Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
pc reboots after 2-3 min. of 3d games
Old
  (#1)
apalugyay
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce4 Ti4200 8420s 128meg
Processor: Athlon XP 2400+
Mainboard: MSI - K7N2 Delta2 Platinum
Memory: 768 pc2700
Soundcard: Sound bastard live value
PSU:
Default pc reboots after 2-3 min. of 3d games - 01-27-2004, 18:57 | posts: 165 | Location: Florida

Ok lately anytime I load any 3d intensive software my pc reboots with no error. Nothing in event viewer, I have the auto. restart unchecked but nothing. I just installed asus probe and the first thing that beeps is the +12v and thats reading 13.504v and also the +3.3v is showing 2.896v. My cpu temp is 50c and mobo is 28c.
The power supply is only about 6-7 monthes old. It is a 420watt which was upgraded from a 250 watter. Is my psu a piece of $hit or what?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
MikeMK
Ancient Guru
 
MikeMK's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon R9 290X
Processor: Core i7 2600k @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: 8GB GSkill Ripjaw 2133mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 01-27-2004, 19:09 | posts: 10,698 | Location: Woking

hmmm... it is a possibility - what make is it? cos some cheaper ones dont kick out as much power as they claim.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
apalugyay
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce4 Ti4200 8420s 128meg
Processor: Athlon XP 2400+
Mainboard: MSI - K7N2 Delta2 Platinum
Memory: 768 pc2700
Soundcard: Sound bastard live value
PSU:
Default 01-27-2004, 19:14 | posts: 165 | Location: Florida

Quote:
Originally posted by MikeMK
hmmm... it is a possibility - what make is it? cos some cheaper ones dont kick out as much power as they claim.
Model: OKIA-420ATX I am assuming this is a cheapo. What do you think about those readings? What can I do to determine if it is in fact the psu causing this? Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
r3claim3r
Ancient Guru
 
r3claim3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galaxy GTX 560Ti448
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Memory: 8 GB G.Skill PC3-12800
Soundcard: Logitech 5.1
PSU: Tt 700 Watt
Default 01-27-2004, 19:24 | posts: 3,928 | Location: Dallas, GA

If you have a friend that has a comparably rated power supply, ask him or her if you can borrow it for a while so that you can see if it does the same thing. If it solves the problem, then the problem is the power supply.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Blissed
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3d 8800GTS 320mb
Processor: Intel E6420 Core Duo
Mainboard: Abit Fatal1ty nForce 650 SLi
Memory: 2Gb DDR2 PC5300
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
PSU: Coolermaster 500W
Default 01-27-2004, 19:32 | posts: 800 | Location: England

I had a similar issue and found that upgrading the PSu did the trick. Be careful with some of the cheaper models as they rate the unit by it's peak Wattage as opposed to average. I settled on a Thermaltake 480W PSu which peaks at 550W and have had no issues at all since it's purchase.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
apalugyay
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce4 Ti4200 8420s 128meg
Processor: Athlon XP 2400+
Mainboard: MSI - K7N2 Delta2 Platinum
Memory: 768 pc2700
Soundcard: Sound bastard live value
PSU:
Default 01-27-2004, 19:34 | posts: 165 | Location: Florida

Well none of my buddys have anything close to what I have so thats out of the ? It was kinda wierd, about an hour ago I was browsing online and all of a sudden the pc reboots but it did like a double reboot. It's like the psu shut off went back on and then shut off again in a matter of 2-3 seconds and I was'nt running any intensive software. I'm confused. Any other suggestions? Oh another thing nothing is overclocked.

Last edited by apalugyay; 01-27-2004 at 19:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
apalugyay
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce4 Ti4200 8420s 128meg
Processor: Athlon XP 2400+
Mainboard: MSI - K7N2 Delta2 Platinum
Memory: 768 pc2700
Soundcard: Sound bastard live value
PSU:
Default 01-27-2004, 19:38 | posts: 165 | Location: Florida

Quote:
Originally posted by Blissed
I had a similar issue and found that upgrading the PSu did the trick. Be careful with some of the cheaper models as they rate the unit by it's peak Wattage as opposed to average. I settled on a Thermaltake 480W PSu which peaks at 550W and have had no issues at all since it's purchase.

How much did you pay for that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Jw_Leonhart
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GeforceGTX 550Ti
Processor: AMD FX 4100+ @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1800MHz
Soundcard: HK Rec. with Klipsch Ref.
PSU: Antec 600watt
Default 01-28-2004, 05:12 | posts: 4,137 | Location: New Jersey

Could be the video card. My video card did that and it was defective... Try switching with a new video card see if that does the trick.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Drizzt
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce 7800GT @ Stock OC
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Memory: OCZ Platinum Rev2 4x1GB DDR2-800
Soundcard: Onbaord
PSU: OCZ Powerstream 520W
Default 01-28-2004, 06:11 | posts: 515

I had a similar problem 2 years ago. It turne out my ram was defective.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Stang289
Maha Guru
 
Stang289's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon 4890 Crossfire
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q9450 3.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4GB Corsair DDR2800
Soundcard: Supreme Fi Audio
PSU: Thermaltake 700 Watt Toug
Default 01-28-2004, 08:05 | posts: 1,484 | Location: Salem, Va

Hmm, are you using a Dial Up modem, when i had a gateway computer several years ago, the modem would suck up enough juice(wether it was dialing or transferring info) to cause the computer to reboot. Also download aida32 and check all rails. I reccomend you check to see if all the screws in the PSU are in snug, but not to the point of stripping out causing a connection somewhere could fry out everything or ground out the power before it does any good(thus maybe a reboot?). If you have an older computer you could try out the PSU in that, or maybe buy a cheap 300 watt or so and if it works you found your problem if it doesnt work then its not your PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Re: pc reboots after 2-3 min. of 3d games
Old
  (#11)
Altazimuth
Maha Guru
 
Altazimuth's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Vapor-X 5870
Processor: Intel Core i7 930 @3.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R r2.0
Memory: 6GB Crucial DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Corsair TX950W
Default Re: pc reboots after 2-3 min. of 3d games - 01-28-2004, 17:19 | posts: 1,308 | Location: Sirius A

Quote:
Originally posted by apalugyay
Ok lately anytime I load any 3d intensive software my pc reboots with no error. Nothing in event viewer, I have the auto. restart unchecked but nothing. I just installed asus probe and the first thing that beeps is the +12v and thats reading 13.504v and also the +3.3v is showing 2.896v. My cpu temp is 50c and mobo is 28c.
The power supply is only about 6-7 monthes old. It is a 420watt which was upgraded from a 250 watter. Is my psu a piece of $hit or what?
IMHO, If those volt readings are accurate, then they are both outside of the ATX spec. I'd get a decent PSU if I were you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
apalugyay
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce4 Ti4200 8420s 128meg
Processor: Athlon XP 2400+
Mainboard: MSI - K7N2 Delta2 Platinum
Memory: 768 pc2700
Soundcard: Sound bastard live value
PSU:
Default 01-28-2004, 23:18 | posts: 165 | Location: Florida

Well those reading's were wrong come to find out. My reading's are ok but it is the psu because I unplugged a couple things in my case and the problem was gone. I got really cool looking case with a crappy psu so now I will be looking at antec etc....
Thanks for the help!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.