Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
381.65 2x 1080TI + LG B6 HDR 4k TV = Windows 10 Freeze
Old
  (#1)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: ZXR + Astro A50s + Sen650
PSU: 8Pack SuperFlower 2000w
Default 381.65 2x 1080TI + LG B6 HDR 4k TV = Windows 10 Freeze - 04-09-2017, 02:58 | posts: 1,456 | Location: Uk

Can someone explain why windows freezes everytime i plug the HDMI cable into my card then turn on my tv and the display will go black on my main monitor then go black on the tv then the tv will popup HDR with picture then vanish again and my main monitor will black out and come back, its like its not getting a proper signal and cause of this causes my windows 10 to freeze everytime

its so annoying i cant even use my TV with my PC like i did with my 980TI cards .....

what could the cause be..... anyone have 1080TI`s and LG`s B6 OLED TV`s lol

Last edited by Plug2k; 04-09-2017 at 03:03.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Dagda
Member Guru
 
Dagda's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080ti FE SLI
Processor: Ryzen r7 1800x
Mainboard: MSI X370 Krait Gaming
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1000w
Default 04-09-2017, 03:13 | posts: 75

i still have my acer predator x34, not gonna change for a while, maybe the hdr thing in sli is broke since creator update broke some color settings too, just conjeture, don't know really, but i havent expereinced any problems yet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Archvile82
Newbie
 
Videocard: Msi 1070 gtx gaming x
Processor: 4790k @ 4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 pro gamer
Memory: Corsair V 32 gig @ 2400
Soundcard: HT Omega Halo Claro
PSU: Seasonic 860w platinum
Default 04-09-2017, 06:37 | posts: 2 | Location: United Kingdom

Hi mate, you need to disable the HDMI audio in the nvcp. I have the same TV and the screen would constantly flash from desktop to a black screen until I disabled the audio.
I would actually roll back the driver for now as the HDR detection is currently broke (if your using windows 10 1703).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: ZXR + Astro A50s + Sen650
PSU: 8Pack SuperFlower 2000w
Default 04-09-2017, 16:35 | posts: 1,456 | Location: Uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archvile82 View Post
Hi mate, you need to disable the HDMI audio in the nvcp. I have the same TV and the screen would constantly flash from desktop to a black screen until I disabled the audio.
I would actually roll back the driver for now as the HDR detection is currently broke (if your using windows 10 1703).
Sweet thank god it was a bug then lol

EDIT: ok i take it back ... i cant even disable the audio as the screen goes black then i get a GPU _TDR_FAILURE BSOD in windows 10....

happens all the time when i plug in the hdmi cable and turn the tv on its like normal black screen then picture should pop up but stays black and repeats about 4 times then bsod....

bloody annoying this like and yes im running windows 10 1703 latest build...

Last edited by Plug2k; 04-09-2017 at 16:45.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 04-10-2017, 02:03 | posts: 1,202 | Location: ISRAEL

Why everyone is using the windows 10 1703 creators ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Blackfyre
Maha Guru
 
Blackfyre's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Processor: 4790K @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.280v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming GT
Memory: 16Gb @2400Mhz 11-13-13-30
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z + AD900X
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G2
Default 04-10-2017, 02:18 | posts: 927 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by X7007 View Post
Why everyone is using the windows 10 1703 creators ??
Because it's rolling out now and everyone is updating to it. Basically back in the day we used to have Service Pack 1, Service Pack 2, etc. Now we have Anniversary Update (RS1), Creators Update (RS2), etc.

Always best to keep your Windows up to date. But if you don't want to face any of these issues, hold back for a couple of weeks while they get fixed. However updating and finding out what issues you might have, can get them fixed faster if they're reported.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 04-10-2017, 12:06 | posts: 1,655

More like couple of months.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Moore2877
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Amp!
Processor: Intel 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: 1000W Rocketfish
Default 04-10-2017, 15:51 | posts: 24 | Location: PA, USA

This TV flickering you speak of happens with my 1080 Amp as well and it's been happening since RS1. For me anything over 1080p on my LG 4k with full RGB enabled causes flickering, desktop and in game.

To stop the flickering I need to power cycle the TV for 6 to 8 seconds, I'll hear the windows device disconnect sound, any less than that and it'll just keep flickering after powering the TV back up. The freeze issue only happens every few days. Just pressing the power button once to let Windows shutdown and then power cycling after it's shutdown fixes it for me temporarily. To be fair this also used to happen when I would downsample/VSR/DSR with my AMD 290x from 1440p on Windows 8.1 and early builds of Win 10 when I still used the card.


I keep checking the forums for a fix but nothing has gotten fixed. Switching HDR off and setting the color range to limited stops all flickering and freezing in any resolution. I assume this is still an issue because not many PC gamers game on a TV and this is not an issue with true 60hz 4k monitors as far as I can tell but I do not own a monitor over 1080p so I cannot test this.

I deal with the power cycling because HDR/Full RGB/Deep Color and 4K are totally worth the trouble.

Last edited by Moore2877; 04-10-2017 at 16:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: ZXR + Astro A50s + Sen650
PSU: 8Pack SuperFlower 2000w
Default 04-10-2017, 19:02 | posts: 1,456 | Location: Uk

Think you guys are getting confused as to what is my issue.....

I will try to make it a little more clear:

The problem is when i power on the tv, i hear the windows device connect sound, then i sometimes or sometimes not get a pciture but at the same time causes awfull stuttering from my system, and the mouse judders then freezes then judders and freezes at the same time im stuck in a windows device connected and reconnected loop until i get a BSOD VIDEO_TDR error..... from windows 10......

hope that makes it more clear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
VincentHanna
Newbie
 
Videocard: Titan X
Processor: 5930k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Superflower
Default 04-10-2017, 19:07 | posts: 33

I'm getting the same freeze with my Titan X (Maxwell) SLI + OLED B6

Nvidia now defaults the settings to 12bit YCbCr 422 which looks rank awful. I managed to change it all back to 8bit Full RGB but then I couldn't get Shadow Warrior 2 to work with HDR enabled.

Now i'm getting a lot of BSOD with: video tdr failure nvlddmkm.sys problems.

I'm going to try completely disconnecting my X34a primary desktop monitor to see if that cures it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
janos666
Master Guru
 
janos666's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1070 SH EK X 8Gb
Processor: Intel i5-2500K @ 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock EZ68 E3G3
Memory: GSkill 2x8Gb 2133Mhz CL10
Soundcard: Denon 2809 + Focal Chorus
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-11-2017, 01:52 | posts: 487 | Location: Hungary

Quote:
Originally Posted by VincentHanna View Post
I'm getting the same freeze with my Titan X (Maxwell) SLI + OLED B6

Nvidia now defaults the settings to 12bit YCbCr 422 which looks rank awful. I managed to change it all back to 8bit Full RGB but then I couldn't get Shadow Warrior 2 to work with HDR enabled.
Well, that is a limitation of HDMI 2.0, you can't have it all at once but only:

4k@60Hz@4:4:4@8bit
4k@60Hz@4:2:2@10bit
4k@30Hz@4:4:4@10bit
2k@60Hz@4:4:4@10bit

You need DP1.4+HBM3 or HDMI 2.1 (neither is available on TVs yet) for 4k@60Hz@4:4:4@10bit (and even DP1.4 can't do 4k@120Hz@4:4:4@10bit or 4k@60Hz@4:4:4@12bit without lossy on-link compression, though I am not sure about the latter in practice).

(Note that 12bit is usually available as well in most of the cases listed above with 10bit but not when it's marked with 8bit top: you either run out of bandwidth before reaching 10bit or you cut your bandwidth down a lot with the other parameters, so when you make room for 10 bit, 12 bit will usually fit too. However, that doesn't matter so much since most HDR material is 10bit now and you probably care a lot more about 60 vs 30 Hz and/or 4:4:4 vs 4:2:2 than you would care about 10 vs 12 bit anyway...)

Although... since most VGA cards will have a really hard time producing stable >30fps in modern games in 4k HDR mode, the 30Hz display mode might be considered as a viable compromise. (I personally hate it but most people never get more on game consoles and they don't even complain.)

Last edited by janos666; 04-11-2017 at 02:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
VincentHanna
Newbie
 
Videocard: Titan X
Processor: 5930k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Superflower
Default 04-11-2017, 07:42 | posts: 33

I'm well aware of the limitations of HDMI 2.0

The big point is that prior to these drivers, I had no issues with my B6 OLED. There was no driver crashes with the TV connected, It looked great, Shadow Warrior 2 ran fine with HDR etc

Now I have to physically disconnect the HDMI cable just to get past the windows 10 login screen.

There is an issue here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 04-20-2017, 18:02 | posts: 576 | Location: Minnesota

Even though they use an Xbox One S (locked-down Windows 10 PC) as an example, this should apply to PC use as well.

how-to-get-hdr10-enabled-on-the-lg-b6-oled-4k-hdr-smart-tv-oled65b6p-and-work-with-the-xbox-one-s


But what Janos666 said is pretty much truth. 4k@60hz 4:4:4 Full RGB (without HDR) is 17.82gbps out of the 18gbps HDMI 2.0 provides and LG TV's allow this by enabling 'Ultra HD deep color' in the 'general' section of the menu.

If you have audio enabled over the same link, it will flicker due to lack of bandwidth, which disabling it is the trade-off for using 4k@60hz 4:4:4 Full RGB.

This is why I won't buy a 4k TV till HDMI 2.1 is out, since I prefer using an HDMI audio receiver with my PC. Everyone jumped on the HDR bandwagon too soon.

Last edited by Mda400; 04-20-2017 at 18:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
RandomDriverDev
Banned
 
Videocard: 1080 / 8GB and 1060 / 6GB
Processor: Xeon
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic
Default 04-21-2017, 01:57 | posts: 111

Quote:
But what Janos666 said is pretty much truth. 4k@60hz 4:4:4 Full RGB (without HDR) is 17.82gbps out of the 18gbps HDMI 2.0 provides and LG TV's allow this by enabling 'Ultra HD deep color' in the 'general' section of the menu.
Where did you read this? it is incorrect.

full rgb at 4k 60 is 25-27Gb/s

UHD is 4:2:0, with optional 10bit / HDR.


LG TV's use color compression, it's a hack and it adds to panel lag.

Last edited by RandomDriverDev; 04-21-2017 at 02:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Martigen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3970X @ 4.5
Mainboard: Rampage IV Formula
Memory: 16GB Dominator Plat
Soundcard: Auzentech X-FI HTHD
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000
Default 04-21-2017, 12:58 | posts: 159 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mda400 View Post
Even though they use an Xbox One S (locked-down Windows 10 PC) as an example, this should apply to PC use as well.

how-to-get-hdr10-enabled-on-the-lg-b6-oled-4k-hdr-smart-tv-oled65b6p-and-work-with-the-xbox-one-s


But what Janos666 said is pretty much truth. 4k@60hz 4:4:4 Full RGB (without HDR) is 17.82gbps out of the 18gbps HDMI 2.0 provides and LG TV's allow this by enabling 'Ultra HD deep color' in the 'general' section of the menu.

If you have audio enabled over the same link, it will flicker due to lack of bandwidth, which disabling it is the trade-off for using 4k@60hz 4:4:4 Full RGB.
I just set this up with a B6 and can confirm I had strange 'snow' on my screen until I disabled audio to the TV.

I also use HDMI for audio out to a receiver -- from an Auzentech HTHD -- however you can also simply use another HDMI port on your NV card to your receiver for audio. Alternatively, you can use a DP to HDMI from the card for video and the HDMI port for audio.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Moore2877
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Amp!
Processor: Intel 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: 1000W Rocketfish
Default 04-21-2017, 18:35 | posts: 24 | Location: PA, USA

I get the snow effect as well if the TV isn't flickering already at 4k full rgb. I have not tried disabling hdmi audio though. If I bought a displayport to hdmi adapter would this issue go away?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 04-21-2017, 18:57 | posts: 576 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomDriverDev View Post
Where did you read this? it is incorrect.

full rgb at 4k 60 is 25-27Gb/s

UHD is 4:2:0, with optional 10bit / HDR.


LG TV's use color compression, it's a hack and it adds to panel lag.




   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 04-21-2017, 19:00 | posts: 576 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moore2877 View Post
I get the snow effect as well if the TV isn't flickering already at 4k full rgb. I have not tried disabling hdmi audio though. If I bought a displayport to hdmi adapter would this issue go away?
It might be the quality of your HDMI cable if it persists when you disable the audio. An adapter wouldn't solve it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martigen View Post
I just set this up with a B6 and can confirm I had strange 'snow' on my screen until I disabled audio to the TV.

I also use HDMI for audio out to a receiver -- from an Auzentech HTHD -- however you can also simply use another HDMI port on your NV card to your receiver for audio. Alternatively, you can use a DP to HDMI from the card for video and the HDMI port for audio.
I did that for a bit when we were remodeling my parent's basement and they bought a new LG 55UH6150 4k TV (which of course I played around with... ).

But what I don't like is having the video card running two different-sized viewports (my current receiver only passes up to 1080p. So going to replace that too when I get a 4k HDMI 2.1 TV) when gaming as it messes with things like v-sync and UI sizing.

Last edited by Mda400; 04-21-2017 at 19:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Moore2877
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Amp!
Processor: Intel 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: 1000W Rocketfish
Default 04-21-2017, 20:24 | posts: 24 | Location: PA, USA

Just got home from work and I can confirm disabling hdmi audio through the nvidia control panel has cleared up the snowy signal and desktop flashing when running 4k 60hz full rgb. It must be a bandwidth issue. Luckily for me I use another audio source other than hdmi so this works for the time being.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
janos666
Master Guru
 
janos666's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1070 SH EK X 8Gb
Processor: Intel i5-2500K @ 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock EZ68 E3G3
Memory: GSkill 2x8Gb 2133Mhz CL10
Soundcard: Denon 2809 + Focal Chorus
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-22-2017, 23:17 | posts: 487 | Location: Hungary

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mda400 View Post
This is why I won't buy a 4k TV till HDMI 2.1 is out, since I prefer using an HDMI audio receiver with my PC. Everyone jumped on the HDR bandwagon too soon.
I think the lack of 4k@60Hz@4:4:4@10-bit is reason enough to skip all displays limited by HDMI 2.0
I would also prefer 12-bit for Rec2020 with HDR because those "precious bits" now cover a lot bigger gamut (both in terms of chroma and luma), hence 10-bit is not an improvement at all but a pure necessity (banding could be way too obvious at 8-bit in certain content), you need 12-bit to really improve on the perceived gradation precision (compared to the "retro gold standard" 8-bit which should have been replaced by 10-bit in the FullHD era...).

Last edited by janos666; 04-22-2017 at 23:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 04-22-2017, 23:25 | posts: 1,655

Quote:
Originally Posted by janos666 View Post
I think the lack of 4k@60Hz@4:4:4@10-bit is reason enough to skip all displays limited by HDMI 2.0
I would also prefer 12-bit for Rec2020 with HDR because those "precious bits" now cover a lot bigger gamut (both in terms of chroma and luma), hence 10-bit is not an improvement at all but a pure necessity (banding could be way too obvious at 8-bit in certain content), you need 12-bit to really improve on the perceived gradation precision (compared to the "retro gold standard" 8-bit which should have been replaced by 10-bit in the FullHD era...).
Most panels are 8 bit though, only some are actually 10 and there's zero 12 bits panels out there so you have to take this into consideration. What you see isn't exactly what the data in the memory contains.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
tress
Newbie
 
Videocard: 1080/8gb
Processor: i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: superflower
Default 05-05-2017, 10:56 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moore2877 View Post
Just got home from work and I can confirm disabling hdmi audio through the nvidia control panel has cleared up the snowy signal and desktop flashing when running 4k 60hz full rgb. It must be a bandwidth issue. Luckily for me I use another audio source other than hdmi so this works for the time being.
So in a nut shell, is it possible to get 4 4 4 through this tv when coupled to a pc? ( ie good looking text) any opinions welcomed!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Moore2877
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Amp!
Processor: Intel 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: 1000W Rocketfish
Default 05-05-2017, 16:01 | posts: 24 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tress View Post
So in a nut shell, is it possible to get 4 4 4 through this tv when coupled to a pc? ( ie good looking text) any opinions welcomed!
It has been working great for me. The key is to disable hdmi audio through the nvidia control panel. Even if you're not using hdmi audio and have it disabled in windows it seems to still send a signal if its not disabled in the nvidia control panel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
tress
Newbie
 
Videocard: 1080/8gb
Processor: i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: superflower
Default 05-05-2017, 16:27 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moore2877 View Post
It has been working great for me. The key is to disable hdmi audio through the nvidia control panel. Even if you're not using hdmi audio and have it disabled in windows it seems to still send a signal if its not disabled in the nvidia control panel.
cheers! i need to do some more reading to fully understand these issues. but you can read text clearly as one might on a normal 4k monitor when doing work stuff?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Moore2877
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Amp!
Processor: Intel 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: 1000W Rocketfish
Default 05-05-2017, 16:54 | posts: 24 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tress View Post
cheers! i need to do some more reading to fully understand these issues. but you can read text clearly as one might on a normal 4k monitor when doing work stuff?
4k has definitely made a difference in the living room as far as text reading, 4 4 4 or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.