Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Do not do this Tweak : http://forum.cakewalk.com/Windows-7-amp-Core-Parking-a-better-
Old
  (#1)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default Do not do this Tweak : http://forum.cakewalk.com/Windows-7-amp-Core-Parking-a-better- - 06-19-2017, 20:39 | posts: 1,226 | Location: ISRAEL

I'm on Windows 10 1703, at least do not do this for this OS !

I did it before long time ago , and for some reason just now DPC started to go insane. jumping like crazy.

After doing so many other things, I tried to give my CPU maximum usage 100% on 100% clock and I saw the jumps stopped. so I went to power management and gave 100% cpu clock so it will run on maximum all the time because I used 1% so it will lower the cpu clock when idle, when idling it still jumps.

So I remember I did this tweak long time, went to the registry and revert it, restart and the DPC stopped jump, now it's max 45-90 ...... before it went to 17000-10000 and lowered slow like stairs, not instant.

So if anyone have issues , try that first !



that what I had before




Now it's


Last edited by X7007; 06-19-2017 at 20:42.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-19-2017, 20:43 | posts: 608 | Location: Minnesota

Or just use ParkControl


And how is this related to Nvidia?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-19-2017, 20:53 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Win10 (and Win8+) has core parking off in two its power plans (performance and balanced) by default.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-19-2017, 21:20 | posts: 608 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Win10 (and Win8+) has core parking off in two its power plans (performance and balanced) by default.
High Performance has it disabled, but Balanced has core parking 50% enabled by default.

The heuristics of frequency scaling between both is different too, which can affect DPC latency as well.

Last edited by Mda400; 06-19-2017 at 21:32.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 06-19-2017, 21:43 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

um core parking is disabled be fualt in win 10 special on max power and balance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-19-2017, 22:54 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

I have never came across Win10/Win8 instance with enabled core parking (in performance and balanced power plans).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Dagda
Member Guru
 
Dagda's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080ti FE SLI
Processor: Ryzen r7 1800x
Mainboard: MSI X370 Krait Gaming
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1000w
Default 06-19-2017, 23:13 | posts: 100

interesting, why i didnīt knew about this core parking stuff is beyond me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 06-19-2017, 23:18 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
I have never came across Win10/Win8 instance with enabled core parking (in performance and balanced power plans).
me either and i reinstalled win 10 probably dozen times at this point on multiple pc, and max power and balance dont have it core parking enabled the min processor state in both those scheme have always been 100% which is core parking off last i checked by default.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-19-2017, 23:30 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagda View Post
interesting, why i didnīt knew about this core parking stuff is beyond me
In Win10 they even added perfmon`s counter for this core parking. But do bother only if you are on Win7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-20-2017, 00:35 | posts: 1,745

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagda View Post
interesting, why i didnīt knew about this core parking stuff is beyond me
Because it generally doesn't affect gaming machines?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Dagda
Member Guru
 
Dagda's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080ti FE SLI
Processor: Ryzen r7 1800x
Mainboard: MSI X370 Krait Gaming
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1000w
Default 06-20-2017, 00:49 | posts: 100

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_rus View Post
Because it generally doesn't affect gaming machines?
i know, and thatīs why cos i donīt use my pc just for gaming, is my work tool after all, how do you think i get money for my stuff
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Blackfyre
Maha Guru
 
Blackfyre's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Processor: 4790K @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.280v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming GT
Memory: 16Gb @2400Mhz 11-13-13-30
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z + AD900X
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G2
Default 06-20-2017, 03:56 | posts: 931 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagda View Post
i know, and thatīs why cos i donīt use my pc just for gaming, is my work tool after all, how do you think i get money for my stuff
If you're a heavy user and not just gaming with the PC, then I highly recommend you check out Process Lasso, I paid for the lifetime license a while back and have never looked back since. I've been using it with all my Operating Systems.

Use the free trial for a month to test it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-20-2017, 11:17 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackfyre View Post
If you're a heavy user and not just gaming with the PC, then I highly recommend you check out Process Lasso, I paid for the lifetime license a while back and have never looked back since. I've been using it with all my Operating Systems.

Use the free trial for a month to test it.
Process Lasso is veteran respectable tool. But to check and set core parking it is overkill because Windows lets you do it by power plan means. You just need to unhide power plan settings so that they will appear in advanced power plan settings dialog.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-20-2017, 11:50 | posts: 1,350

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Process Lasso is veteran respectable tool. But to check and set core parking it is overkill because Windows lets you do it by power plan means. You just need to unhide power plan settings so that they will appear in advanced power plan settings dialog.
Sure, but PL lets you dynamically have which power plan you run depending on app. Yes you can just set HP or BHP plan an be done, but if you want min cpu%, core parking and power saving of lower plans then it allows this easy.

On whats set by default of X OS version, remember you can go into power plan an hit defaults to bring back the defaults for OS (that "should" work).

I bet many of you have tweaked the values.

But you are right, you really never need to edit reg for power plan options, you need to be very careful were you edit as there user sections(which is proper place) but there also the default setting which OP sounds like he edited.
Just edit Attributes so its available to show in power plan.

Last edited by EdKiefer; 06-23-2017 at 00:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-20-2017, 14:04 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
I bet many of you have tweaked the values.

But you are right, you really never need to edit reg for power plan options, you need to be very careful were you edit as there user sections(which is proper place) but there also the default setting which OP sounds like he edited.
Just edit Attributes so its available to show in power plan.
You even do not need to edit Attributes in regedit because it can be done with the help of powercfg.exe.

Code:
powercfg -attributes GUID_FOR_SETTINGS_GROUP GUID_FOR_SETTING -ATTRIB_HIDE
And to view all groups and settings (to save them in text file)
Code:
powercfg -q > c:\temp\powersettings.txt
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-20-2017, 14:29 | posts: 1,350

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
You even do not need to edit Attributes in regedit because it can be done with the help of powercfg.exe.

Code:
powercfg -attributes GUID_FOR_SETTINGS_GROUP GUID_FOR_SETTING -ATTRIB_HIDE
And to view all groups and settings (to save them in text file)
Code:
powercfg -q > c:\temp\powersettings.txt
Yes, Powercfg can be very handy for many power solutions.

I will add one last comment, ParkControl also has option you can click on to enable many hidden CPU power management settings.

So you could setup PC and not even need it running all time if you wanted. This would be good for those not wanting to edit reg and still be able to twaek through power plans afterwards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-20-2017, 16:28 | posts: 608 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_rus View Post
Because it generally doesn't affect gaming machines?
And I would go further in saying it doesn't affect any machine, unless you are looking to get the highest benchmark scores.

Games that are multithread aware and put consistent load on a core/thread will keep it from going into c6 state. Its those burst loads like opening an explorer window or a new webpage that are most noticeable with core parking disabled. Plus, there is an artificial delay in the registry to give Windows time to process new windows [HKEY_CURRENT_USER>Control Panel>Desktop>menushowdelay]. I personally set this to 0 (milliseconds) and have noticed no issue and seen a difference since Vista.

Some motherboards can set the latency of the c6 state (c6 'short latency' if low latency is desired). Also has potential probability of crashing if the core is woken up too quick without everything else like cache and memory controller being ready for it.

For what its worth, I have mine set to balanced power profile, core parking 100% enabled (using ParkControl), c6 state (short latency) in UEFI, and frequency scaling in windows/speedstep enabled as well. With my CPU overclock it holds stable and the only time i see performance degradation is running quarter-minute benchmarks that dont average the CPU's work load over a longer period of time (like CPU-z's benchmark or sequential cinebench rendering where everything starts before worrying about waking the CPU cores first). Anything that helps with the power bill.

Core parking doesn't decrease performance, it just delay's the time for optimal performance to be obtained. If a game wakes additional cores every 5-10 minutes and you perceive slowdowns from that, then that's just inefficient game coding and not fault of how core parking is designed. It was more apparent with DX10 and past API's as they weren't multithread aware unless the developer custom coded to run different assets on different cores that didn't consistenly load a core all the time (like Source Engine's multithreading).

Last edited by Mda400; 06-20-2017 at 19:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Dagda
Member Guru
 
Dagda's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080ti FE SLI
Processor: Ryzen r7 1800x
Mainboard: MSI X370 Krait Gaming
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1000w
Default 06-20-2017, 23:08 | posts: 100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackfyre View Post
If you're a heavy user and not just gaming with the PC, then I highly recommend you check out Process Lasso, I paid for the lifetime license a while back and have never looked back since. I've been using it with all my Operating Systems.

Use the free trial for a month to test it.
Ok thx im gonna try it, looks interesting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
snight01
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080
Processor: i7 6700k 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte z170x Gaming 7
Memory: 16GB 3200Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler Master 1200W
Default 06-20-2017, 23:13 | posts: 221

Process lasso is pure poisen. Go windows 10 and stop using park control programs. I'll make a guide for the best optimization possible

I've secure erased my ssd due to the crap it's done to my os. Avoid it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
SabotageX
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
Processor: Intel Core i5 4570
Mainboard: Gigabyte B85M-D3PH
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM850X 850W
Default 06-20-2017, 23:18 | posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by snight01 View Post
Process lasso is pure poisen. Go windows 10 and stop using park control programs. I'll make a guide for the best optimization possible
Process Lasso is a superb program if you know how to use it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 06-21-2017, 00:45 | posts: 12,074 | Location: United kingdom

I remember you had to park your cpu for BF4 when the game out. Didnt make any difference as BF4 was still bollocks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI
Processor: 5960X
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: Logitech G633
PSU: 1200W
Default 06-21-2017, 00:50 | posts: 527 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by snight01 View Post
Process lasso is pure poisen. Go windows 10 and stop using park control programs. I'll make a guide for the best optimization possible

I've secure erased my ssd due to the crap it's done to my os. Avoid it.
No one with a brain will read your guide, don't bother. Process Lasso is great.

Extra tard points for 'secure erasing' a drive because of a process priority optimisation tool.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: NV GTX 970 Titan Cooler
Processor: FX-6300 @4.6ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique DDL
PSU: 700-Watt Corsair
Default 06-21-2017, 01:13 | posts: 506 | Location: Reality

Process Lasso is useless everything that matters can be done as noted above with powercfg included with Windows.

If you need a specific setting per program make a batch (.bat) and run powercfg command, then start exe with a /w (so it waits), and finish with powercfg restoring your original settings. All automated. All built into Windows.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-21-2017, 13:25 | posts: 1,350

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
Process Lasso is useless everything that matters can be done as noted above with powercfg included with Windows.

If you need a specific setting per program make a batch (.bat) and run powercfg command, then start exe with a /w (so it waits), and finish with powercfg restoring your original settings. All automated. All built into Windows.
With all due respect, there no way you can manual do what PL probalance and other options manually.
I am going to assume you maybe tried it for hr or day and came to that conclusion.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
snight01
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080
Processor: i7 6700k 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte z170x Gaming 7
Memory: 16GB 3200Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler Master 1200W
Default 06-21-2017, 14:35 | posts: 221

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
With all due respect, there no way you can manual do what PL probalance and other options manually.
I am going to assume you maybe tried it for hr or day and came to that conclusion.
You can do everything PL probalance do, automatically. Ok for example, say you want a automatically load a application in HIGH PRIORITY.

Go to the shortcut of the application on your desktop and in the "target field" have something like..

C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe "C:\Program Files\PlayMeInc\PlayMe\" /c start /high Playme.exe

And here you always start the application in High priority.

Everything PL do, you can also do by modifying shortcuts and adding to the "target field".
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.