Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The Guru's Pub
The Guru's Pub Hang out with Guru3D's staff and other visitors, have a nice civilized chat, nothing hardware related though !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
pron
Old
  (#1)
Reality|Bites
Ancient Guru
 
Reality|Bites's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI Asus/eVGA 8800Ultra/B
Processor: C2D E8600 @ 4.4Ghz 1.42v
Mainboard: eVGA Nforce 680i
Memory: 2 X 1GB OCZ DDR2 6400 Fle
Soundcard: Creative Inspire 5300/M-A
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750W
Default pron - 08-09-2003, 04:11 | posts: 5,033 | Location: Scotland

How do you all hide your porn from other users of your pc.

Mom/Girlfriends/Wife
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Hyper_activeman
Master Guru
 
Hyper_activeman's Avatar
 
Videocard: X1950XT
Processor: E4300 @ 3.0 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory: 2GB DDR2 667
Soundcard:
PSU: PurePower 500
Default 08-09-2003, 04:22 | posts: 367 | Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada :D

lol...just learn to use the alt-tab control and then u can switch between windows in an instant.. I personally have grown this manly feeling of when my mom/dad is coming, so it's not a big deal..just have sumthing serious that u can switch too.

*EDIT*Srry didn't read your post carefully...didn't see the"other users of your pc".Wut i do is just spread it around put it in game directories...like i put sum in my saved games in my warcraft 3 directorie and so on.

Last edited by Hyper_activeman; 08-09-2003 at 04:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
lone_ranger42
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gforce4 mx440
Processor: amd 900
Mainboard: asus K7M (butchered by HP)
Memory: 512sdram
Soundcard: sound blaster audigy gamer
PSU:
Default 08-09-2003, 04:32 | posts: 299 | Location: FT lauderdale FL

if its the system in your specs running XP, all you need to do is make differnt user accounts for each person.

make a folder somewhere in a place no one would go to. remove the default security properties, and only add your self.

or an easier way if you dont want to make new user profiles. simply put the pron in a folder in an out of the way place and change the properties to make it hidden.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Meta|Gear
Pretty Hate Machine
 
Meta|Gear's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 Dual-X 3L
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68-UD3H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Soundcard: Onboard, Logitech Z-5300
PSU: Antec Gamer Series 900W
Default 08-09-2003, 04:43 | posts: 4,872 | Location: Bradford, ON

haha warcraft 3 dir... thats basically what i did, put it in a folder you know no one will go into, even better make the folder hidden.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Treblig
Nigeri Guru
 
Treblig's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 9800 Pro 128mb
Processor: AMD XP 2400+
Mainboard: Shuttle A35N - Ultra400
Memory: DDR 2700 1 gig
Soundcard: Santa Cruz 5.1
PSU: Logitech Z-640 5.1 Suround
Default 08-09-2003, 07:27 | posts: 3,265 | Location: Mesa , AZ .

I hid it on my second drive in a folder called Misc.... LOL . But I eventualy burned it all to CD and took it out of the system .

Everyone has their own PC here tho so no need to hide it realy ....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Glidefan
Don Booze
 
Glidefan's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850 | 8600M GS
Processor: C2Q Q6600 | C2D T5550
Mainboard: ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
Memory: 6144MB | 4096MB
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS | ALC 888
PSU: Aurora 600w | 90w AC
Default 08-09-2003, 07:30 | posts: 11,959 | Location: Solar System, Earth, Med, Cyprus

Get a "Removable Mass storage" USB device, (like those mem pens) and save on them. Or if you are the best user of those pages get a USB Hard Disk
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
SaNTaCRuZ77
Maha Guru
 
SaNTaCRuZ77's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 3450 512MB
Processor: AMD DualCore 2.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory: 3 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 08-09-2003, 08:46 | posts: 1,224 | Location: Los Angeles

porno yummy- put a pass on your account and go to KEEP FILES PRIVATE..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Dave
Don Fredo Corleone
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-09-2003, 14:56 | posts: 8,377 | Location: Lost in boxes

I used to zip it and rename is to something like mech.dos, and stuff it in the windows directory. who is going to mess with a file named something like that?

now I'm in linux, separate drives and you can mount them anywhere. in essence, a whole drive or drive partition could be in a subdirectory of your choosing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Icebird
Ancient Guru
 
Icebird's Avatar
 
Videocard: ...
Processor: ...
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ...
Default 08-09-2003, 15:57 | posts: 11,533 | Location: North

Now I've seen it all, all the bad stuff that never comes out unless there's a lan. I know most of my mates got it in the csdir..

Nice avatar reality|bites, both the background on my site and desktopbackground
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
sailor
Maha Guru
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Videocard: x1800xt & x1600xt
Processor: 165 & 144 Opterons
Mainboard: Lanparty ultra d & asrock dual sata
Memory: 4gig corsair
Soundcard: Audigy 2/Dolby Digital 6.1 600W Sep
PSU: Refrigerated and Watercooled.
Default 08-09-2003, 17:19 | posts: 1,365 | Location: UK.County Durham

I don't bother to hide it last time my girlfriend came round I ran a Jenna Jameson film for her to show off the new monitor it was quite funny really as it starts like a normal film then things get a bit bizzare, she wasn't bothered at all so end of worries about bothering to hide anything.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
SaNTaCRuZ77
Maha Guru
 
SaNTaCRuZ77's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 3450 512MB
Processor: AMD DualCore 2.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory: 3 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 08-09-2003, 19:09 | posts: 1,224 | Location: Los Angeles

lol good idea don't hide it and maybe your girlfriend will join in..lmao :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
David Deed
Don Alfa Terga Inconiti
 
David Deed's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 6600
Processor: Main - Athlon64 3000+
Mainboard: MSI K8T800 Neo-FSR
Memory: Corsair 2gb DDR 3200
Soundcard: Labtec Pulse 424
PSU: Creative Soundblaster Audigy
Default 08-09-2003, 19:24 | posts: 2,240 | Location: North America

I have a protable 80 gig harddrive that I say I back up internet files (like cs full install, etc) i have 28gigs left...

(its a western digital 80gig USB2.0)

Glide...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
SaNTaCRuZ77
Maha Guru
 
SaNTaCRuZ77's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 3450 512MB
Processor: AMD DualCore 2.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory: 3 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 08-10-2003, 11:09 | posts: 1,224 | Location: Los Angeles

Hmm Dav, 62 gigs of internet porn, now that's scary
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
David Deed
Don Alfa Terga Inconiti
 
David Deed's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 6600
Processor: Main - Athlon64 3000+
Mainboard: MSI K8T800 Neo-FSR
Memory: Corsair 2gb DDR 3200
Soundcard: Labtec Pulse 424
PSU: Creative Soundblaster Audigy
Default 08-10-2003, 11:56 | posts: 2,240 | Location: North America

is it? i like variety
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PixelDude
Pixelated Guru
 
PixelDude's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce 6800GT (Albatron) on a 19" 8ms LCD
Processor: Pentium4 2.8C @ 3.758 Zalman7000AlCu
Mainboard: ABIT IC7-G Canterwood i875
Memory: 1GB DDR400 Corsair Timing 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Onboard -> Sony Hifi
PSU:
Default 08-11-2003, 01:42 | posts: 3,313 | Location: ThreadID=27392 Occupation: SpamDude™©

The best way is to get a utilily such as FolderGuard - its able to hide drives or folders via an icon in the system tray requiring a password when the protection is disabled.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Atombender
Maha Guru
 
Atombender's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 780 GTX DCUII
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K
Mainboard: ASUS P7X79 Pro
Memory: Corsair 32GB DDR3 PC1866
Soundcard: Creative Z
PSU: Coolermaster V850W
Default 08-12-2003, 16:43 | posts: 2,506 | Location: Netherlands

Put it in a rar-achive with a password on it, then rename it to .dll and put it in the system32 directory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
stealthmaker
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor ATI 5770 1GB
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB
Memory: DDR3 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: N/A
Default 08-12-2003, 20:36 | posts: 1,716

Quote:
Originally posted by David Deed
I have a protable 80 gig harddrive that I say I back up internet files (like cs full install, etc) i have 28gigs left...

(its a western digital 80gig USB2.0)

Glide...
same consept here.. coz its a bit hard to get hold of it on cds they tend to pile up.. i 4 cd that contain only pictures.... so u can imagine how much movies can be 'collected' over time ... anyhow if i save it somewhere "deep" on my harddrive when i have to.. and if protection is needed i use the security features that come with winxp.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Altazimuth
Maha Guru
 
Altazimuth's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Vapor-X 5870
Processor: Intel Core i7 930 @3.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R r2.0
Memory: 6GB Crucial DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Corsair TX950W
Default 08-12-2003, 21:33 | posts: 1,308 | Location: Sirius A

I bet all this info is going in some massive Database for the Hackers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
SaNTaCRuZ77
Maha Guru
 
SaNTaCRuZ77's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 3450 512MB
Processor: AMD DualCore 2.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory: 3 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 08-13-2003, 00:34 | posts: 1,224 | Location: Los Angeles

Don't put in on..like a DISC..It is bound to be found ..I know
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
stealthmaker
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor ATI 5770 1GB
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB
Memory: DDR3 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: N/A
Default 08-13-2003, 01:06 | posts: 1,716

Quote:
Originally posted by SaNTaCRuZ77
Don't put in on..like a DISC..It is bound to be found ..I know
heheehhehee why dont u share ur story with us man?!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
serAph
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-13-2003, 07:46 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Icebird
Now I've seen it all, all the bad stuff that never comes out unless there's a lan. I know most of my mates got it in the csdir..

Nice avatar reality|bites, both the background on my site and desktopbackground
where do you hide your porn, V?

i dont hide mine at all. My parents are horrified of how technically challenging my computer is. They're the kind of people who freak out when the icons on their desktop change, so I made them get their own system...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
a k i
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-13-2003, 08:00 | posts: n/a

perants r just like serAph perants hehe, well one person always finds my stash. My older sister! she goes through all files games anything! it seems that she enjoys hunting down my porn and once in a while she finds it. I used to put it in my game files like Q3 but she ends up in there. Now i just put it in windows somewhere hehe something like run.dos.msc but after awhile i cant find it lol 2 deep inside windows. So i asked my friend to make this folder, when u dubble click on it it pops up a message saying warning file is a highly protected windows file. Opening it will cause in a drive crash due to the kernal error programing. and it lets you choose yes open or no open hahaha and of course the answer is yes to get in! My sis has no info about computers besides how to surf and use aim to chat, but my sister had the ballz to click yes and she found it, believe me my jaw dropped! well a few years later she was cool with it and now my porn is in my extra's folder under dixv/ads
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
SaNTaCRuZ77
Maha Guru
 
SaNTaCRuZ77's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 3450 512MB
Processor: AMD DualCore 2.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory: 3 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 08-13-2003, 09:28 | posts: 1,224 | Location: Los Angeles

Yeah, Hiding it isn't a problem, it's your reaction time changing it when they walk in on you..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
MrOuija
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GF2 MX 400 32MB/GF 7600 g
Processor: XP 2500+ @ 2279mhz/ X2 Tu
Mainboard: Asus a7n8x-x/Asus A6T-AP0
Memory: geil PC3200 2x512/2x1024@
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Li
PSU: TT butterfly 480 Watt PSU
Default 08-13-2003, 12:05 | posts: 3,902 | Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

i just have this big ass map named PORN on the desktop....okay it aint that obvious but i have my own computer where not much people besides me and friends that wanna play games use so..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Atombender
Maha Guru
 
Atombender's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 780 GTX DCUII
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K
Mainboard: ASUS P7X79 Pro
Memory: Corsair 32GB DDR3 PC1866
Soundcard: Creative Z
PSU: Coolermaster V850W
Default 08-13-2003, 12:09 | posts: 2,506 | Location: Netherlands

But what if your mom comes for a visit, and asks if she can quickly check her hotmail, because she forgot to do that at home ?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.