Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
More on Ryzen Memory Support, Game Performance
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default More on Ryzen Memory Support, Game Performance - 05-19-2017, 09:16 | posts: 29,510 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Memory support for the AMD Ryzen platform has greatly improved ever since the latest AGESA (firmware) updates. Currently most memory modules I have here work at least at 2933 MHz with two DIMMs and pr...

More on Ryzen Memory Support, Game Performance And Ryzen 3 Launch
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Aniboom
Newbie
 
Aniboom's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 480 AC Twin Turbo III
Processor: Intel Core i5 3470
Mainboard: MSI B75A-G43
Memory: Mushkin Blackline 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Seasonic M12II 520W
Default 05-19-2017, 10:24 | posts: 22 | Location: Romania

Can't wait for the day Zen+ will be released. If my expectations aren't too high, i might be getting myself a new, more mature, memory-hiccups-free CPU with some extra IPC compared to the current release.
Things finally got interesting again!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Turanis
Maha Guru
 
Turanis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte RX500
Processor: SBA
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 16GB-4
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 05-19-2017, 11:23 | posts: 1,118 | Location: Into the light

Yeah James,Samsung is Samsung in everything.

Forget about Intel with 2400MHz max,Ryzen needs 3200+ MHz to unleash the power of their CCX (CPU-Complex ).

The question is when the MB manufacturers will be able( or wanna do) to push faster RAM timings.

Last edited by Turanis; 05-19-2017 at 11:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
GDILord
Newbie
 
GDILord's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX470 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CX 450M
Default 05-19-2017, 12:04 | posts: 1

/OT
@Aniboom: I see that you also used to read some funny web comics back in the day. :-)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Aniboom
Newbie
 
Aniboom's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 480 AC Twin Turbo III
Processor: Intel Core i5 3470
Mainboard: MSI B75A-G43
Memory: Mushkin Blackline 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Seasonic M12II 520W
Default 05-19-2017, 12:21 | posts: 22 | Location: Romania

@GDILord: The way these guys handled situations kinda sums up my life here at the IT Service Desk.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Sweeeper
Newbie
 
Videocard: 32 gb
Processor: xeon
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: N/A
Default 05-19-2017, 12:53 | posts: 5

I just be happy when I can run 3200mhz more then 1 hour without bsod..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Kaarme
Master Guru
 
Kaarme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 390
Processor: i5 6600K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: HyperX DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: Lead Audio LA-100 DAC
PSU: EVGA G2 750W
Default 05-19-2017, 13:21 | posts: 726 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aniboom View Post
Can't wait for the day Zen+ will be released. If my expectations aren't too high, i might be getting myself a new, more mature, memory-hiccups-free CPU with some extra IPC compared to the current release.
Things finally got interesting again!
I doubt any new CPU will be totally free of memory compatibility troubles right off the bat. But surely it will be much better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 05-19-2017, 13:33 | posts: 1,679 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

They did not mention anything about Ryzen 3 launch-did I miss something? What is Ryzen 3 going to be anyway? 4/4 thread or is that the Apu version with on-die Graphics?
   
Reply With Quote
x370 mATX
Old
  (#9)
JamesSneed
Member Guru
 
JamesSneed's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1800x
Mainboard: GA-AX370-Gaming K7
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Audioengine a2+
PSU: Seasonic Titanium 850
Default x370 mATX - 05-19-2017, 13:36 | posts: 115 | Location: Dallas, TX

Would be nice to have some high end x370 boards in mATX. Something with more and better VRM's than the mATX boards to date. This is part of the issue with memory support as there are effectively no high end boards smaller than ATX(excluding BIOSTAR's near impossible to obtain x370 mITX and mATX boards).

Last edited by JamesSneed; 05-19-2017 at 13:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Ti GAMING X 11G
Processor: AMD 7 1700x
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill 3200Mhz
Soundcard: Asus STX II/DT 990 Pro
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 05-19-2017, 14:03 | posts: 6,248 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesSneed View Post
Would be nice to have some high end x370 boards in mATX. Something with more and better VRM's than the mATX boards to date. This is part of the issue with memory support as there are effectively no high end boards smaller than ATX(excluding BIOSTAR's near impossible to obtain x370 mITX and mATX boards).
I'm not sure what this has to do with AMD, but rather board partners. You already stated, Biostar has an x370 mITX/ATX boards, so it's not like AMD is telling them "no, you can't make that"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-19-2017, 14:08 | posts: 6,846

I'm absolutely certain that AMD provided partners with initial board layouts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
chronek
Master Guru
 
chronek's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980 GTX 4GB gddr5
Processor: Intel i7-4790k@5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H
Memory: GoodRam 32GB ddr3
Soundcard: SB ZxR, BD 990DT pro
PSU: CoolerMaster 650W Gold
Default 05-19-2017, 14:45 | posts: 171 | Location: Poland

So Ryzen have problems with memory, it means it have problems with prefetching and caching, but still can rival with Intel... Imagine they would fix that problems...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
nizzen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 3x Asus Titan X EK water
Processor: 5960x
Mainboard: Asus RVE
Memory: G.Skill 3200 @ cl14
Soundcard:
PSU: 2x Antec HCP1300
Default 05-19-2017, 15:13 | posts: 304

Will Ryzen MB support 3600+ memory with 100mhz "BCLK"? THAT is the question.

More than 104? mhz f# up the M.2 ssd and pci-e speed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
waltc3
Master Guru
 
waltc3's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1.305GHz Asus RX-480 8GB
Processor: FX-8320E
Mainboard: MSI 970 Gaming
Memory: 16 GB (4x4) 2133 HyperX
Soundcard: RealTek 1150
PSU: Corsair 750W CXM
Default 05-19-2017, 15:38 | posts: 437 | Location: Mars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turanis View Post
Yeah James,Samsung is Samsung in everything.

Forget about Intel with 2400MHz max,Ryzen needs 3200+ MHz to unleash the power of their CCX (CPU-Complex ).

The question is when the MB manufacturers will be able( or wanna do) to push faster RAM timings.
First, I don't know why people are expecting these things from budget motherboards. I know it will be a 370 chipset for me--budget Intel mboards are horrid little beasts, and some of them don't even offer much of a bios/UEFI at all, IIRC... And they sure are *not* layered for overclocking...! So why the expectations of a Ryzen budget board to run like a 370 board? Go figure...

But, anyway, I've noticed with my MSI 970a (970 Gaming) motherboard for my fx-8320e that with 16GBs of ram (4x4) DDR3 installed, that using the *manual* settings in the UEFI for my ram *won't work* at all (I use the M4 UEFI version--the latest and last, apparently)! But when I use the XMP UEFI setting, instead, for exactly the same values on timing and MHz, the system runs like a clock every time. So you are exactly right in pointing out that this is definitely a vendor-specific issue with regard to motherboards--just exactly the way it is with Intel boards, imo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
waltc3
Master Guru
 
waltc3's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1.305GHz Asus RX-480 8GB
Processor: FX-8320E
Mainboard: MSI 970 Gaming
Memory: 16 GB (4x4) 2133 HyperX
Soundcard: RealTek 1150
PSU: Corsair 750W CXM
Default 05-19-2017, 15:47 | posts: 437 | Location: Mars

Quote:
Originally Posted by chronek View Post
So Ryzen have problems with memory, it means it have problems with prefetching and caching, but still can rival with Intel... Imagine they would fix that problems...
Ryzen has no unusual problems at all, actually. All of this is the "teething" process that *all* new cpu architectures go through when first released to the mainstream. It is so common it's yawn material. I will say, however, that compared with the problems AMD faced when trying to get the original Athlon/AMD-64 to market, with Intel threatening mboard OEMs with Intel parts shortages if they manufactured Athlon motherboards, and Intel actually paying vendors like Dell (at the time--not true any longer) *not to sell* AMD products, these problems are exceptionally minor. Almost seems like nit-picking, because as time from launch moves on these configuration snafus will disappear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
fry178
Master Guru
 
fry178's Avatar
 
Videocard: Strix 1060/6GB@2GHz
Processor: i7-3770K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximus V Gene
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: XonarDSX/Sennheiser HD580
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760w
Default 05-19-2017, 21:47 | posts: 492 | Location: Maryland

@Aura89
Yes, it actually has. Amd showed from the beginning that all x370 boards would be atx, and didnt list mAtx at all for the x chip.
I doubt asus/asrock would not produce x370 mAtx boards, if they could. I don't think they will spend money on completely designing matx boards from ground up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 05-20-2017, 01:01 | posts: 19,966 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by fry178 View Post
@Aura89
Yes, it actually has. Amd showed from the beginning that all x370 boards would be atx, and didnt list mAtx at all for the x chip.
I doubt asus/asrock would not produce x370 mAtx boards, if they could. I don't think they will spend money on completely designing matx boards from ground up.
Pegatron is well known for custom motherboards. In fact, most of Pegatron's motherboard sales are custom boards.

For those that don't know, Pegatron is the company that owns ASRock and was formerly a division of Asus that got spun-off into it's own company. Pegatron competes directly with Foxconn in the OEM motherboard market.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Ti GAMING X 11G
Processor: AMD 7 1700x
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill 3200Mhz
Soundcard: Asus STX II/DT 990 Pro
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 05-20-2017, 01:42 | posts: 6,248 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by fry178 View Post
@Aura89
Yes, it actually has. Amd showed from the beginning that all x370 boards would be atx, and didnt list mAtx at all for the x chip.
I doubt asus/asrock would not produce x370 mAtx boards, if they could. I don't think they will spend money on completely designing matx boards from ground up.
explain biostar then, because they completely blow your idea out of the water.



As to them not spending the money, you are contradicting yourself. Either AMD tells them they can't do it, or the company is unwilling to spend the money on want they can do.

In regards to money, not sure that would make sense. I mean, sure, it's possible, but BIOSTAR of all companies has done it, so....if a company like BIOSTAR is willing to do it, what does that say about the other companies?

As i stated:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aura89 View Post
it's not like AMD is telling them "no, you can't make that"
I never said i doubt AMD didn't give them plans for mATX

Last edited by Aura89; 05-20-2017 at 01:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4102Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3555Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Thumbs up 05-20-2017, 14:25 | posts: 7,813 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nizzen View Post
Will Ryzen MB support 3600+ memory with 100mhz "BCLK"? THAT is the question.

More than 104? mhz f# up the M.2 ssd and pci-e speed
Yes , with new early beta bios based on the new AMD Agesa microcode 1.0.0.6 it has already happened a few hours ago , Elmor from Asus ( R&D ) just posted 2 new Bios based on the latest Agesa microcode 1.0.0.6.

Early Beta Bios for Asus CrossHair 6 x370 = 9943 and 9945 ( If Hynix AFR 4x16GB or Samsung B 4x8GB, you might have more luck with this ) , post #15903 on this thread at ocn from Elmor download here - http://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/r...#post_26106654

New multipliers:
3066
3333
3466
3600
3733
3866
4000!

People are reporting great things on this very early beta bios , Hynix dual ranked memory now works at 3200Mhz as well as Micron memory on 2x16GB as well as 4x8GB populated dimms. People are getting DDR4-3733Mhz + on Samsung B-die memory without touching bclk and i expect to see DDR4-4000Mhz soon ... , as they keep tweaking and improving this Bios before they are official at Asus website. Keep in mind these are very early beta bios and the first one to come out with the new Agesa microcode , so they still have a bug here and there to iron out. So sad i'm not at home to thoroughly test this bios :/ , but once i get home next week i shall test it for maximum Ram speeds.

Last edited by chispy; 05-20-2017 at 14:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.