Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alternative to GSYNC-setting "VSync on + 142fps framelimit". What do you think?
Old
  (#1)
Vindor
Newbie
 
Vindor's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i7-3770S
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 400W
Default Alternative to GSYNC-setting "VSync on + 142fps framelimit". What do you think? - 06-07-2017, 14:55 | posts: 7

Open Nvidia control panel, set "Vertical sync" in Global Settings to "On", Apply and close control panel. Then start nvidiaProfileInspector, set "Vertical Sync Tear Control" to "Adaptive", Apply changes and quit.
If you now start Nvidia control panel again, you see at "Vertical sync" in Global Settings: "Adaptive".

I didnt really tested it deeply and maybe it is only a personal impression and factual a nonsense, but for me, this setting has a very good (=low) input lag in Rainbow 6 Siege without using a framelimiter (R6S sometimes blocks RTSS).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-07-2017, 16:06 | posts: 1,709

Why not just set adaptive vsync in NV CPL without launching Inspector?

Also, adaptive vsync is just regular vsync if you're running at the refresh rate. If you have gsync display and gsync is on its behavior should be the same as just forcing regular vsync.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Vindor
Newbie
 
Vindor's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i7-3770S
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 400W
Default 06-07-2017, 16:19 | posts: 7

Set "Adaptive" in CPL is not possible without nvidiaProfileInspector, and i notice a different lag between "On" and "Adaptive" set in CPL.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 06-07-2017, 16:28 | posts: 9,482 | Location: USA

Vsync ON does not have any lag when within gsync range.

You are seeing a placebo affect
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Vindor
Newbie
 
Vindor's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i7-3770S
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 400W
Default 06-07-2017, 16:38 | posts: 7

Means, when Rainbow 6 runs between 70-120fps@144hz for example, there is no possibility to reduce lag, cause it already is on a minimum?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-07-2017, 16:53 | posts: 596 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindor View Post
Open Nvidia control panel, set "Vertical sync" in Global Settings to "On", Apply and close control panel. Then start nvidiaProfileInspector, set "Vertical Sync Tear Control" to "Adaptive", Apply changes and quit.
If you now start Nvidia control panel again, you see at "Vertical sync" in Global Settings: "Adaptive".

I didnt really tested it deeply and maybe it is only a personal impression and factual a nonsense, but for me, this setting has a very good (=low) input lag in Rainbow 6 Siege without using a framelimiter (R6S sometimes blocks RTSS).
You could also use fast sync (which unless you hit double your refresh rate, will act as a frame limiter) or use inspector 2.1.3.6's v1 frame limiter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindor View Post
Set "Adaptive" in CPL is not possible without nvidiaProfileInspector, and i notice a different lag between "On" and "Adaptive" set in CPL.
Force on + adaptive tear control in Inspector is the same as Adaptive Vsync in NVCP.

That's what Adaptive Vsync is. Driver controlled Vsync forced on at refresh rate and turned off adaptively below refresh rate.

Last edited by Mda400; 06-07-2017 at 17:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 06-07-2017, 17:02 | posts: 7,360 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

I second fast sync too





   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 06-07-2017, 18:20 | posts: 1,096

G-sync and vsync are incompatible. G-sync is a replacement for vsync. Adaptive vsync disables vsync when the frame rate falls below the refresh rate. G-sync does that anyway on its own.

That means adaptive vsync makes no sense with g-sync.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
CK the Greek
Maha Guru
 
CK the Greek's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x970G1 SLI,Gsync,3DVsn2
Processor: i5 4670K @4.4Ghz H2O H110
Mainboard: GA Z87X-UD5H
Memory: G.skill F3-2400C10D16GTX
Soundcard: Premium 5.1 Snd Sys
PSU: Corsair RM1000x
Default 06-07-2017, 19:10 | posts: 1,183 | Location: Greece

I think OP is confused or a bit ignorant or just trolling..

whole post doesn't make any sense.

There is no specific alternative to Gsync -but freesync- ,
other choices yes but not alternatives..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Vindor
Newbie
 
Vindor's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i7-3770S
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 400W
Default 06-07-2017, 19:24 | posts: 7

i mean an alternative to the setting recommended by blurbusters .com (GSync ON, VSync ON + a framelimiter), not an alternative to GSync in general.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 06-07-2017, 20:04 | posts: 1,096

Didn't give it any thought since it's a nonsensical combination:
  • Adaptive vsync disables vsync when FPS becomes lower than refresh rate.
  • Using a frame limiter means your FPS becomes lower than refresh rate.
Conclusion: adaptive vsync + frame limiter + g-sync should be equivalent to vsync off + frame limiter + g-sync.

One way to test this is use a game that is known to have a frame limiter with unstable frame times and thus introduce tearing with g-sync on + vsync off. One such game is CS:GO. If (and only if) you get tearing with g-sync on + vsync off + fps_max 142, and you still get tearing with g-sync on + adaptive vsync + fps_max 142, then that's a strong indication that indeed adaptive vsync is equivalent to vsync off when used with g-sync + frame capping.

Last edited by RealNC; 06-07-2017 at 20:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-07-2017, 20:12 | posts: 596 | Location: Minnesota

OP is not using a frame limiter. The reason they are saying this is for alternative to when frame limiter is not possible due to game issues.


To the OP, there are other frame limiting methods to try for your situation before you rely on Adaptive Vsync as the method to use if RTSS is not.

Last edited by Mda400; 06-07-2017 at 20:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Vindor
Newbie
 
Vindor's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i7-3770S
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 400W
Default 06-07-2017, 20:16 | posts: 7

Correct, Mda400 - and sorry for the confusion. If i test "Adaptive" in NV CPL via nvidiaProfileInspector, i use no framelimiter. I use it when i test VSync "On" in NV CPL. And I notice less lag with "Adaptive", then with "On" (both without framelimiter), but it seems that the blurbuster recommendation (GSync ON, VSync ON + a framelimiter) is the best setting.

Last edited by Vindor; 06-07-2017 at 20:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-07-2017, 21:33 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindor View Post
Set "Adaptive" in CPL is not possible without nvidiaProfileInspector, and i notice a different lag between "On" and "Adaptive" set in CPL.
Sure it's possible.



This is exactly why you see these settings in NVCPL when you change them in NV Inspector.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Vindor
Newbie
 
Vindor's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i7-3770S
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 400W
Default 06-07-2017, 22:11 | posts: 7

I also tried to set it. Only works, if i disable GSync. If GSync is enabled, not possible, except via nvidiaProfileInspector.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 06-07-2017, 22:51 | posts: 1,096

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_rus View Post
Sure it's possible.

This is exactly why you see these settings in NVCPL when you change them in NV Inspector.
You don't seem to have a g-sync monitor (given the lack of a "preferred refresh rate" option in your screenshot.) With a g-sync monitor and g-sync enabled, both of the "Adaptive" options do not exist in that menu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
{WOR}lock
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 TI FE
Processor: Intel i7-4930K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Edt
Memory: 16GB G-Skill RipjawZ DDR3
Soundcard: STX > AudioGD > HD650
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 06-07-2017, 23:57 | posts: 18 | Location: Australia

My suggestion would be to use G-Sync + Fast-Sync in titles that don't have any issues with Fast-Sync as the preferred option, followed by G-Sync + V-Sync using a framelimiter 2- 3 fps under your maximum refresh rate (In Engine if possible or via RTSS) as the second option. Both methods will get you low input lag though the Fast-Sync method seems slightly faster by my testing and a lot easier to setup as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-08-2017, 00:58 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
You don't seem to have a g-sync monitor (given the lack of a "preferred refresh rate" option in your screenshot.) With a g-sync monitor and g-sync enabled, both of the "Adaptive" options do not exist in that menu.
Ah, ok, that makes sense, especially as these options will do nothing on a gsync monitor with gsync enabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by {WOR}lock View Post
My suggestion would be to use G-Sync + Fast-Sync in titles that don't have any issues with Fast-Sync as the preferred option, followed by G-Sync + V-Sync using a framelimiter 2- 3 fps under your maximum refresh rate (In Engine if possible or via RTSS) as the second option. Both methods will get you low input lag though the Fast-Sync method seems slightly faster by my testing and a lot easier to setup as well.
This will basically ensure that vsync will never kick in so why even mention it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Netherwind
Ancient Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti 2038/12006MHz
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4500MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170 M5
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 2666MHz
Soundcard: ALC1150 & Creative T20
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 06-08-2017, 15:14 | posts: 4,841 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by {WOR}lock View Post
My suggestion would be to use G-Sync + Fast-Sync in titles that don't have any issues with Fast-Sync as the preferred option, followed by G-Sync + V-Sync using a framelimiter 2- 3 fps under your maximum refresh rate (In Engine if possible or via RTSS) as the second option. Both methods will get you low input lag though the Fast-Sync method seems slightly faster by my testing and a lot easier to setup as well.
Or...what about ONE global setting which you set & forget. I can't believe that all this hassle with limiters and whatnot has to be necessary. If you pay extra for a product (G-sync) you would expect it to work flawlessly without having to set per-game settings or watch a game stutter that shouldn't?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-08-2017, 16:38 | posts: 596 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherwind View Post
Or...what about ONE global setting which you set & forget. I can't believe that all this hassle with limiters and whatnot has to be necessary. If you pay extra for a product (G-sync) you would expect it to work flawlessly without having to set per-game settings or watch a game stutter that shouldn't?
Some games do not work with settings others do. Sure, you can set global options, but other games might not work correctly and need per-game settings instead.

It's best to let the application decide for most things and then to set a per-game profile if something is missing or corrupted. If a dev codes their game well, shouldn't have to override anything in the control panel.

The only thing I change in the nvidia control panel for graphics is forcing PhysX to my graphics card and maximum pre-rendered frames to 1 (globally, only changing on a per-game basis if the game is CPU-bound).

Last edited by Mda400; 06-08-2017 at 16:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 06-08-2017, 16:48 | posts: 14,906 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherwind View Post
Or...what about ONE global setting which you set & forget. I can't believe that all this hassle with limiters and whatnot has to be necessary. If you pay extra for a product (G-sync) you would expect it to work flawlessly without having to set per-game settings or watch a game stutter that shouldn't?
I absolutely agree with you here.

If NVIDIA had intended for G-SYNC monitor owners to set framerate limits for games then they would have included the option in their control panel. I'm not really sure why you would set a framerate limit just below the refresh rate anyway; G-SYNC works with framerates up to 1 fps below the refresh rate then at the refresh rate normal v-sync takes over (if you have it set to On in the global profile otherwise you will experience screen tearing).

What does setting a cap of 1-5 fps below the refresh actually do other than slightly lower your maximum framerate?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 06-08-2017, 16:53 | posts: 14,906 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mda400 View Post
Some games do not work with settings others do. Sure, you can set global options, but other games might not work correctly and need per-game settings instead.

It's best to let the application decide for most things and then to set a per-game profile if something is missing or corrupted. If a dev codes their game well, shouldn't have to override anything in the control panel.

The only thing I change in the nvidia control panel for graphics is forcing PhysX to my graphics card and maximum pre-rendered frames to 1 (globally, only changing on a per-game basis if the game is CPU-bound).
With G-SYNC, I think it is best to enable V-Sync globally and then disable it/use Fast V-Sync for any games that misbehave. In my experience of testing over 50 games over the past few days G-SYNC works fine with everything I played.

The only oddity I saw was G-SYNC being disabled (I have the indicator on and it disappears) during FIFA 17's replays and cutscenes. I'm not sure why that happens and why G-SYNC does appear to be active in the main menu but doesn't seem to have any negative effect on the game as these scenes still run smoothly at up to 165 fps on my system. However, this is the ony game where I have seen this behaviour so far so maybe there is some incompatibility here that NVIDIA have addressed in the driver or per-game profile?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-08-2017, 17:02 | posts: 596 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
With G-SYNC, I think it is best to enable V-Sync globally and then disable it/use Fast V-Sync for any games that misbehave. In my experience of testing over 50 games over the past few days G-SYNC works fine with everything I played.

The only oddity I saw was G-SYNC being disabled (I have the indicator on and it disappears) during FIFA 17's replays and cutscenes. I'm not sure why that happens and why G-SYNC does appear to be active in the main menu but doesn't seem to have any negative effect on the game as these scenes still run smoothly at up to 165 fps on my system. However, this is the ony game where I have seen this behaviour so far so maybe there is some incompatibility here that NVIDIA have addressed in the driver or per-game profile?
If Vsync works as it should in a game, then i wouldn't see the need for forcing from the driver globally especially with G-Sync (if you don't want your graphics card to run full-bore since a frame limiter is recommended to keep lag low running under refresh rate and stuttering/tearing never occurs using G-Sync).

If a game didn't have a Vsync toggle or has frame pacing issues, that's where i would think about controlling Vsync from the driver.

G-Sync as other's have noted, has a range of where it activates. If it falls below 30 or rises above the panel's native refresh rate then it will deactivate.

Last edited by Mda400; 06-08-2017 at 17:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 06-08-2017, 17:48 | posts: 14,906 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mda400 View Post
If Vsync works as it should in a game, then i wouldn't see the need for forcing from the driver globally especially with G-Sync (if you don't want your graphics card to run full-bore since a frame limiter is recommended to keep lag low running under refresh rate and stuttering/tearing never occurs using G-Sync).

If a game didn't have a Vsync toggle or has frame pacing issues, that's where i would think about controlling Vsync from the driver.

G-Sync as other's have noted, has a range of where it activates. If it falls below 30 or rises above the panel's native refresh rate then it will deactivate.
G-SYNC still works below 30 fps apparently as it works by doubling/tripling/quadrupling the refresh rate depending on how low the framerate goes, e.g. at 29 fps it will refresh at 58 Hz (2 x 29) and at 18 fps it will refresh at 54 Hz (3 x 18). At least that's what I read so, if that is the case, then it isn't technically deactivated below 30 fps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-08-2017, 21:12 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
I absolutely agree with you here.

If NVIDIA had intended for G-SYNC monitor owners to set framerate limits for games then they would have included the option in their control panel. I'm not really sure why you would set a framerate limit just below the refresh rate anyway; G-SYNC works with framerates up to 1 fps below the refresh rate then at the refresh rate normal v-sync takes over (if you have it set to On in the global profile otherwise you will experience screen tearing).

What does setting a cap of 1-5 fps below the refresh actually do other than slightly lower your maximum framerate?
Vsync adds lag which is absent with gsync. Now, I have my doubts about many people actually being able to perceive this lag at 144Hz but this is a valid point anyway - I don't know why NV is using regular vsync once the top limit of gsync is reached instead of using the same gsync in place of vsync and limiting the fps to refresh rate automatically.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.