Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Review: Sapphire Radeon RX 570 Nitro+ 4GB
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Review: Sapphire Radeon RX 570 Nitro+ 4GB - 04-18-2017, 13:56 | posts: 28,934 | Location: Guru3D testlab

This review covers the Sapphire Radeon RX 570 Nitro+ graphics card. This Nitro+ edition has a massive cooling block slapped on top of it. And while the GPU is similar to that of the Radeon RX 470, a h...

Review: Sapphire Radeon RX 570 Nitro+ 4GB
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BigMaMaInHouse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: RX 470 NITRO+
Processor: I7 860@4.0Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: G.skill 4X4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 04-18-2017, 15:58 | posts: 56

Dear Hilbert,
Can you please share the bios file? I got the Nitro+ 4GB 470 and would like to test If I can flash it later ;-).
Thanks in Advance!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Silva
Master Guru
 
Silva's Avatar
 
Videocard: IGP
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 4x4096Mb
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500
PSU: Nox Urano VX 650W
Default 04-18-2017, 17:32 | posts: 259 | Location: Portugal

You wanna brick your card?
They are Polaris based but the fabrication process is slightly different.
Just overclock your card and live with it, a BIOS flash will probably kill your card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 1070 SC
Processor: 2600k@4.8 w/ NH-D15S
Mainboard: P8Z77-V
Memory: G-Skills ddr3 16GB@1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: TX850
Default 04-18-2017, 17:34 | posts: 8,150 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silva View Post
You wanna brick your card?
They are Polaris based but the fabrication process is slightly different.
Just overclock your card and live with it, a BIOS flash will probably kill your card.
So was 7970 to 280x yet they would flash.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
BigMaMaInHouse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: RX 470 NITRO+
Processor: I7 860@4.0Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: G.skill 4X4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 04-18-2017, 17:49 | posts: 56

+ we got 2 bios's,
I did same with 7790->260X
R7 360->260X to run then on Crossfire ;-).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 04-18-2017, 18:06 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
So was 7970 to 280x yet they would flash.
I would probably try it just like i did with Tahiti.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Silva
Master Guru
 
Silva's Avatar
 
Videocard: IGP
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 4x4096Mb
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500
PSU: Nox Urano VX 650W
Default 04-18-2017, 18:22 | posts: 259 | Location: Portugal

I wish you guys good luck then.
Just remember: if you brick it, it's your own fault!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-18-2017, 18:23 | posts: 28,934 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Sure,

Let me know the results as I like to learn myself if that works. And indeed, he has a BIOS switch and can easily fall back to a BIOS restore:

http://download-eu2.guru3d.com/images/Ellesmere.zip


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 1070 SC
Processor: 2600k@4.8 w/ NH-D15S
Mainboard: P8Z77-V
Memory: G-Skills ddr3 16GB@1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: TX850
Default 04-18-2017, 18:49 | posts: 8,150 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
I would probably try it just like i did with Tahiti.
I doubt any increase in core performance would be had but they may get more refined memory timings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Silva
Master Guru
 
Silva's Avatar
 
Videocard: IGP
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 4x4096Mb
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500
PSU: Nox Urano VX 650W
Default 04-18-2017, 19:08 | posts: 259 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Sure,

Let me know the results as I like to learn myself if that works. And indeed, he has a BIOS switch and can easily fall back to a BIOS restore:

http://download-eu2.guru3d.com/images/Ellesmere.zip
With a way to restore even I am curious to see if it would make any difference.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Quicks
Master Guru
 
Quicks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Red Devil RX 470 / 4GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67
Memory: GSkill 2x4 8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: SB Xtremegamer
PSU: APFC 700W HUNTKEY
Default 04-18-2017, 19:16 | posts: 500 | Location: South Africa

Well if it works, then I will give the red devil 470 --> 570 flash a go as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
BigMaMaInHouse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: RX 470 NITRO+
Processor: I7 860@4.0Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: G.skill 4X4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 04-18-2017, 21:40 | posts: 56

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Sure,

Let me know the results as I like to learn myself if that works. And indeed, he has a BIOS switch and can easily fall back to a BIOS restore:

http://download-eu2.guru3d.com/images/Ellesmere.zip
Thank you for Upgrading My RX470 Nitro+ 4GB -> RX570 Nitro+ 4GB! :-)
I had to use atiflash -p 0 Bios.rom -f to force the flash ;-).
https://s15.postimg.org/l84tt8nc9/Ni...into_RX570.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Silva
Master Guru
 
Silva's Avatar
 
Videocard: IGP
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 4x4096Mb
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500
PSU: Nox Urano VX 650W
Default 04-18-2017, 21:50 | posts: 259 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMaMaInHouse View Post
Thank you for Upgrading My RX470 Nitro+ 4GB -> RX570 Nitro+ 4GB! :-)
I had to use atiflash -p 0 Bios.rom -f to force the flash ;-).
https://s15.postimg.org/l84tt8nc9/Ni...into_RX570.jpg
What is the difference in performance?
Benchmark that bitch!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BigMaMaInHouse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: RX 470 NITRO+
Processor: I7 860@4.0Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: G.skill 4X4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 04-18-2017, 22:11 | posts: 56

I don't know, I do no have old benches.
I run this new bench, It's onlly showes on hulf of my screen(seems no support 4 2X DP 5K monitor).
I think my useless i3 6100 is to blame for the lower score.

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-19-2017, 05:50 | posts: 28,934 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Very interesting to observe,

The CPU can make that score a bit different yes, especially compared with a Core i3. Try Time Spy and check the GPU score, it should be a notch closer.

But you are going to need to monitor your GPU temps. I see that you are hitting a max 82 degrees C, makes sense as GPUs require more volts. I'd advise you to increase fan RPM notch to compensate or create a fan delta with MSI AfterBurner.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
MrFerret
Newbie
 
MrFerret's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX1080Ti FE 11GB
Processor: i5-6600K @ 4.2GHz 1.15V
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming Aura
Memory: TridentZ RGB 2X8GB @3000
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650x
Default 04-19-2017, 06:05 | posts: 5

I haven't tried the Superposition Benchmark on my 1st PC yet. From all the reviews, regarding RX580 it is still a close competitor to the GTX 1060 6GB. I hope Vega will at lease same level as the GTX 1080.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
BigMaMaInHouse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: RX 470 NITRO+
Processor: I7 860@4.0Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: G.skill 4X4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 04-19-2017, 06:17 | posts: 56

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Very interesting to observe,

The CPU can make that score a bit different yes, especially compared with a Core i3. Try Time Spy and check the GPU score, it should be a notch closer.

But you are going to need to monitor your GPU temps. I see that you are hitting a max 82 degrees C, makes sense as GPUs require more volts. I'd advise you to increase fan RPM notch to compensate or create a fan delta with MSI AfterBurner.
you are right, on FAN AUTO temps got high as 85 and the core frequency started jumping +-100 Mhz, forcing high FAN speed got it fixed.
If you compare the RX 470 Nitro with this RX 570 you will see that now RX 570 can hit higher Frequencies from same Voltage table.

Edit: here the Time Spy score:
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/19377822

Last edited by BigMaMaInHouse; 04-19-2017 at 07:15.
   
Reply With Quote
ASUS 470 ROG STRIX bios
Old
  (#18)
The Average
Newbie
 
Videocard: RX470/4GB
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Memory: DDR4 / 16GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Tagan 750W
Default ASUS 470 ROG STRIX bios - 04-19-2017, 07:20 | posts: 18 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Sure,

Let me know the results as I like to learn myself if that works. And indeed, he has a BIOS switch and can easily fall back to a BIOS restore:


Is that bios applicable to all 470 cards? Specifically the asus rog strix oc 470 4GB?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-19-2017, 07:55 | posts: 28,934 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Average View Post
Is that bios applicable to all 470 cards? Specifically the asus rog strix oc 470 4GB?
No you cannot go cross-brand with these BIOS files. That is ill-advised.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Silva
Master Guru
 
Silva's Avatar
 
Videocard: IGP
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 4x4096Mb
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500
PSU: Nox Urano VX 650W
Default 04-19-2017, 11:05 | posts: 259 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMaMaInHouse View Post
I don't know, I do no have old benches.
I run this new bench, It's onlly showes on hulf of my screen(seems no support 4 2X DP 5K monitor).
I think my useless i3 6100 is to blame for the lower score.
 Click to show spoiler


As I expected: you're slightly ahead of original 470 but still far away from the actual 570. You just overclocked the card and that means more volts, power consumption, more heat and shorter lifespan.

The benchmark is very GPU bound and your GPU is at 100% utilization, I doubt the CPU has any influence.

If you want to leave the card like that my advice is as HH said: make a custom fan profile with Afterburner. Also, I would set target max temp to 75șC just to be on the safe side.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BigMaMaInHouse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: RX 470 NITRO+
Processor: I7 860@4.0Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: G.skill 4X4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 04-19-2017, 11:20 | posts: 56

check my Time spy score- it's same as RX 570, same FPS.
I am very curious if partners actually used real RX 5X0 chips and not old stock RX 4X0 chips until enough refined Polaris chips available from Fabs, because the performance/watt looks exactly like old Polaris.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-19-2017, 11:36 | posts: 28,934 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Yeah it's working alright, your Time Spy GPU score is pretty spot on.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 04-19-2017, 11:39 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
No you cannot go cross-brand with these BIOS files. That is ill-advised.
Why not? I have XFX bios on my Sapphire card right now. I just made clear it was using the same memory but with Tahiti there was a tool for that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-19-2017, 12:10 | posts: 28,934 | Location: Guru3D testlab

You had the knowledge and insight to verify that all components are the same, but merely one thing needs to be off and flashing a brand A card with a brand B BIOS is tricky. For reference cards I'd say it is not an issue.

However going from Sapphire to the ASUS boards which are extremely customized and tweaked specifically. Again I cannot advise people trying to do it. What if your customized card uses a different type voltage regulator? Hence ill-advised.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
KissSh0t
Ancient Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX 470 Strix Gaming
Processor: AMD FX 8320
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 04-19-2017, 12:14 | posts: 4,966 | Location: 0.0.0.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Average View Post
Is that bios applicable to all 470 cards? Specifically the asus rog strix oc 470 4GB?
I would not do that if I were you, the Asus Strix is a custom board.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.