Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Help running 2 cards.
Old
  (#1)
Aldrongorph
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 290x 4gb
Processor: Intel I5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000w
Default Help running 2 cards. - 03-21-2017, 04:05 | posts: 3

So I just had this working the other night, but I needed to do a format and now I am on a fresh install of windows 7.

I have an r9-290x and an HD5830. I was using the r9 for my main monitor, and using the hd5830 for my side monitors just for multitasking...
I've tried manually installing the drivers, tried the DDU method, you name it. No matter what I do, i either blue screen and stuck in boot loop for 0x3b, or end up with the driver for the HD5830 on both cards.

Is there a way I can make the R9 driver (latest) work with my HD5830?

This has been quite frustrating.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga Gtx 780 Acx Sc @1165
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 03-21-2017, 04:11 | posts: 1,559 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Why not just plug all your monitors into the 1st card (R9 290x) ? If I may ask what is the 2nd card for? You cant use crossfire unless they video cards are the same model + the 290x is like 10 times faster then the 5830, All you are doing is burning electric for no reason lol/.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Aldrongorph
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 290x 4gb
Processor: Intel I5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000w
Default 03-21-2017, 05:01 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by nz3777 View Post
Why not just plug all your monitors into the 1st card (R9 290x) ? If I may ask what is the 2nd card for? You cant use crossfire unless they video cards are the same model + the 290x is like 10 times faster then the 5830, All you are doing is burning electric for no reason lol/.
The reason I have the h830 is so I can plug the 2 monitors in it and use the R9 for my main monitor. The card wont have such high of a load running just one monitor with a game, compared to 3 altogether. I dont intend to crossfire. You know?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 03-21-2017, 08:07 | posts: 645 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by nz3777 View Post
Why not just plug all your monitors into the 1st card (R9 290x) ? If I may ask what is the 2nd card for? You cant use crossfire unless they video cards are the same model + the 290x is like 10 times faster then the 5830, All you are doing is burning electric for no reason lol/.
if he plugs the more than 1 card in the 290x it will run at full mem clocks all the time, I think this is what the OP is referring to

@OP) apart from trying older drivers I doubt there is much you can do as support for 58xx series is now ended
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Aldrongorph
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 290x 4gb
Processor: Intel I5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000w
Default 03-21-2017, 10:07 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passus View Post
if he plugs the more than 1 card in the 290x it will run at full mem clocks all the time, I think this is what the OP is referring to

@OP) apart from trying older drivers I doubt there is much you can do as support for 58xx series is now ended
More than 1 monitor*, yeah. I have 3 and am trying to use a dedicated card(290x) for my one monitor being used for the game so it will run more efficiently.

Yeah that's what I thought as well, but at one point a few days ago I had the 290x installed and was using just that for months. I then added the 5830 and installed the driver manually (I believe it was 15.x or 14.x) through device manager and it didn't automatically update the good card's drivers.
I just noticed a thread on here that someone modified a driver that let him have a larger list of supported cards. I was wondering if that is at all possible with the new Relive driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 03-21-2017, 10:32 | posts: 645 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldrongorph View Post
More than 1 monitor*, yeah. I have 3 and am trying to use a dedicated card(290x) for my one monitor being used for the game so it will run more efficiently.

Yeah that's what I thought as well, but at one point a few days ago I had the 290x installed and was using just that for months. I then added the 5830 and installed the driver manually (I believe it was 15.x or 14.x) through device manager and it didn't automatically update the good card's drivers.
I just noticed a thread on here that someone modified a driver that let him have a larger list of supported cards. I was wondering if that is at all possible with the new Relive driver.
Yeah early no coffee typo, I do it all the time lol, any way it is possible to mod cards id's into drivers install so it is recognised but I am unsure on the relive drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga Gtx 780 Acx Sc @1165
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 03-21-2017, 15:23 | posts: 1,559 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldrongorph View Post
The reason I have the h830 is so I can plug the 2 monitors in it and use the R9 for my main monitor. The card wont have such high of a load running just one monitor with a game, compared to 3 altogether. I dont intend to crossfire. You know?
Gotcha, I think you will need to use Legacy drivers for the 5000 seires not sure, My last Radeon was 6000 series lol. Good luck with this hope you find a fix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
mtrai
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor RX 480 Red Dev
Processor: Skylake I5 6600K
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaw V 2x8 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: evga supernova 1050 gs
Default 03-21-2017, 18:22 | posts: 748 | Location: Panama City Beach, FL, USA

I use a similar set up but and I have found installing drivers can be wonky at times. RX 480 and HD 7770 for the same reason to drive my other monitors.

Anyhow sometimes would get black or blue screens and sometimes boot loop.

WHat I found that works for me, is a bit of pain but I just deal with it. Is to physically remove the HD 7770, install the drivers for the RX 480 and then put the HD 7770 back in. Don't know why but just unplugging the power to the HD 7770 is not enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
MaCk0y
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390 8GB
Processor: i5 4690K 4.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: GSKILL Trident X 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 03-21-2017, 20:44 | posts: 72

Why don't you connect the two other monitors to your CPU? That's what I do for my second monitor so not to constantly run full memory speed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-23-2017, 13:56 | posts: 4,256 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldrongorph View Post
The reason I have the h830 is so I can plug the 2 monitors in it and use the R9 for my main monitor. The card wont have such high of a load running just one monitor with a game, compared to 3 altogether. I dont intend to crossfire. You know?
Having 2 monitors on the HD5830 means that that card will be running higher clocks than idle all the time, drawing power, whether you're gaming on the 290X or not.

If you have the 3 monitors on the 290X, however, it will be running higher clocks than idle, drawing power, but during gaming, it will be drawing around the same power and giving roughly the same gaming performance, if not identical.

So, while not gaming, you'd be drawing the same or more power when using the HD5830 for 2 monitors. While gaming, you'll definitely be drawing more power. That's in addition to having your PCI-E lanes split (not that it will have any real effect) and, more importantly, more heat trapped in your chassis due to obstruction and heat release by the 5830.

The 5830 has performance slightly behind the GTX470. The 290X is more than 3 times faster. You're not going to be robbing the 290X of anything by not using the 5830.

Furthermore, the 5830 is EoL, so I'm not sure newer drivers would play well with it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.