Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Antivirus solution / suggestions
Old
  (#1)
cryohellinc
Master Guru
 
cryohellinc's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti SeaHawkX@2k+PG348Q
Processor: Intel i7 4770k @4.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 Mpower
Memory: Corsair DDR3 @1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR + Amp
PSU: ANTEC 1200W
Default Antivirus solution / suggestions - 05-01-2017, 12:09 | posts: 582 | Location: St. Petersburg

Hey guys,

For a while now I have been using standard windows defender, combined with anti spyware solution scans once a week.

Mainly due to my past experience with other "antivirus" solutions that are either too bulky and slow down your system, or literally do nothing besides looking fancy.

What im looking for is a solution that is lightweight, does its job in the background with minimal impact on performance of system overall.

Is there anything like that around these days?

What are you using and why, any suggestions?

Thank you!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-01-2017, 12:19 | posts: 17,538 | Location: 127.0.0.1

NOD32 does all the above, lightweight, keeps quiet unless there's a problem, does the job
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA x2 1080 Ti SC Black
Processor: i7 5930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus ROG RVE-10
Memory: 32 gigs ddr4 @ 3200
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 05-01-2017, 12:24 | posts: 2,332 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

I use AVG free. Almost NO impact on performance. I've been using AVG free for years, and never had a virus get past it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Zooke
Member Guru
 
Zooke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X SLI @ 1475
Processor: 4790k @ 5GHz 24/7
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: G-Skill 2133 32Gb
Soundcard: ATH-700X
PSU: AX1500i
Default 05-01-2017, 13:29 | posts: 110 | Location: UK

I use 'Common Sense' protection.

It comes as a complete package with virus, malware, adware, nagware etc etc protection all in 1 handy bundle.
Resource usage is so low that it doesn't even show on the task manager or in processes.

I swear it works better than most of the programs I am aware of. For instance, my 'Common Sense' protection alerted me to all of the crap inside a standard Nvidia driver installer.
None of the popular downloaded programs managed to find that.

No issues for years.

Last edited by Zooke; 05-01-2017 at 13:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
mmicrosysm2
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 8 MB SDRAM
Processor: Cyrix 133 MHz
Mainboard: Packard Bell
Memory: 16MB EDO
Soundcard: Sound Blaster 16
PSU: 150 Watt AT
Default 05-01-2017, 14:13 | posts: 138

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
NOD32 does all the above, lightweight, keeps quiet unless there's a problem, does the job
Plus 1 for NOD32

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-01-2017, 14:26 | posts: 17,538 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooke View Post
I use 'Common Sense' protection.

It comes as a complete package with virus, malware, adware, nagware etc etc protection all in 1 handy bundle.
Resource usage is so low that it doesn't even show on the task manager or in processes.

I swear it works better than most of the programs I am aware of. For instance, my 'Common Sense' protection alerted me to all of the crap inside a standard Nvidia driver installer.
None of the popular downloaded programs managed to find that.

No issues for years.
Not having an AV installed shows that your common sense protection has already failed it's first task
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
lexer98
Master Guru
 
lexer98's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 - WC
Processor: 4790k@4.5Ghz - WC
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A
Memory: Corsair 16Gb - 2400mhz
Soundcard: Native Instrument Audio 2
PSU: Seasonic M12 750W
Default 05-01-2017, 14:50 | posts: 658 | Location: Argentina

I never used a live anti-virus, just make your PC perform worse, especially boot times and when you open a application or file that isn't "white listed". I prefer utilities like malware-bytes anti-malware.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
velho
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX660 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 450W
Default 05-01-2017, 14:58 | posts: 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooke View Post
I use 'Common Sense' protection.

It comes as a complete package with virus, malware, adware, nagware etc etc protection all in 1 handy bundle.
Resource usage is so low that it doesn't even show on the task manager or in processes.

I swear it works better than most of the programs I am aware of. For instance, my 'Common Sense' protection alerted me to all of the crap inside a standard Nvidia driver installer.
None of the popular downloaded programs managed to find that.

No issues for years.
This.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 05-01-2017, 15:57 | posts: 9,392 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Not having an AV installed shows that your common sense protection has already failed it's first task
Incorrect.

Haven't used AV on my PC for over 10 years.
Never had a single virus.

Although I can't say the same for others
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-01-2017, 16:07 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

I'm using the new version of Bitdefender Free. It is extremely light and it's web protection is fantastic. Some people might not like it since it has virtually no configuration options but it works so good, it really doesn't need any. Just install it, forget it, and let it do it's job. Which it does very well. It learns how you use your computer and adapts itself to that.It also gets very frequent definition updates and they happen completely unnoticed with no impact on anything you are doing at the time.

I have to acknowledge though that Windows Defender just keeps getting better with every update of Windows 10 and actually isn't bad at all now.

Last edited by Dch48; 05-01-2017 at 16:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
cryohellinc
Master Guru
 
cryohellinc's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti SeaHawkX@2k+PG348Q
Processor: Intel i7 4770k @4.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 Mpower
Memory: Corsair DDR3 @1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR + Amp
PSU: ANTEC 1200W
Default 05-01-2017, 16:13 | posts: 582 | Location: St. Petersburg

Zooke / Agent-A01, those are great cool stories there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-01-2017, 16:13 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Not having an AV installed shows that your common sense protection has already failed it's first task
Agreed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 05-01-2017, 16:18 | posts: 9,935 | Location: Republic of Kekistan

Bitdefender free is good but has practically no configuration options.

I've been using windows defender (formerly security essentials) since 2009 with no infections. I also have emsisoft emergency kit as an on demand scanner. I also use ublock in all my browsers and a Hosts file to pre-empt infections so I don't rely on just an AV.

Last edited by lucidus; 05-01-2017 at 16:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-01-2017, 16:25 | posts: 17,538 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Incorrect.

Haven't used AV on my PC for over 10 years.
Never had a single virus.

Although I can't say the same for others
And you know this because how? Because you occasionally run some scanner to check? Or because you just know there is no infection?

So you run a scan every X length of time to ensure you don't have an infection because you failed to install an AV, and the time between scans means you could have very well been running a data stealing piece of malware the entire time, and you are fine with that?

So because you have been lucky / your scanner hasn't detected anything in 10 years, you feel an AV is a waste of time?

Stupidity and ignorance IMO, genuine sites can easily become hijacked / infect you next time you visit, and multiple other ways to become infected other than downloading random exes

Common sense & AV = best protection

Last edited by Extraordinary; 05-01-2017 at 16:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
sidi0us
Newbie
 
sidi0us's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD4000
Processor: i3-3120M
Mainboard: HP ProBook 6470b
Memory: Elpida 2x2GB DDR3
Soundcard: FiiO E10K, HD 558
PSU: HP 65W
Default 05-01-2017, 16:39 | posts: 29

I've being using Eset products for more then 10 years, never had a problem. Although I know my way around Windows and I could do just fine for like 99% of the time, is it that 1% that I'm most afraid off .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
fluidz
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit 1080ti [125/275]
Processor: I7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87 G1 Sniper
Memory: 16gb Crsr Veng Pro* 1866
Soundcard: Chord Mojo> Hifiman he500
PSU: Corsair RM 850 Gold
Default 05-02-2017, 00:45 | posts: 181 | Location: Birmingham, England

Eset Smart Security + Malwarebytes + weekly scans using Adwcleaner has done the job for me for years, can't fault them.

Also installing something at browser level such as "uBlock Origin". Stay away from any security suite that plasters its name all over Windows, as these usually slow it down.

Last edited by fluidz; 05-02-2017 at 00:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Labyrinth
Ancient Guru
 
Labyrinth's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 290 4GB
Processor: i5 6600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: Kingston 8GB DDR4 @ 2666
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair CS750M
Default 05-02-2017, 09:24 | posts: 4,281 | Location: Cheshire, England

I use Avira.

Nod32, bitdefender, avast, avg, kaspersky and a few others intercept your network traffic. Wouldn't touch them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
mmicrosysm2
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 8 MB SDRAM
Processor: Cyrix 133 MHz
Mainboard: Packard Bell
Memory: 16MB EDO
Soundcard: Sound Blaster 16
PSU: 150 Watt AT
Default 05-02-2017, 14:11 | posts: 138

Quote:
Originally Posted by Labyrinth View Post
I use Avira.

Nod32, bitdefender, avast, avg, kaspersky and a few others intercept your network traffic. Wouldn't touch them.
Most Virus/Malware come from casual surfing of the internet. So how is intercepting net traffic a bad thing?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 05-02-2017, 16:14 | posts: 9,392 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
And you know this because how? Because you occasionally run some scanner to check? Or because you just know there is no infection?

So you run a scan every X length of time to ensure you don't have an infection because you failed to install an AV, and the time between scans means you could have very well been running a data stealing piece of malware the entire time, and you are fine with that?

So because you have been lucky / your scanner hasn't detected anything in 10 years, you feel an AV is a waste of time?

Stupidity and ignorance IMO, genuine sites can easily become hijacked / infect you next time you visit, and multiple other ways to become infected other than downloading random exes

Common sense & AV = best protection
Because I have ran scans multiple times over the years before OS reinstall just to check.

It has nothing to do with luck, just common sense.

I play games and browse the forums.

uBlock origin, don't use flash or java.
The chances of being infected here is NIL.

So yes, AV is useless for me.

Is that clear enough for you?

There are plenty of power users who don't need AV.
Insulting those who don't need it is pretty low.

Just because you get viruses doesn't mean I am stupid and ignorant facepalmpicard.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-02-2017, 19:11 | posts: 1,802 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Labyrinth View Post
I use Avira.

Nod32, bitdefender, avast, avg, kaspersky and a few others intercept your network traffic. Wouldn't touch them.
The web protection is the most important part of a modern AV product. Avira doesn't have it? I wouldn't touch it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Sabbath
Maha Guru
 
Sabbath's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF3 GTX670 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K/H80i
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme 3
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16GB
Soundcard: Xonar STX /Corsair SP2500
PSU: Cooler Master 850W~66A
Lightbulb 05-02-2017, 23:48 | posts: 894 | Location: Ontario, CAN

Look into this, i use it, it dose it's job and has real time protection Zemana AntiMalware https://www.zemana.com/AntiMalware
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Realtek....
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 05-13-2017, 03:07 | posts: 19,858 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabbath View Post
Look into this, i use it, it dose it's job and has real time protection Zemana AntiMalware https://www.zemana.com/AntiMalware
Also appears to have no reviews what so ever....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Clawedge
Maha Guru
 
Clawedge's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD 4600
Processor: Intel 4790s
Mainboard: MSI H81M-PRO-VH
Memory: 16GB HyperX
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Silverstone SFX ST45SF
Talking 05-14-2017, 01:21 | posts: 1,897 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Not having an AV installed shows that your common sense protection has already failed it's first task
You...you i like
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
akbaar
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700k @4.6
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VIII IMPACT
Memory: 32gb G.SKILL 3200 CL14 1T
Soundcard: SupremeFX Impact III
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 05-15-2017, 04:29 | posts: 217 | Location: Middle East Region

i dont use any Anti-Virus apps software or whatever its called. i dont have any protection am using windows protection thingy duno whats it called too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-15-2017, 04:35 | posts: 7,335 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Because I have ran scans multiple times over the years before OS reinstall just to check.

It has nothing to do with luck, just common sense.

I play games and browse the forums.

uBlock origin, don't use flash or java.
The chances of being infected here is NIL.

So yes, AV is useless for me.

Is that clear enough for you?

There are plenty of power users who don't need AV.
Insulting those who don't need it is pretty low.

Just because you get viruses doesn't mean I am stupid and ignorant facepalmpicard.jpg
Key word power users, People that know wth they doing and how to fix it if goes to ****, Majority people dont fall in to catagory Nor does using plain old common sense always cut it.

For MAJORITY of people this is asinine suggestion which is more of understatement. I also think the whole industry sayin AV programs do nothing and people should stop using are being paid to say this, cause it would make things so much easier for governments get into peoples systems

Anyway I still use Avast Free,
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.