Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 10 Build 15063 (RTM)
Old
  (#1)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default Windows 10 Build 15063 (RTM) - 03-21-2017, 02:05 | posts: 17,237 | Location: 127.0.0.1



Other changes, improvements, and fixes for PC

  • We fixed a reliability issue from Build 15061 resulting in Microsoft Edge hanging and becoming completely unresponsive.
  • We fixed an issue for Insiders where the localized files and registry keys associated with any additional language packs on the system would not be installed after enabling .NET Framework 3.5.




Known issues for PC

  • The upgrade path from the Windows 10 Anniversary Update (Build 14393) to this Windows 10 Creators Update build is not yet live and will be live tomorrow morning.
  • You will be unable to download new (additional) language packs on this build. Currently installed language packs will not be impacted. These will go live later this week.
  • If your PC fails to install this build on reboot with the error 8024a112, reboot manually again. If your PC appears to hang during the reboot, power your PC off and back on and the install will proceed.
  • Some Insiders have reported seeing this error “Some updates were cancelled. We’ll keep trying in case new updates become available” in Windows Update. If you encounter it, please try deleting the following registry key:
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\WindowsUpdate\Auto Update\RequestedAppCategories\8b24b027-1dee-babb-9a95-3517dfb9c552
  • See this forum post for more details.
  • Some apps and games may crash due to a misconfiguration of advertising ID that happened in a prior build. Specifically, this issue affects new user accounts that were created on Build 15031. The misconfiguration can continue to persist after upgrading to later builds. The ACL on the registry key incorrectly denies access to the user and you can delete the following registry key to get out of this state:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Adv ertisingInfo
  • There is a bug where if you need to restart your PC due to a pending update like with the latest Surface firmware updates, the restart reminder dialog doesn’t pop up. You should check Settings > Update & security > Windows Update to see if a restart is required.
  • [GAMING] Certain hardware configurations may cause the broadcast live review window in the Game bar to flash Green while you are Broadcasting. This does not affect the quality of your broadcast and is only visible to the Broadcaster.


Source:
http://blogs.windows.com/windowsexpe...063-pc-mobile/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
dsbig
Ancient Guru
 
dsbig's Avatar
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE NITRO 390x
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 32gb 1866mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 03-21-2017, 02:08 | posts: 3,813 | Location: florida



my job called me 3 times come into work.....nope
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-21-2017, 02:10 | posts: 17,237 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Could just make an ISO from this and upgrade manually, but tomorrow morning isn't a bad length of time to wait

We weren't expecting it until April for GA
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 03-21-2017, 03:15 | posts: 6,295 | Location: Australia

Interesting when it's downloading it's still called:
Quote:
Windows 10 Insider Preview 15063 (rs2_release)
when downloading in the Windows Update page.

I guess that's because of the upgrade path used. I wonder how long it will take before we start seeing RS3 previews?

Last edited by thatguy91; 03-21-2017 at 03:17.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-21-2017, 08:36 | posts: 9,740 | Location: Dobuy

I'm surprised they're shipping this but whatever,
Quote:
There is a bug where if you need to restart your PC due to a pending update like with the latest Surface firmware updates, the restart reminder dialog doesn’t pop up. You should check Settings > Update & security > Windows Update to see if a restart is required.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-21-2017, 09:18 | posts: 17,237 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
I'm surprised they're shipping this but whatever,
I'm surprised (or not) that the same bugs have been listed for the past 3~ builds, same registry bug exists, but could be that is fixed in RTM and only affects machines upgrading from Insiders builds

You'd expect to see bugs from 3 builds ago being almost gone for RTM
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-21-2017, 09:20 | posts: 9,740 | Location: Dobuy

Yeah you'd think they would run some kind of script after an affected PC is detected in WU. *shrugs*
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 03-21-2017, 09:22 | posts: 12,977 | Location: Sweden

Same, though the Threshold and previous Redstone builds also had some remaining issues in their final / RTM build which were then patched out over the next couple of months via the cumulative update though I had expected them to not ship RS2 with some of these issues still unfixed.

The Release Preview ring is available though and the watermark and timebomb are gone so this should be the final RS2 build and it's moving on to RS3 shortly and of course the usual monthly fixes for RS2 which I'm guessing we'll see the first of in a short while ahead of the general release for this build sometime April.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
radosuaf
Maha Guru
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 1050 Ti D5 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-6402P
Mainboard: MSI H110 PC MATE
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default 03-24-2017, 10:15 | posts: 1,406 | Location: Poland

https://betanews.com/2017/03/24/wind...m-final-build/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 03-25-2017, 00:08 | posts: 14,708 | Location: England

My PC finished installing this "Creators Update" about 20 minutes ago. It took about 45 minutes in total to complete after taking some 90 minutes (at least) to download and "prepare" it for installation.

Everything appeared to go fine but on booting into Windows I was unable to access the Start menu (it refused to open) or the Notification bar. I could open shortcuts on my desktop and File Explorer but Windows Apps such as Settings and the Store would just display their splash screens (coloured background with their icons) in a window and never actually opened or displayed anything. I could not even access Task Manager via Ctrl-Alt-Del as it just showed a black screen. A reboot fixed by selecting Restart from the right-click menu on the Start button.

Let's be optimistic and call that a one-off. I have come across one very annoying bug though... or perhaps it is specific to my machine... any Windows Store apps and games that are not located on the C drive show blank icons in the Start menu. Those that are on the C drive display as before. Knowing Microsoft this is likely an oversight as I've had issues with apps located on other drives with previous builds of Windows 10, e.g. the error when installing or updating apps to my H drive post-Anniversary update which turned out to be caused by the drive using file compression.

Going to test some more over the weekend but at least all my games and programs are still there exactly as before, including my desktop and the Fenced icons, etc.

*UPDATE*
The apps with blank icons won't load... a window appears then immediately closes! Great! Still it wouldn't be a Windows Update without something getting broken. Some of the apps I've fixed by using the Reset option, which then requires them to be "reinstalled" (really it validates them rather than redownloads them as it happens too quickly) but that isn't working for Gears of War for Windows 10 unfortunately, which ironically is the largest broken Store game.

Last edited by Darren Hodgson; 03-25-2017 at 01:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-25-2017, 05:40 | posts: 7,177 | Location: USA

you sure do have alot issue with windows store and there apps, This why I still dont use it, Hell store app is installed on my PC yet it is not, all the need files are there in right place but no store app is found in start and it can't be manual started.

Maybe stop using it? I know it drastic but it was me have these issues I would demanded refund on all that i bought there and stop using long ago.

I still of the opinion MS doing this store for "apps" was and still is bad idea and badly done at that, or the fact the did it in first place cause , they felt threatend by iOS/Andriod app store that could be free or charged apps, the one app I have which Weather APP that comes preinstalled, still has issues with being blank, and that happens regardless if the computer has used one privacy programs or not.

Im surprised MS has not started putting OS function behind payed "DLC" wall yet.

Last edited by tsunami231; 03-25-2017 at 05:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
radosuaf
Maha Guru
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 1050 Ti D5 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-6402P
Mainboard: MSI H110 PC MATE
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default 03-25-2017, 10:04 | posts: 1,406 | Location: Poland

Seriously, only way to use W10 is to get the Pro version and use CBB. This behaviour is be design.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 03-25-2017, 10:56 | posts: 14,708 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
you sure do have alot issue with windows store and there apps, This why I still dont use it, Hell store app is installed on my PC yet it is not, all the need files are there in right place but no store app is found in start and it can't be manual started.

Maybe stop using it? I know it drastic but it was me have these issues I would demanded refund on all that i bought there and stop using long ago.

I still of the opinion MS doing this store for "apps" was and still is bad idea and badly done at that, or the fact the did it in first place cause , they felt threatend by iOS/Andriod app store that could be free or charged apps, the one app I have which Weather APP that comes preinstalled, still has issues with being blank, and that happens regardless if the computer has used one privacy programs or not.

Im surprised MS has not started putting OS function behind payed "DLC" wall yet.
The Windows Store and its apps and games *DO* work though; it's just that updating from one major Windows 10 build to the next seems to introduce issues. I've never had any problems running Store games or apps once they're installed though, only when I've had to move them from one drive to another (which was a bug in Anniversary build) or they've become broken and no longer open (the new Reset option and redownloading fixes this).

I've just ran sfc /scannow and it reports no errors so it looks like build 15063 has installed correctly. However, dism /restorehealth returns error 0x800f081f but that's normal post-upgrade until I create a USB Windows 10 backup and then run it using the /source flag.

I played about an hour of Viking: Wolves of Midgard last night and the game ran fine (bar the usual Unity engine stutters!), exactly as it did on build 14393.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-25-2017, 16:10 | posts: 7,177 | Location: USA

I have no doubt they work likes should when they work. issues is the Store seem to keep screwing up for you, alot I would been annoyed long ago, you is trooper like conkers

Last edited by tsunami231; 03-27-2017 at 20:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 Hybrid 980ti @1490/8150
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2678 V3@2.9+
Mainboard: Asus d10pe-d8 ws
Memory: 64GB Samsung 2133mhz Ecc
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Seasonic X 1200W Gold
Default 03-27-2017, 14:06 | posts: 2,366

Curious, Should I try this one or the redstone 2 creators update 1703 version???

Wanted to try this one but also have redstone 2 creators update.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 03-27-2017, 14:20 | posts: 645 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by A M D BugBear View Post
Curious, Should I try this one or the redstone 2 creators update 1703 version???

Wanted to try this one but also have redstone 2 creators update.
Both 1 and the same mate
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 Hybrid 980ti @1490/8150
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2678 V3@2.9+
Mainboard: Asus d10pe-d8 ws
Memory: 64GB Samsung 2133mhz Ecc
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Seasonic X 1200W Gold
Default 03-27-2017, 14:23 | posts: 2,366

When you think rs3 will be out, some info is out already.

Also, Any .esd decrypter for this build, I found one but it didn't work.

In some cases, re-installing the os fixes the issue of decrypting .esd to .iso.

Last edited by A M D BugBear; 03-27-2017 at 14:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-27-2017, 14:42 | posts: 17,237 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by A M D BugBear View Post
When you think rs3 will be out, some info is out already.

Also, Any .esd decrypter for this build, I found one but it didn't work.

In some cases, re-installing the os fixes the issue of decrypting .esd to .iso.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=413403
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 Hybrid 980ti @1490/8150
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2678 V3@2.9+
Mainboard: Asus d10pe-d8 ws
Memory: 64GB Samsung 2133mhz Ecc
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Seasonic X 1200W Gold
Default 03-27-2017, 16:21 | posts: 2,366

ok I am trying it out now but asks for product key before installation.

want me to skip?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 03-27-2017, 18:52 | posts: 645 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by A M D BugBear View Post
ok I am trying it out now but asks for product key before installation.

want me to skip?
eah skip the machine will activate once connected to the net as long as its still the same hardware its stored against your microsoft account now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 Hybrid 980ti @1490/8150
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2678 V3@2.9+
Mainboard: Asus d10pe-d8 ws
Memory: 64GB Samsung 2133mhz Ecc
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Seasonic X 1200W Gold
Default 03-27-2017, 18:55 | posts: 2,366

I was trying to install the pro version, I changed my mind and installed the enterprise version like I always do and this time it didn't ask for the key, so far so good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 03-27-2017, 19:14 | posts: 13,643 | Location: Proxima \/82

Was going to update, but nah will wait for normal update.. Don't want to risk bricking windows store again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 03-27-2017, 22:07 | posts: 7,177 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Was going to update, but nah will wait for normal update.. Don't want to risk bricking windows store again.
Im pretty sure windows store dont need updates to brick it self though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X-Pascal
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: Corsaire Dominator
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 03-29-2017, 06:45 | posts: 2,223 | Location: Qatar

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Was going to update, but nah will wait for normal update.. Don't want to risk bricking windows store again.
me too


last time i tried an a non-normal build i couldn't change the res of my desktop to higher than 1440p let alone enabling 4k in games
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 Hybrid 980ti @1490/8150
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2678 V3@2.9+
Mainboard: Asus d10pe-d8 ws
Memory: 64GB Samsung 2133mhz Ecc
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Seasonic X 1200W Gold
Default 04-26-2017, 22:27 | posts: 2,366

Ok, went back to this build because the gsod's within rs3 16179.

Shortly after installing some stuff in the beginning, During a file transfer, Left my room for a bit, came back, I notice the transfer window, was glitching real bad, looks like its pressing pause then restart, in a very quick fashion.

Right after that happened, like 8-10 different working windows just flying up in my face, then system did a restart on its own.

You think possible bug/glitch in this build, never seen in this build before or other builds, not like this.

Something new I see all the time.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.