Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
2800+ Barton overclock
Old
  (#1)
jweston
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 6800 TD
Processor: 2800+Barton at 2300
Mainboard: Biostar M7NCG 400
Memory: 2x 512 DDR 3200 dual
Soundcard: InnoAX/labtec 5:1
PSU: logitech ff wheel
Default 2800+ Barton overclock - 06-09-2004, 18:28 | posts: 50 | Location: Hornchurch

My mobo supports 400fsb and I've bought some PC3200 RAM.
What can I expect to get out of my cpu? I can adjust voltage. Any advice on what to try? Or what temperatures are acceptable to run. Thanks for advice.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
MrOuija
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GF2 MX 400 32MB/GF 7600 g
Processor: XP 2500+ @ 2279mhz/ X2 Tu
Mainboard: Asus a7n8x-x/Asus A6T-AP0
Memory: geil PC3200 2x512/2x1024@
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Li
PSU: TT butterfly 480 Watt PSU
Default 06-09-2004, 18:43 | posts: 3,902 | Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

i say not above 50 degrees Celcius when idle, not above 55 while loading(unless the weather is around 30degrees) i just o/ced mine yesterday and it's running fine, first i putted the cpu fsb on 200, it didn't wanted to start up so i asked here and wildstyle gave me the advice to raise the voltages, so i did that step for step and now it's running very stable on XP3200+ speeds( 2.2ghz)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD & U2311H
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair 600w
Default 06-09-2004, 18:53 | posts: 15,285 | Location: UK

What Arden said for the temps sounds about right (Nice 3200+ OC BTW )

First of all, jweston, we need to know if your CPU is unlocked or not? If it has an unlocked multi (go into the BIOS and try and change it) then you can raise the FSB and lower the multi, to get more performance, and you shouldn't even have to adjust vcore if you stayed at the same overall clock speed.
So basically, if it's unlocked, you'll be able to drop the multi down to 10.5 and raise the FSB to 200 (keep RAM frequency in sync too) and that'd equal the same clock speed as you have now pretty much (so you shouldnt need to adjust voltages) and then you'd get the added performance bonus from the higher FSB.

Of course if you want to overclock further, increasing the multi to get more clock speed then that can be done too, but it'd need vcore increasing, so make sure you're cooling is upto the job before you try.

And if you want any clarification/assistance then post back here and we'll help.

Oh and if it's locked..... well, I'll explain that to you later
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
John
Don Salieri
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 06-09-2004, 19:00 | posts: 16,752 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

Yup, and I reckon you should be able to reach somewhere around 2.4GHz, perhaps a bit less or more, with proper cooling. Most 2800's overclock pretty nice.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
jweston
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 6800 TD
Processor: 2800+Barton at 2300
Mainboard: Biostar M7NCG 400
Memory: 2x 512 DDR 3200 dual
Soundcard: InnoAX/labtec 5:1
PSU: logitech ff wheel
Default 06-09-2004, 19:40 | posts: 50 | Location: Hornchurch

Thanks.It's brand new so I guesse it's locked. It's running at about 62C with demanding 3d games although I bought a coolermaster 3200 heatsink/fan. It's been suggested Artic Silver might bring this down but it looks like I can't overclock until I get temps down?
I didn't realize that fsbus increased performance without increasing processor speed (thought it was just another way of changing speed) but I'm new to this stuff.
So if I could keep it cool it should run OK at 400 with increased voltage?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD & U2311H
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair 600w
Default 06-09-2004, 19:47 | posts: 15,285 | Location: UK

If it's locked, then you won't be able to push the FSB very far.
This is because the FSB X multiplier = overall clock speed.
Now, because you'd be locked @12.5x, you'd only be able to take the FSB up as far as your CPU could handle the clock speed. So you probably wouldn't be able to do 200x12.5 because the clock speed would be too much for the CPU too handle (2.5GHz), and even it could, it'd need one HELL of a lot of vcore to get there!

I think you should aim for 180x12.5 to start with, which would give you 2.25GHz. This would need a bit of extra vcore to make stable, but I can't tell you how much, you'd have to experiment.

However, don't do anything related to overclocking until you get some AS3/5 (the kings of thermal paste) and a better cooler. If you're on a budget then look at the Aero7 from Coolermaster.

I hope I explained that well enough for you, but as always if you have any questions, just ask.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
jweston
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 6800 TD
Processor: 2800+Barton at 2300
Mainboard: Biostar M7NCG 400
Memory: 2x 512 DDR 3200 dual
Soundcard: InnoAX/labtec 5:1
PSU: logitech ff wheel
Default 06-09-2004, 21:21 | posts: 50 | Location: Hornchurch

Thanks, that's very clear. Looks like I need to sort the cooling. 180x12.5 looks pretty good to me anyway. Wish I'd bought a better fan- thought it would be enough as it is for 3200. Not much space in my case so I can't get anything that sticks up higher from mobo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Rusty Clown
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-09-2004, 22:11 | posts: n/a

if u get an aero7+, chuck the fan out and use a vantec tornado or delta fan ur looking at the best possible non-heatpipe cooling available
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
jweston
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 6800 TD
Processor: 2800+Barton at 2300
Mainboard: Biostar M7NCG 400
Memory: 2x 512 DDR 3200 dual
Soundcard: InnoAX/labtec 5:1
PSU: logitech ff wheel
Default 06-09-2004, 23:48 | posts: 50 | Location: Hornchurch

Thanks, I'll check that out, but first I'll try the Artic Silver. What do you use to clean the cpu first, and where do you get it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
MiNI
Ancient Guru
 
MiNI's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6950 unlock 950/1400
Processor: Core i5 2500k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68-UD4-B3
Memory: 8GB G.Skills RipJaw
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W OCZ GameXstream
Default 06-10-2004, 00:30 | posts: 2,958 | Location: Canada

i use tooth-pics, cue-tips, and a paper towel
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Hiro1000
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670
Processor: Intel 3870K
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: 650 Watt Modular
Default 06-10-2004, 03:29 | posts: 2,603

you can use other things to clean it like nail polish remover, and metal ting sahped like a tooth pick, though could damage cpu but it cleans better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
lIqUI[]
Maha Guru
 
lIqUI[]'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 680DCU II OC
Processor: i7 930@3.8
Mainboard: eVGA X58 LE
Memory: 6 gig 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750tx
Default 06-10-2004, 05:25 | posts: 1,791 | Location: bleeding through.

Im running a 2800+ locked Barton @ 3200 at the moment. Im also running it stable at default vcore with idle temps about 46 and load about 50 or so. I have had it at around 2325 mhz, but it did require upping the vcore to 1.7v. I figured on a locked 2800 you should be able to easily get similar results with proper cooling, as I thought my results were actually below average OC for the CPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
jweston
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 6800 TD
Processor: 2800+Barton at 2300
Mainboard: Biostar M7NCG 400
Memory: 2x 512 DDR 3200 dual
Soundcard: InnoAX/labtec 5:1
PSU: logitech ff wheel
Default 06-10-2004, 08:34 | posts: 50 | Location: Hornchurch

That's interesting. What cooling are you using? My idle temps are fine but when I play cpu intensive racing sims it's shooting up to mid 60s! (The weather is hot!)
Is it Ok to use nail polish remover to clean the cpu ?
Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD & U2311H
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair 600w
Default 06-10-2004, 18:52 | posts: 15,285 | Location: UK

Best thing to use would be Isoprophyl, or some other kind of non abrasive, rubbing alcohol, used in conjunction with a lint free cloth... (In an ideal world.)

Edit: I can't spell, lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.