Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core i7 or X99 chipset giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Computer acts horrid after cleaning
Old
  (#1)
OmniShift
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 770 DCU2 OC
Processor: i5 2500k@4.5GHz + H2O 920
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme3
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 8GB CL8
Soundcard: On-board
PSU: CM Silent Pro M2 850W
Default Computer acts horrid after cleaning - 08-10-2017, 14:09 | posts: 385

So I've cleaned out my computer of dust. It's been gathering for at least a year I'm sure. Most of the cleaning was done by using soft toilet paper for the inside of the case, dust gathered on the watercooling block and PSU, the fan blades, and watercooling radiator. But right after I reassembled it (read: I put the radiator and fans back) to put it back to use, the problems started to emerge. I heard a strange rattling sound and the pc would shut down shortly after being logged in. Apparently something got loose in the cooling block, got stuck near the pump, and the CPU started overheating rapidly because of it. I switched to the stock fan, but then my pc got stuck in a boot-loop. After some fiddling, this seemed to be circumvented if I took 1 of my memory sticks out of the slot. This meant that my pc would work, but only with 4GB memory instead of 8GB. I now purchased a new set of 2x8GB memory, but the exact same problem occurs: bootloop when both sticks are in place, normal when one is in place. My motherboard is dual-channel and I've confirmed with the manual that they are in the correct positions. It also doesn't matter in which channel I put the 1 remaining stick or which 2 dual-channel channels I put them both in, the results are the same.

Does this mean there's something wrong with my motherboard (in a way that can be explained even though I hardly even touched it while cleaning) or can someone think of something else that's going on? I'd hate to buy a spare of every component just to figure out which is the culprit.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 08-10-2017, 16:51 | posts: 6,850 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

To me personally that sounds like some damage did happen due to overheating maybe? I guess it can't be a weak RAM slot since you did proper RAM trial and error.

But honestly, I'd be as baffled as you... did you put new thermal paste on the CPU after switching to the air cooler?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JaxMacFL
Maha Guru
 
JaxMacFL's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (pascal)
Processor: i9 7900X NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus Prime X299-A
Memory: 16GB (4x4) GSKILL 3200
Soundcard: SB ZxR with Logi 5.1 Z906
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 08-10-2017, 17:05 | posts: 1,035 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Try resetting your mb to default (factory settings) and start from there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
OmniShift
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 770 DCU2 OC
Processor: i5 2500k@4.5GHz + H2O 920
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme3
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 8GB CL8
Soundcard: On-board
PSU: CM Silent Pro M2 850W
Default 08-10-2017, 17:59 | posts: 385

I've done some more trial and error testing and it seems the latter 2 slots (A2/B2) won't accept single modules either. I don't know if it's normal that dual-channel won't accept the second slots if the first ones are not occupied or whether this may help solve what's going on here.

@fantaskarsef: I did proper cleaning of the old thermal paste and applied new paste with the pea method as I always do, so that's not the problem. The CPU is at a nice 45C at 37% usage, so I doubt that's the cause. Also, the pc automatically shut down when it detected the CPU was getting too hot (I read 91C on HWMonitor before it did), so I don't think it has permanent damage.

@JaxMacFL: if you mean resetting the bios, I did by clearing the CMOS and by removing the battery for half an hour. I've updated my BIOS and mobo drivers now to the latest version, but the problem persists.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Vlooi
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 980ti
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: Z97K
Memory: HyperX 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 1200w
Default 08-10-2017, 19:33 | posts: 27 | Location: South Africa

I never use anything than blowing air through the case with a blower. Touching stuff with paper or anything else always risks static damage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
JaxMacFL
Maha Guru
 
JaxMacFL's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (pascal)
Processor: i9 7900X NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus Prime X299-A
Memory: 16GB (4x4) GSKILL 3200
Soundcard: SB ZxR with Logi 5.1 Z906
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 08-10-2017, 20:55 | posts: 1,035 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Don't think it is cpu either. Strip mb and blow out everything with canned air. If problem still persist, try ram in another mb. You will know then. Good luck.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-10-2017, 21:01 | posts: 17,715 | Location: 127.0.0.1

This ^^ - Strip the machine down to individual components, clean and rebuild it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-11-2017, 00:51 | posts: 6,447 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlooi View Post
Touching stuff with paper or anything else always risks static damage.
I was going to say the same thing. Also, there are some things that just shouldn't be recycled .

Get the compressed air and give you computer a good blow over the circuit area, unplug the computer from the wall, remove CMOS battery, remove RAM sticks, short the Clr CMOS pins for a few seconds and don't put the battery back in just yet. Let it sit for at least 12 hours, ideally do it in the evening, go to work or whatever the next day and reassemble in the evening, remembering to put the CMOS battery back in last. After that, start the computer. Note that you have cleared the CMOS, so any settings set will need to be reset. There will likely be a message coming up as such.

For now, leave everything as the default and boot into Windows, see how it fairs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 (Baked)
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: MSI H97 PC Mate
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengean 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 08-12-2017, 09:28 | posts: 718 | Location: UK

Sounds like something is shorting out, take everything out and build the machine on your desk or something and power it up to see if it works, try a really soft paint brush to take off any bits of toilet paper you might have got on it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
angelgraves13
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Processor: i7 5960X 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-E WS
Memory: Corsair 64GB 2400 XMP
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Antec HCP 1200
Default 08-12-2017, 21:59 | posts: 561 | Location: Los Angeles

Get a can of Dust Off and clean it out proper. Make sure there's no toilet paper in the memory slots.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Subaru Swift
Maha Guru
 
Subaru Swift's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1060 Asus 6gb STRIX OC
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.40MHz 1.20v
Mainboard: Asus Z87-DELUXE/DUAL
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Z87-DELUXE/DUAL
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Default 08-13-2017, 11:09 | posts: 964 | Location: UK - Staffordshire \ bromsgrove

As said all ready it sounds like a bit of tissue paper dust as stuck somewhere to me.

I use one of these mains 500w blowers when I clean pcs out, just for 10 to 15 secs then turn off for a few secs.... it keeps it cool =
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Metro-Vac-2.../dp/B003BZCOKK

Cheaper one = https://www.amazon.co.uk/ITdusters-c.../dp/B00S7CH6FK
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.