Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GeForce FX: the best way to play HL2 (revised)
Old
  (#1)
Presi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA 6800GT @ 420/1110
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0HT @ 3.18
Mainboard: Intel d875dpz
Memory: DDR 2GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2
PSU: Bus speed 833
Default GeForce FX: the best way to play HL2 (revised) - 12-08-2004, 09:08 | posts: 172

As I've promised I cleaned, updated, revised and rewrite the trick to play HL2 on your FX card running dx9 with a boost in performance of 30/45%. New/revised parts are in bold.

In order to play HL2 "the way its meant to be played" you have to do 2 things:

1 Use the ATI code path modifying the dxsupport.cfg file;

2 Force FP16;

STEP 1
(I know, In the previous thread I said that you could skip this and force the ATI path using 3D Analyze, that's no good. In this way you will still have few glitches in the graphic (shadows underwater) and for some reason you'll get also a lower Test Stress score)

- Find the file dxsupport.cfg (half-life 2\bin\), make a copy of it and put it in a safe place.

- Open it with notepad and locate the line about the ATI Radeon 9800 PRO settings, it should look like this:

"84"
{
"name" "ATI Radeon 9800 PRO"
"VendorID" "0x1002"
"MinDeviceID" "0x4E48"
"MaxDeviceID" "0x4E48"
"m_nDriverVersion_Build" "6240"
"DefaultRes" "1024"
"CentroidHack" "1"
}

- Select and copy everything from "VendorID"... to the "}" (6 lines)

-Than locate your card name, in my case NVIDIA GeForce FX 5950 Ultra, and change everything from "VendorID" to the "}" with the ATI settings. After the change it should look like this:

"355"
{
"name" "NVIDIA GeForce FX 5950 Ultra"
"VendorID" "0x1002"
"MinDeviceID" "0x4E48"
"MaxDeviceID" "0x4E48"
"m_nDriverVersion_Build" "6702"
"DefaultRes" "1024"
"CentroidHack" "1"
}

If you have more than one entry of your card (very likely) just replicate the "copy and paste" with all of them (double check it before you go on, you can easily do it using the FIND command in notepad).

-Save it and close it.

-Find the hl2\cfg\ directory and locate the config.cfg file and move it in a safe place, out the cfg folder (so you force HL2 to rebuild the settings for the game, which means HL2 has to read the new dxsupport.cfg file we have just modified.

-On the STEAM menu click on playgames, right click on HL2, propriety, launch options, you write: -heapsize and a number that is the equal of half of your total ram (this just speeds up a little bit HL2, I've removed the little pauses during the autosaves with this) and -dxlevel 90. You have to type dxlevel 90 in the launch option just the first time, than you can take it off. If you leave it HL2 will reset your video settings every time you start the game.

-Using the ATI path you wont need to type the other commands known to force the water reflection (mat_dxlevel 90 and mat_clipz 0), if you did so make sure to take them off (deleting the autoexec.cfg file for example)

-If you are tired to wait minutes before the main menu appear you can also type "+map_background none" in the launch options ;-)



STEP 2
-download 3D Analyze V 2.26 (thanx ViperXtream!) here: http://www.3dfxzone.it/dir/tools/3d_analyze/ The newest version of this software doesn't work with HL2.

Open it and follow the numbers:

1. Select HL2.exe file in half-life 2 folder

2. Select any file inside the folder half-life 2\bin

3. Select Steam.exe

Than check these options:
- Under the section Pixel and Vertex Shader: FORCE LOW PRECISION PIXEL SHADER
- On the bottom left: FORCE HOOK.DLL
- Leave 0 in the Device and Vendor IDs

4. Press RUN.

In the end 3D ANALYZE will give you an error, CREATEPROCESS FAILED, ignore it.

Launch the game, enjoy DX9.

If you want to check the fps in real time you have to type in the console "net_graph 1"

On my computer I have a good fps range @ 1024x768 2xaa 2xanisotropic, everything maxed and water reflection to all (from min 35 to max >100fps). Water reflection is a big deal for FX cards, so if you don't get enough fps start to reduce things from there. I bet every FX can play at least over 35/40 fps at 800x600 (at that resolution you can increase aa and anisotropic and have still an awesome graphic)

You can use the same trick for every game that uses the source engine (CS:S, HL2:deathmatch...). The stress test gave me an awesome score of 48 fps!

If you can't get enough FPS even with low res, you can try this: http://www.steampowered.com/forums/s...hreadid=197418
It's a patch and it will give you a good water reflection in dx8 mode.


We've talked a lot about this trick in the previous thread, but if you still have problems, even after you read this thread carefully, you can feel free to PM me.

Last edited by Presi; 12-08-2004 at 20:33.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
4Eyessniper
Newbie
 
Videocard: Leadtek GeForce 6600GT 552/1050 Mhz
Processor: Athlon XP Barton 2600+
Mainboard: A7N8X-X
Memory: 1024 MB DDR (pc3200 by TwinMos)
Soundcard: Realtek AC97 onboard sound (nForce2 400)
PSU:
Default 12-08-2004, 13:29 | posts: 36 | Location: The Netherlands

Good one, except the link to the 3d-analyze doesnt work. I think you want this one for that:
http://www.3dfxzone.it/dir/tools/3d_analyze/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
lord_lad
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce NX8800GTS 320MB OC
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P965 Neo
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2GB Dual Channel
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio Onboard
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 550W
Default 12-08-2004, 13:41 | posts: 76

u can do all these or u can download the patch that give u dx9 quality level water wif almost no fps loss for FX cards....

http://www.pcgamemods.com/8877

u decide........
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
lord_lad
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce NX8800GTS 320MB OC
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P965 Neo
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2GB Dual Channel
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio Onboard
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 550W
Default 12-08-2004, 13:49 | posts: 76

some image using the patch. I am using Geforce FX5700 runnig the game at 1024 x 768, 2xAF, No AA, Everything Max..........and i get 40-80fps on average....Cheers...





   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lord_lad
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce NX8800GTS 320MB OC
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P965 Neo
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2GB Dual Channel
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio Onboard
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 550W
Default 12-08-2004, 13:51 | posts: 76







   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lord_lad
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce NX8800GTS 320MB OC
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P965 Neo
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2GB Dual Channel
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio Onboard
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 550W
Default 12-08-2004, 13:52 | posts: 76

Now tell me, Which type of method would you choose ???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
knyz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 650M / Crossfire 7970
Processor: Core i7
Mainboard: Foxcoon
Memory: Kingston
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Build
Default 12-08-2004, 14:06 | posts: 78 | Location: French - France

Look Patch from driverheaven
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Newman81
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 6600 Diamond (DDR3)
Processor: Athlon XP 2600+
Mainboard: MSI KT3-ULTRA
Memory: Kingston 512 MB 370 MHz
Soundcard: Creative Audigy, Creative Inspire 5.300
PSU:
Default 12-08-2004, 14:30 | posts: 19 | Location: CZE

Quote:
Originally posted by knyz
Look Patch from driverheaven
I see your thread on driverheaven forum but can't see link where to download this patch
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
knyz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 650M / Crossfire 7970
Processor: Core i7
Mainboard: Foxcoon
Memory: Kingston
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Build
Default 12-08-2004, 15:06 | posts: 78 | Location: French - France

Quote:
Originally posted by Newman81
I see your thread on driverheaven forum but can't see link where to download this patch
http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=63330
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Newman81
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 6600 Diamond (DDR3)
Processor: Athlon XP 2600+
Mainboard: MSI KT3-ULTRA
Memory: Kingston 512 MB 370 MHz
Soundcard: Creative Audigy, Creative Inspire 5.300
PSU:
Default 12-08-2004, 15:43 | posts: 19 | Location: CZE

Quote:
Originally posted by knyz
http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=63330
So I tried it and got better reflections in HL2, but in some places huge frame drops Where I was getting for example 35 fps, now it's 30
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Presi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA 6800GT @ 420/1110
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0HT @ 3.18
Mainboard: Intel d875dpz
Memory: DDR 2GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2
PSU: Bus speed 833
Default 12-08-2004, 20:38 | posts: 172

Quote:
Originally posted by lord_lad
Now tell me, Which type of method would you choose ???
The difference between dx8 and dx9 is not just the water reflection.
However I agree; if you can't get enough fps running dx9 go for the patch.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
JeedaiJoe
Master Guru
 
JeedaiJoe's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GeForce 7800GS OC AGP
Processor: P4 2.8E w/ HTT @ 3.2Ghz (229x14)
Mainboard: Asus P4P800 (i865PE) FSB @ 916mhz
Memory: OCZ - 2x512mb (2.5-4-4-8 @ 458mhz)
Soundcard: SB Live! 5.1/Cambridge Soundworks
PSU: Antec 480 watt TrueBlue
Default 12-08-2004, 21:30 | posts: 736 | Location: Don't follow me Im lost too...

ok about that patch on pcgamemods (im going to try both ways to see which works better for me)...in the rar file there's a folder called "Nature" with the files it in...where do i put them, there's no readme?

EDIT : Nevermind, the folder is placed in "...hl2/materials"

Last edited by JeedaiJoe; 12-08-2004 at 23:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Kontrollverlust
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce 6600GT
Processor: AMD AthlonXP 3000 (400FSB, Barton Core)
Mainboard: Epox 8RDA3I
Memory: 1024MB Corsair XMS3200
Soundcard: Audigy 2 with X-530s
PSU:
Default 12-08-2004, 22:11 | posts: 11 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally posted by lord_lad
some image using the patch. I am using Geforce FX5700 runnig the game at 1024 x 768, 2xAF, No AA, Everything Max..........and i get 40-80fps on average....Cheers...
Hi, what driver set are you using out of curiousity? I'd love to try this out
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
lord_lad
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce NX8800GTS 320MB OC
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P965 Neo
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2GB Dual Channel
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio Onboard
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 550W
Default 12-09-2004, 04:15 | posts: 76

forceware 6703
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Deepdish
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 GTS 320 SLI
Processor: Intel Core 2 Q6600
Mainboard: BFG 780i
Memory: 4x2GB DDR2 pc6400
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme\LogitechX-540
PSU: Hi-Per 750
Default 12-09-2004, 06:24 | posts: 51 | Location: California

I think i may have found a easy way enable dx9 on HL2. I was messing with the registry one day and I came across something that looked like the dx setting.

start>run>type "regedit">
go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER>Software>Valve>Source>hl2>Settin gs

in there will be DXLevel and mat_dxlevel
the current entries are 0x00000050(80) for both
change it to 5a(hex) or 90(decimal)

In the advance display setting it says hardware dx 9.0

The game seems to run faster too which was strange since most say it slow it down. So it would be helpful if some of you guys could check it out to see if it really works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
The Fallen
Maha Guru
 
The Fallen's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 460
Processor: i5 2400 with Big Shuriken
Mainboard: Foxconn H67S
Memory: Mushkin SS 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5A
PSU: Silverstone 450W SFX ST45
Default 12-09-2004, 07:02 | posts: 1,182 | Location: Canada

ill just play hl2 with dx8.1 patched no performance hit
   
Reply With Quote
Re: GeForce FX: the best way to play HL2 (revised)
Old
  (#17)
fivefeet8
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800gtx @625/2100
Processor: Intel Q6600@3.2 ghertz
Mainboard: Asrock 1600sli 110db 775
Memory: 4x1 Gig DDR2 PC8500@1066
Soundcard: SBlive Xgamer Audigy
PSU: Antec TP 650w PSU
Default Re: GeForce FX: the best way to play HL2 (revised) - 12-09-2004, 09:02 | posts: 1,955

Quote:
Originally posted by Presi
STEP 2
-download 3D Analyze V 2.26 (thanx ViperXtream!) here: http://www.3dfxzone.it/dir/tools/3d_analyze/ The newest version of this software doesn't work with HL2.
Newer version 3d Analyze 2.34 works fine with HL2. YOu need to create a Batch file to launch the game and point 3d analyze to the .bat file. Create a new text document, name it HL2.bat or anything. It needs the .bat extension. Type:

hl2.exe -steam

in the text file(open and edit). Put it into HL2 folder with the HL2.exe. Point 3danalyze to this .bat file. Choose 3danalyze options and run.
   
Reply With Quote
And With Steam???
Old
  (#18)
alchemy
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default And With Steam??? - 12-09-2004, 18:49 | posts: n/a

Hi

I was trying to use the dx 8.0 patch for the water, but I cant find the hl2/materials folder. I have a registered Steam HL2, Someone knows where must I put the patch?

Thanks in advance
   
Reply With Quote
Re: And With Steam???
Old
  (#19)
painter
Maha Guru
 
painter's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 670
Processor: Intel 2500K 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68a
Memory: 8gb G-Skill Ripjaws
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default Re: And With Steam??? - 12-09-2004, 19:07 | posts: 1,031 | Location: Devon

Quote:
Originally posted by alchemy
Hi

I was trying to use the dx 8.0 patch for the water, but I cant find the hl2/materials folder. I have a registered Steam HL2, Someone knows where must I put the patch?

Thanks in advance
Simply create a new folder and name it "materials" and place the "nature" folder in that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Talus
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Prolink PixelView FX5900 256 MB
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Memory: 1024 MB PC2700 DDR 333 SDRAM
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy + Logitech Z-5300 5.1 Surround
PSU: Antec Aluminum Tower w/ 420W Power
Default 12-10-2004, 02:55 | posts: 239 | Location: Canada

Any more feedback on this method?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
JeedaiJoe
Master Guru
 
JeedaiJoe's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GeForce 7800GS OC AGP
Processor: P4 2.8E w/ HTT @ 3.2Ghz (229x14)
Mainboard: Asus P4P800 (i865PE) FSB @ 916mhz
Memory: OCZ - 2x512mb (2.5-4-4-8 @ 458mhz)
Soundcard: SB Live! 5.1/Cambridge Soundworks
PSU: Antec 480 watt TrueBlue
Default 12-10-2004, 03:54 | posts: 736 | Location: Don't follow me Im lost too...

well the patch method looks not to shabby, and no performance hit....the other way i haven't tried yet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
adrichardson
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-11-2004, 03:12 | posts: n/a

Anyone tried any of this with Vampire Bloodlines?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Presi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA 6800GT @ 420/1110
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0HT @ 3.18
Mainboard: Intel d875dpz
Memory: DDR 2GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2
PSU: Bus speed 833
Default 12-11-2004, 10:12 | posts: 172

I made some tests today @ 1024x768 2xaa 2xaf, all maxed, water reflection to all. These are my CS:S stress test results and HL2 game experience:

- dx9 forced with ATI path and FP16 - 68 fps HL2: No glithes, 100% dx 9 graphic - min fps rate 34.
- dx9 forced with mat_dxlevel and mat_clipz commands, FP32 - 42 fps HL2: lot of glitches, min fps rate 15.
- dx8.1 + JoshuaC Patch - 86 fps HL2: No glitches, dx8.1 graphic + awesome dx9 water reflections - min fps rate 46.
- dx8.1 no patch/tricks - 100 fps HL2 No glitches, min fps rate 58.

I've also tried the knyz's patch, downloaded from this website
http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=63330, but I couldn't make it work. Did anyone have success with that patch?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Guise
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-22-2004, 14:46 | posts: n/a

hey presi,

i followed your instructions to the letter, several times now, but whenever i try and load a level, it starts rendering for about 2 seconds and then crashes. The force dx 90 is working, when i check it in the advanced video options from the main game menu. The only way i can load to the main menu is if i dont use the rendered background. If i try to use the rendered background, the same thing happens as when i try and load a level. Any help would be appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Riksu
Newbie
 
Videocard: PNY 7800 GTX
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Mainboard: Abit AN8 SLI Fatal1ty
Memory: 2 gig 3200 kingston
Soundcard: Audigy
PSU:
Default 12-22-2004, 22:02 | posts: 35 | Location: Finland

6703 and vampire and half life works fine
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.