to 128. In my nf7s bios you can set pci latency like you want, but it's not for the AGP.
I haven't been having any problems with anyting but I like to have the option to tweak, if you know what I mean. So, now I have a tool to set it like I need it. You see, my GT was set to 248, and by setting it to 128, and leaving all other pci settings to 32, I do notice a little bit of smoothness, and responsiveness in my games. I'm going to test a few different settings before Im done, like maybe set all of them to 32, so pci and agp match, The Half life 2 demo absolutley runs better, loads much faster, and sounds better. or clearer. I just wanted to say thanks,,,,,this was a worthwhile thread for sure...and MrAllroy, Just be sure to click save and then apply at startup, with the latency tool, and then the registry will set it and it'll stick when you reboot........ goog luck,
   
Reply With Quote
Positive results
Old
  (#8)
Emile
Member Guru
 
Emile's Avatar
 
Videocard: GS7800, GF FX5200
Processor: P4 HT 3 Ghz
Mainboard: P4S800D-X DX 9c
Memory: DDR 2 Gbyte
Soundcard: Audigy Player
PSU:
Thumbs up Positive results - 01-08-2005, 07:17 | posts: 92 | Location: Brussels Belgium

Hello Toxic Warrior,
I did apply this modification on my system and I have to tell that FS2004 is smoother and ,surprising, the sound quality is now very good (surround) .
Hope it will help more guys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Emile
Member Guru
 
Emile's Avatar
 
Videocard: GS7800, GF FX5200
Processor: P4 HT 3 Ghz
Mainboard: P4S800D-X DX 9c
Memory: DDR 2 Gbyte
Soundcard: Audigy Player
PSU:
Default 01-08-2005, 11:06 | posts: 92 | Location: Brussels Belgium

Hi,
Only CSF1 does not work with this modification.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-08-2005, 11:27 | posts: n/a

you didn't set it right if the pci latency tool didn't keep it after reboot

you have to right click and click change setting which will show the new setting box

and enter your preferred value

then click quick change and set the value so its your preferred value now

then go to settings and click apply on startup and then click save

presto

pci latency values set at startup
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Mr_ALLroy
Maha Guru
 
Mr_ALLroy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX780 Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7-4770k @4.4
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Deluxe
Memory: Dominator Plat 1866 16Gig
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Silverstone Gold 1000W
Default 01-08-2005, 18:39 | posts: 1,806 | Location: Calgary Canada®

Thanks Toxic Worrier. I had already tried to save and load on startup, as well as everything else the program would allow me to do. Still no luck. Perhaps there is a service I have disabled that won't make the settings stick with PCI Latency tools.

Anyways, since making this change in settings, I've noticed alot of stutter gone. And my sound card doesn't act up like it used to.

Thanks again Emile for bringing this great information to all the guru's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
KENNYB
Maha Guru
 
KENNYB's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 8800 GTX 648/1900
Processor: E6600@ 3GHz
Mainboard: Intel 975XBX
Memory: 4GB Patriot
Soundcard: Intel onboard
PSU: SilverStone Strider 600W
Default 01-08-2005, 19:17 | posts: 883 | Location: Irvine, CA

I set my latency to 64 and there was no change in games. Though the only game that stutters for me is HL2. Everything else was okay before and after.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Advis
Maha Guru
 
Advis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GeForce 6600GT 128mb
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 3000+ @ 2.2 Ghz / 400
Mainboard: Shuttle SN45G nForce 2 Ultra 400
Memory: 2 x 512mb Crucial DDR400
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 4 & Logitech Z-640
PSU: Shuttle SilentX 250W
Default 01-08-2005, 20:14 | posts: 908 | Location: The Glorious hills of Yorkshire.

All my Latencies were either @ 0 or 32. I bumped my video card up to 64 and the framerate has gone up slightly and there seems to be less stutters. Nice one!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Toxic Worrier
Maha Guru
 
Toxic Worrier's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 275
Processor: Phenom ll X4 955 BE ;)
Mainboard: DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R
Memory: 4GB-OCZ-DDR21066LV-Blade-
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: PCPC 850 watt
Default 01-09-2005, 01:59 | posts: 938 | Location: Middle Georgia

Life is good
on this fine day in 2Thousand5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Sgt.Stanky
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce FX5700LE
Processor: pentium 4
Mainboard: ?
Memory: 512
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-09-2005, 03:51 | posts: 11 | Location: USA

I Found PCI Tool To Work Great When Tweaked To Fit Your System....Gotta Major Perfomance Boost Allowing Me To Run HL2 Mint With AF 2Q And AA 2x...Thanx For The Help Guys!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 01-09-2005, 16:51 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

my PCI latency was @ 32 for my abit nf7 ? 248 ??? i set it at 128. gunna test ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 01-09-2005, 17:28 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

i installed that tool, and locked my AGP latency @ 64 from 248 .. weird ! just tested FarCry, and indeed it does seem alot smoother. go figure ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
z3r0maX
Newbie
 
Videocard: GForce256DDR @ 149/330
Processor: AthlonXP 2000+ @ 2.2GHz
Mainboard: ECS K7VTA3 - VIA KT333
Memory: 512MB DDR @ 350MHz
Soundcard: integrated
PSU:
Default 01-09-2005, 18:17 | posts: 20 | Location: Lublin, Poland

I set 64 for my graphics card, and IDE controller and now i got few more fps in HL2 Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Toxic Worrier
Maha Guru
 
Toxic Worrier's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 275
Processor: Phenom ll X4 955 BE ;)
Mainboard: DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R
Memory: 4GB-OCZ-DDR21066LV-Blade-
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: PCPC 850 watt
Default 01-09-2005, 22:36 | posts: 938 | Location: Middle Georgia

I find that in all actuallity, I don't notice anything more than better sound and a little bit of smoother gameplay....but hey ! Thats a good thing now, ain't it ?

All of us should read this and just try to even out the latency between pci and agp..http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....I+Latency+tool
Then we can lay this topic to rest.....R.I.P.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
gdeliana
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5570 512 GDDR5
Processor: Intel Core I3 2100@3.1GHz
Mainboard: Intel H67 6-series
Memory: 1x4Gb DDR3
Soundcard: Intel Azalia HD
PSU: 350W
Default 01-10-2005, 14:51 | posts: 128

Should i set all the values here to 64
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Trippin
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-10-2005, 16:04 | posts: n/a

yipee yee ha great tweak snipping much smoother more reactive thanks alot great site forum learned a lot cya have fun

Last edited by Trippin; 01-11-2005 at 06:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 01-10-2005, 16:23 | posts: 20,806 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Interesting .. anyway. Added to the download section:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=951


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
rickyboy
Master Guru
 
rickyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: gigabyte gtx 670 oc
Processor: i5-3570@4.0
Mainboard: gigabyte z77-ud5h
Memory: 2x4gb @1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-fi titanium Hd
PSU: 650w corsair
Default 01-10-2005, 16:40 | posts: 493 | Location: canada

does it work with 9800 pro and why are they set so high if you lose performance thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-10-2005, 16:56 | posts: n/a

works with any card

i was referred to version 1.2 of this months ago and it cleared up nfsu stuttering at the start of the race

and i'd like to correct hilbert in something

lowering the latency on a system allows the video bus more usage of the cpu
a system with 248ns on the agp bus takes 248 cycles to use

128 and even 64 cycles lowers this timing allowing the video card to run smoother, in some cases the sound stuttering is also improved as you'll find alot of games the sounds are synched with video these days to keep sounds in the right place

although i could be wrong

thats just how i always saw latency as

Last edited by {HLH}; 01-10-2005 at 17:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
rickyboy
Master Guru
 
rickyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: gigabyte gtx 670 oc
Processor: i5-3570@4.0
Mainboard: gigabyte z77-ud5h
Memory: 2x4gb @1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-fi titanium Hd
PSU: 650w corsair
Default 01-10-2005, 17:00 | posts: 493 | Location: canada

can you go lower? perhaps maybe for each individual pc, would the results be more cpu cycles for the agp bus i have a 3500+ which gives me room to play with since its powerful
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
latency, pci

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.