Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Ati 9800 SE @ Pro
Old
  (#1)
alienware
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800GTS 512/Ati 4850 X 2
Processor: Amd X2 4.800+/Q9550
Mainboard: ASRock / GIGABYTE
Memory: Crucial 2GB/Corsair 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek high def audioX2
PSU: Cmaster Realpower 450/550
Default Ati 9800 SE @ Pro - 11-23-2003, 23:03 | posts: 11 | Location: Italy

4 Days ago i get 9800 SE.

I've downloaded the softmod.
to:
http://www.ocfaq.com/softmod/download.php
And to:
http://www.omegacorner.com/index_ati.html
My 9800 se is a hercules 256 bit 4x1pipes and a can uprade with softmod in a 8x1pipes to get in a 9800 pro card.

After installed patched drivers appear some defeact in my desktop.

There is another method to mod my 9800 se in pro?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
rsheppick
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-23-2003, 23:36 | posts: n/a

You will have to try flashing a pro bios onto your se card.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Ati 9800 SE @ Pro
Old
  (#3)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default Re: Ati 9800 SE @ Pro - 11-24-2003, 11:19 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by alienware
4 Days ago i get 9800 SE.

I've downloaded the softmod.
to:
http://www.ocfaq.com/softmod/download.php
And to:
http://www.omegacorner.com/index_ati.html
My 9800 se is a hercules 256 bit 4x1pipes and a can uprade with softmod in a 8x1pipes to get in a 9800 pro card.

After installed patched drivers appear some defeact in my desktop.

There is another method to mod my 9800 se in pro?
by defect, I guess you mean artifacting? how do games run? if it is artifacting then I guess you god a "bad" chip, maybe you can use rivatuner to mod the drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
[SHS.Donny]
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-24-2003, 12:09 | posts: n/a

Only about a 50% chance to softmod a 9800SE to a 9800 Pro, so you are probably buggered. Try different versions though.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-24-2003, 12:18 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by [SHS.Donny]
Only about a 50% chance to softmod a 9800SE to a 9800 Pro, so you are probably buggered. Try different versions though.
LOL took me 3 cards to get a good one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
SuckaB
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sappire Atlantis Radeon 9800SE --> softmodded
Processor: Amd 1.4Ghz Thunderbird
Mainboard: MSI K7T266 Pro-RU
Memory: 2x 256 mb DDR
Soundcard: Soundblaster Live!
PSU:
Default 11-26-2003, 04:37 | posts: 17 | Location: Canada

I got mine working, but it's Sapphire 9800SE~

so i think it's not that good huh? default is 320/270

and i get only around 3k mark in 3dmark2k3....extra 1k compared to normal drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 09:14 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by SuckaB
I got mine working, but it's Sapphire 9800SE~

so i think it's not that good huh? default is 320/270

and i get only around 3k mark in 3dmark2k3....extra 1k compared to normal drivers
Sounds like yours is the 128bit version, are the memory chips in a line? if so what youve got is more like a 9500pro with a R350 core
http://www.ocfaq.com/softmod/faq.php
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
alienware
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800GTS 512/Ati 4850 X 2
Processor: Amd X2 4.800+/Q9550
Mainboard: ASRock / GIGABYTE
Memory: Crucial 2GB/Corsair 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek high def audioX2
PSU: Cmaster Realpower 450/550
Default 11-26-2003, 11:53 | posts: 11 | Location: Italy

No i've got this board:



With 128 mb ddr 256 bit interface
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 12:50 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by alienware
No i've got this board:



With 128 mb ddr 256 bit interface
doh, I shoudl read a bit more carefully! this is weird, as I jump from around 4k unmodded to over 6 modded in 03 and about a 4.5K jump in 01?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 12:52 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by alienware
No i've got this board:



With 128 mb ddr 256 bit interface
I was mentioning SucKaB's card
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Twinke Masta
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-26-2003, 13:02 | posts: n/a

why mod why not just get a pro...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 14:09 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Twinke Masta
why mod why not just get a pro...

??????? lets see my 9800se aiw cost me 135 a 9800pro aiw would cost more than double
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Twinke Masta
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-26-2003, 15:44 | posts: n/a

i dont like to take chances....money is not a important factor to me..its the quality....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 16:32 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Twinke Masta
i dont like to take chances....money is not a important factor to me..its the quality....
unfortunately not everyone can afford to spend pro prices
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
SuckaB
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sappire Atlantis Radeon 9800SE --> softmodded
Processor: Amd 1.4Ghz Thunderbird
Mainboard: MSI K7T266 Pro-RU
Memory: 2x 256 mb DDR
Soundcard: Soundblaster Live!
PSU:
Default 11-26-2003, 16:58 | posts: 17 | Location: Canada

pro is too crazy for me...btw, so if my Sapphire 9800se softmodded into 9500 pro....3k 3dmark2k3 is that too low?

maybe i need to push clock abit...

onne more question, i softmodded with Omega driver for 3.9 catalyst, do i need to download anymore patched driver? (eg. Guru3d Downloads...)?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 17:37 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

No those drivers will do everything, you may need rivatuner to clock the mem and core a bit more or there maybe a tab in the advance properties of display in control panel, whats the ram on the card? you shoudl be able to push the core quite a but higher, mines at 412 memory will do 370 tops but its samsung 3.3ns BGA
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Neal
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Ti4200 128mb
Processor: Athlon XP 2500+ @ 11x200=2.2 @ 1.65vcore
Mainboard: Shuttle XPC- SN45G (N Force 2 Ultra :) )
Memory: 256mb Corsair XMS 3200 @ 2.11.3.2 at 2.7vdimm
Soundcard: Soundstorm + Creative CambridgeWorks 4.1 :)
PSU:
Default 11-26-2003, 18:09 | posts: 1,595 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by bradmax57
??????? lets see my 9800se aiw cost me 135 a 9800pro aiw would cost more than double
lol u bought it frm overclockers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 19:27 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Neal
lol u bought it frm overclockers
ah ha no I didnt, well not this one, overclockers are nearer 170
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
BMPTank
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-26-2003, 19:49 | posts: n/a

newegg rulez
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
bradmax57
Master Guru
 
bradmax57's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Winforce
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green PC1600
Soundcard:
PSU: BeQuiet E8 680W
Default 11-26-2003, 20:00 | posts: 532 | Location: UK

unfortunately not for us peeps in UK
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Neal
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Ti4200 128mb
Processor: Athlon XP 2500+ @ 11x200=2.2 @ 1.65vcore
Mainboard: Shuttle XPC- SN45G (N Force 2 Ultra :) )
Memory: 256mb Corsair XMS 3200 @ 2.11.3.2 at 2.7vdimm
Soundcard: Soundstorm + Creative CambridgeWorks 4.1 :)
PSU:
Default 11-27-2003, 20:31 | posts: 1,595 | Location: UK

damn rite...wish hardware was as cheap as it is in the ole usa
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
DragonGrendel
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-30-2003, 03:04 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Twinke Masta
i dont like to take chances....money is not a important factor to me..its the quality....
Easy to say when mommy and daddy pay for everything.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.