Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PC wont boot/freeze with VGA card in but fine without (card is fine)
Old
  (#1)
FNK
Ancient Guru
 
FNK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTR 480 XXX
Processor: 3570K @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2000 16Gb
Soundcard: X-FI Supreme III
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default PC wont boot/freeze with VGA card in but fine without (card is fine) - 05-02-2017, 00:29 | posts: 2,762 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Dear GURU3D,

I have issues with my PC for 1-2 months now.

While updating the video card drivers, Windows sort of frooze, but the cursor was movable.
I've done an hard reset, since then it will not boot completely to Windows, it will run the Win10 boot ring, but will freeze before reaching full boot.

The VGA card was RMAed, but it ended up working fine at the factory, even running a 12h overnight test with success. The new card, factory sealed, act the same way. VGA post fine in bios and Safe mode, but not in 3D mode.

This process took more than a month, with the onboard video, the PC work fine. I did not get a single crash, it has been flawless for 2 months.


So here I am trying to find the problem,
1. Motherboard? If so, what can it be?
2. Power supply?
3. ...
4. ...
5. ...

Thank you for the help!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
CalculuS
Maha Guru
 
CalculuS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Asus DC2U
Processor: I7 920 4.1ghz 1.3v
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/CL8
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: EVGA 500W
Default 05-02-2017, 03:09 | posts: 2,746 | Location: Netherlands

I don't want to be that guy but it has never occured to you that you simply need to remove drivers? The very fact it boots fine in safe mode should tell you that.

Simply boot with onboard and use DDU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
FNK
Ancient Guru
 
FNK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTR 480 XXX
Processor: 3570K @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2000 16Gb
Soundcard: X-FI Supreme III
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-02-2017, 15:25 | posts: 2,762 | Location: Quebec, Canada

As for the display driver,
I was using 17.3.2, then while updating to 17.3.3 the problem started.
Win10 went corrupt beyond repair, so I did a fresh install.

Win10 installed fine, but I was not able to boot.
Removed card, Win10 finished the installation fine.
Put the card in, freeze.
Did the DDU, Win10 booted, but as soon as driver update started the PC froze.

Before the driver update, I was playing a game and I started to get all sort of artifacts (pointing to a damaged card). RMA it, it was fine, still they game me a brand new one they tested prior, same issue.

This weekend, I wanted to boot without the graphic card, and it was the SSD not recognised... A couple of hours later, PC booted fine... something is up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CalculuS
Maha Guru
 
CalculuS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Asus DC2U
Processor: I7 920 4.1ghz 1.3v
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/CL8
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: EVGA 500W
Default 05-02-2017, 17:55 | posts: 2,746 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by FNK View Post
As for the display driver,
I was using 17.3.2, then while updating to 17.3.3 the problem started.
Win10 went corrupt beyond repair, so I did a fresh install.

Win10 installed fine, but I was not able to boot.
Removed card, Win10 finished the installation fine.
Put the card in, freeze.
Did the DDU, Win10 booted, but as soon as driver update started the PC froze.

Before the driver update, I was playing a game and I started to get all sort of artifacts (pointing to a damaged card). RMA it, it was fine, still they game me a brand new one they tested prior, same issue.

This weekend, I wanted to boot without the graphic card, and it was the SSD not recognised... A couple of hours later, PC booted fine... something is up.
Did you try a different pcie slot yet? Seeing as how onboard works.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
FNK
Ancient Guru
 
FNK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTR 480 XXX
Processor: 3570K @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2000 16Gb
Soundcard: X-FI Supreme III
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-02-2017, 18:03 | posts: 2,762 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalculuS View Post
Did you try a different pcie slot yet? Seeing as how onboard works.
Yes I did test both PCIE ports.

What I can do this weekend is to test another VGA card of low power.
If it boot I will know that it is not the port/mobo, but the PSU. Vice-versa...

Any other possibilities to test?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Embra
Master Guru
 
Embra's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro Fury OC
Processor: Ryzen 1700x
Mainboard: MSI x370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: Corsar Ven 3200 16 gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMx 850
Default 05-02-2017, 18:48 | posts: 313

You have a good quality PSU, but they can fail. Could be your issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 05-02-2017, 19:02 | posts: 1,743

The issue is that it is the Intel cpu and the Intel based motherboard. Once those two items are changed, everything will boot just fine. Best advice can give given the forum thread this is posted under (Processors and motherboards AMD).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 05-02-2017, 19:12 | posts: 9,464 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clouseau View Post
The issue is that it is the Intel cpu and the Intel based motherboard. Once those two items are changed, everything will boot just fine. Best advice can give given the forum thread this is posted under (Processors and motherboards AMD).
oh boy an AMD troll fanboy with useless advice.

OP make sure bios it up to date first
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 05-02-2017, 19:39 | posts: 1,743

Quote:
oh boy an AMD troll fanboy with useless advice.

OP make sure bios it up to date first
Seriously? Asking about 1. Motherboard? If so, what can it be? in an AMD thread...What kind of serious response is being expected when the question is not posted in the Sub-Forum heading below this one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
FNK
Ancient Guru
 
FNK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTR 480 XXX
Processor: 3570K @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2000 16Gb
Soundcard: X-FI Supreme III
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-02-2017, 20:10 | posts: 2,762 | Location: Quebec, Canada

And here I was thinking AMD user where nicer people!

*My bad for picking the wrong section. Thank for the help until I get a Ryzen!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Knox
Maha Guru
 
Knox's Avatar
 
Videocard: Red Devil RX580 8GB
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty AB350
Memory: Ballistix Elite 16GB
Soundcard: FX Audio DAC-X6/ATH-M40x
PSU: Thermaltake SMART 700w
Default 05-12-2017, 08:27 | posts: 1,570 | Location: Oz, across from the Wizard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Embra View Post
You have a good quality PSU, but they can fail. Could be your issue.
I'm leaning towards the power supply as well. I've had a Silverstone die inside of 8 months before. It happens.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Embra
Master Guru
 
Embra's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro Fury OC
Processor: Ryzen 1700x
Mainboard: MSI x370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: Corsar Ven 3200 16 gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMx 850
Default 05-12-2017, 12:25 | posts: 313

Could also check for a bios update for the Mobo if the issue still exists.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Valken
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Forsa 1060 3GB Temp GPU
Processor: Intel i7-4970k 4GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Z97 OC Formula
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 2400 CL10
Soundcard: ALC1150 + X-Fi MB3
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-12-2017, 13:38 | posts: 1,232

I had the same problems when I had AMD 6950 CFX, towards starting last year. Swapped the cards around and it then worked for about a year. Then recently it did not boot or hangs when I play GPU accelerated videos or 3D games. Swapped cards around, still bad.

Removed both gpu worked.

Got a cheap 1060 3GB GTX. Worked flawlessly until it got super humid here. My PC is opened to the living room and AC is off when I am at work. Turn on the AC with fan blowing into the PC turns it back on. But over time, the gpu or something will short out because of the humidity.

Lastly check your HDD/SSDs and backup at least your data drive. Over time the humidity killed off my HDDS (Seagates 3GB). HD is cheap to replace but the data is gone.

Now I just have the MB turn off all HDs not in use after 30 mins.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
FNK
Ancient Guru
 
FNK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTR 480 XXX
Processor: 3570K @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2000 16Gb
Soundcard: X-FI Supreme III
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-14-2017, 17:18 | posts: 2,762 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Hey guys,

As an update;
I've successfully found an older video card (to rule out compatibility of newer cards) that is also less power hungry, a Geforce 550TI (1x 6pin molex), that run on PCIE gen 2 (Port push 50W vs gen 3 75W if I am not mistaken).

1. Bios recognized the card,
2. Windows 10 still did not boot past the loading rings...

So what can I rule out, or make out of this test?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
CalculuS
Maha Guru
 
CalculuS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Asus DC2U
Processor: I7 920 4.1ghz 1.3v
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/CL8
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: EVGA 500W
Default 05-14-2017, 18:15 | posts: 2,746 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by FNK View Post
Hey guys,

As an update;
I've successfully found an older video card (to rule out compatibility of newer cards) that is also less power hungry, a Geforce 550TI (1x 6pin molex), that run on PCIE gen 2 (Port push 50W vs gen 3 75W if I am not mistaken).

1. Bios recognized the card,
2. Windows 10 still did not boot past the loading rings...

So what can I rule out, or make out of this test?
That is extremely weird, did you try both pcie ports with the older card too?

At this point i'd nuke your windows again and disable windows update from installing your graphics drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 05-14-2017, 18:24 | posts: 1,743

Have you tried booting from a usb with the Win 10 installation media on it made from rufus or the media creation tool?

First try running the startup repair after booting from the installation usb. Then to be on the safe side

Try running DISM from the installation media:

DISM.exe /Image:X:\ /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
("X" is the dive windows is installed on)

and then before exiting, run

SFC /scannow /OFFBOOTDIR=X:\ /OFFWINDIR=X:\Windows
("X" being the drive windows is installed on)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Knox
Maha Guru
 
Knox's Avatar
 
Videocard: Red Devil RX580 8GB
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty AB350
Memory: Ballistix Elite 16GB
Soundcard: FX Audio DAC-X6/ATH-M40x
PSU: Thermaltake SMART 700w
Default 05-17-2017, 09:15 | posts: 1,570 | Location: Oz, across from the Wizard

If a different video card, did not work. I would still try a power supply, the only other thing I could imagine is that the pci express slot is broken. But I don't see how both slots could be broken at once, unless your old card killed them.

Last edited by Knox; 05-17-2017 at 09:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
FNK
Ancient Guru
 
FNK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTR 480 XXX
Processor: 3570K @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2000 16Gb
Soundcard: X-FI Supreme III
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-17-2017, 22:25 | posts: 2,762 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knox View Post
...the only other thing I could imagine is that the pci express slot is broken. But I don't see how both slots could be broken at once, unless your old card killed them.
That is the weird thing, if the PCIE port (both) would really be broken, then I suppose the card would not post in the bios, neither would it boot into safe mode... the logic is not complete.

I am running my WIFI card in a M.2 slot, which use PCIE lanes... so the WIFI would not work if the "northbridge" would fail.
I'll try to find/buy a random PCIE card other than vga to use.

All of this after a driver update... I keep thinking like the Apple Ibook Pro that fried the speaker during a bad driver update.

Last edited by FNK; 05-17-2017 at 22:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 05-18-2017, 01:33 | posts: 1,743

Try booting without the WiFi card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
FNK
Ancient Guru
 
FNK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTR 480 XXX
Processor: 3570K @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2000 16Gb
Soundcard: X-FI Supreme III
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-18-2017, 23:54 | posts: 2,762 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clouseau View Post
Try booting without the WiFi card.
Wifi card work fine! But okay I'll remove it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 05-19-2017, 23:52 | posts: 1,743

The WiFi card can be working fine. Looking to see if there is a conflict between the graphics card and the WiFi card. If the PC boots fine without the WiFi card, then the conflict can still be several things from driver conflicts to IRQ conflicts, but at least you would know where the conflict is centered.

Have you tried booting with everything removed but the bare estentials, just the boot drive and graphics card connected to the board? Then adding one item back at a time till it does not boot.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.