Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Does AMD have a Quad Channel 16 Core / 32 Thread CPU in the works?
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Does AMD have a Quad Channel 16 Core / 32 Thread CPU in the works? - 03-19-2017, 09:37 | posts: 27,982 | Location: Guru3D testlab

There's a new rumor floating like a point processor onto the web, the rumor once again is from the guys at*Canard PC. Earlier on they have leaked Ryzen benchmarks and information, most of their clai...

Does AMD have a Quad Channel 16 Core / 32 Thread CPU in the works?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 2133 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 03-19-2017, 09:57 | posts: 5,561 | Location: THE NORTH!!!

Because of course Ryzen isn't powerful enough already This would make for a great workstation CPU
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
GeniusPr0
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 Gaming 1070
Processor: BWE Xeon 18C/36T 2.745Ghz
Mainboard: X99 Fatal1ty Gaming i7
Memory: 32GB DDR4 GSkill 2532Mhz
Soundcard: Logitech Z-2300 + onboard
PSU: eVGA G2 1300W
Default 03-19-2017, 10:17 | posts: 1,092 | Location: Toronto

Octocores are all r7. 16 core has to be r9.

The chipset names are hilarious, trolling intel
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Hefny
Newbie
 
Hefny's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280 GAMING 3G
Processor: AMD Athlon X4 860K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolerMaster B2 series 60
Default 03-19-2017, 10:36 | posts: 8

If Naples fits AM4 and supported by X3xx chipsets, then it might make its way out of the datacenter to the clients.
And by the way, Canard PC is not that trusted. Ryzen 5 CPU clocks are not entirely what they reported earlier, at least not for all CPUs.

Last edited by Hefny; 03-19-2017 at 10:39. Reason: Adding more comments
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Incredible Lama
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX970 G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard: ASRock B75 B4M
Memory: DDR3 G.skill 2 x 4GB
Soundcard: Sony 5.1
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 03-19-2017, 12:22 | posts: 30 | Location: The Netherlands / Finland

Pardon my ignorance, but am I understanding correctly that gaming performance wise, this CPU would be completely uninteresting due to the low clocks (and 16 cores won;t be utilised)? Thus that makes it pretty much interesting to encoders and sorts, but not us?

If so, is there a possibility that we will see cut down versions as with the 350 chipset, that will allow for, for example, this new processor to have 8 cores, with quad channel memory performing in the same range as let's say a 1700 or 1600 gaming wise?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
NewTRUMP Order
Newbie
 
NewTRUMP Order's Avatar
 
Videocard: STRIX GTX 980
Processor: I7 4790K oc'd 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VII
Memory: TridentX 16GB 2400mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1
PSU: EVGA 750 G2
Default 03-19-2017, 12:56 | posts: 16

Uh oh now you are talking about a $1000 AMD cpu. Does AMD really want to go there? Seems to me what we have here is a Moore's law infused wish list from AMD fans. But I have been wrong before!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Evildead666
Master Guru
 
Evildead666's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9-290 HO@1100/1300 Cust
Processor: i5-3750K HO@4.2G H100i
Mainboard: ASRock z77 ATX
Memory: 4x4Gb DDR3-2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 850W
Default 03-19-2017, 13:16 | posts: 355

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefny View Post
If Naples fits AM4 and supported by X3xx chipsets, then it might make its way out of the datacenter to the clients.
And by the way, Canard PC is not that trusted. Ryzen 5 CPU clocks are not entirely what they reported earlier, at least not for all CPUs.
Some of the people at Canard PC are Ex x86-Secret, who were very respected back in the day, and still are.

This is not an AM4 socket, its a Server socket spinoff, which will require its own motherboard.
equate it to Intels Socket 2011 variant.

Its a logical decision to make, having multiples of 4/8 throughout.
8c/16t (6c/12t - 4c/8t) Dual-Ch Mem Desktop
16c/32t (12c/24t - 8c/16t) Quad-Ch Mem HEDT
32c/64t (28c/56t 24c/48t - 20c/40t) Oct-Ch Mem Server

Allows you to fully use the different Yield bins, and minimize waste.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Evildead666
Master Guru
 
Evildead666's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9-290 HO@1100/1300 Cust
Processor: i5-3750K HO@4.2G H100i
Mainboard: ASRock z77 ATX
Memory: 4x4Gb DDR3-2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 850W
Default 03-19-2017, 13:23 | posts: 355

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Lama View Post
Pardon my ignorance, but am I understanding correctly that gaming performance wise, this CPU would be completely uninteresting due to the low clocks (and 16 cores won;t be utilised)? Thus that makes it pretty much interesting to encoders and sorts, but not us?

If so, is there a possibility that we will see cut down versions as with the 350 chipset, that will allow for, for example, this new processor to have 8 cores, with quad channel memory performing in the same range as let's say a 1700 or 1600 gaming wise?
Yes, this is a Workstation chip.
Lots of threads, not so much speed overall.

It will be a different socket from AM4, so a dedicated motherboard will also be required.
There might be a 8c/16t version with quad channel memory, but whether its worth the cost to gamers is debatable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Venix
Member Guru
 
Venix's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Gtx 770 2gb
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3 ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z77 ...
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 4x4gb 1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair Gs 800
Default 03-19-2017, 13:28 | posts: 75 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewTRUMP Order View Post
Uh oh now you are talking about a $1000 AMD cpu. Does AMD really want to go there? Seems to me what we have here is a Moore's law infused wish list from AMD fans. But I have been wrong before!
Why amd would not want to go there? What kind of company can expand to diferent demographics and they choose not too?

As for the gaming part no you do not want to invest in a 16/32 cpu for gaming :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
zer0_c0ol
Ancient Guru
 
zer0_c0ol's Avatar
 
Videocard: FuryX cf
Processor: intel 3930k
Mainboard: rampage iv extreme x79
Memory: 8 gigs kingston hyper x d
Soundcard: audigy 2zs gold
PSU: antec 850 w
Default 03-19-2017, 13:30 | posts: 2,853 | Location: mostar(BIH)

It is highly plausible that we could see a crippled naples hedt platform
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Venix
Member Guru
 
Venix's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Gtx 770 2gb
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3 ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z77 ...
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 4x4gb 1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair Gs 800
Default 03-19-2017, 13:35 | posts: 75 | Location: Greece

Double post :/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Fender178
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 FTW 2113/8996
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 32Gb 2133
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 03-19-2017, 13:45 | posts: 3,116 | Location: Pennsylvania

I can see this CPU as a Server CPU as well. Whether or not AMD has a Server motherboard in the works that supports 2 CPUs is unknown. Makes me wonder how well this CPU fairs up against the Xeon CPUs in its class.

Also I can see this CPU being used to the User who does alot of Virtualization with virtual machines.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
wavetrex
Member Guru
 
wavetrex's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
Processor: i7 6800K Bw-E
Mainboard: GA-X99-Ultra Gaming
Memory: 64GB HyperX Predator
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: SuperFlower Gold 800W
Default 03-19-2017, 14:02 | posts: 56 | Location: Nederlanden

HandBrake would love this !

Good thing I didn't rushed buying the 1800X, while fast, it didn't seem like a really big upgrade to the 6800K running at 4.1Ghz (it would have been some 20-30% faster with all 8 cores)

However, a 32-thread chip, even with lower clock... DAYUM ! That would be >100% performance boost to my current CPU.

BRING IT ON !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Spawn182
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX Titan 6GB
Processor: i7-3930K @ 6 x 4,5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 8 x 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Sea Sonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-19-2017, 14:28 | posts: 24 | Location: Dickes "B" an der Spree!

Call me ignorant. But wasn't it quite clear, that AMD will place a platform between the current consumer Ryzen release and the server platform.

Especially the chipsets are not really usable for a decent workstation setup (multi GPU plus storage controller plus 64GB+ Ram) and AMD would be stupid, not to get those customers on board too.

I really like the Ryzen CPU performance, but I need my PC for more than just benchmarks and gaming and the current Ryzen release is no alternative to my socket 2011-3 setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 03-19-2017, 16:46 | posts: 6,172

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewTRUMP Order View Post
Uh oh now you are talking about a $1000 AMD cpu. Does AMD really want to go there? Seems to me what we have here is a Moore's law infused wish list from AMD fans. But I have been wrong before!
A $1000 AMD CPU that has double the cores/threads of the $1000 Intel CPU, so your price/performance ratio for workstation stays the same.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
labidas
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HD7870
Processor: athlon II x4 651k
Mainboard: Gigabyte A75m ud2h
Memory: 16gb 1600DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Chieftec 1kW
Default 03-19-2017, 18:51 | posts: 108

Duke AMD: "Rest in pieces, intel."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Silva
Member Guru
 
Silva's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus R9 270X
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: G-Skill Sniper 4x4096Mb
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500
PSU: Nox Urano VX 650W
Default 03-19-2017, 20:48 | posts: 75 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venix View Post
Why amd would not want to go there? What kind of company can expand to diferent demographics and they choose not too?

As for the gaming part no you do not want to invest in a 16/32 cpu for gaming :p
Not in the next 3 to 5 years anyway. It will be worth it when the code evolves to use all the threads efficiently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by labidas View Post
Duke AMD: "Rest in pieces, intel."
Not a fanboy myself but I believe they have too much market share to be out of the game. Plus, some people still buy Intel cuz "it's the best" or something...
Intel will need time to come up with something. Ryzen has taken AMD 4 years, Intel is bigger and has more resources but I'd say 1 to 2 years before any real response.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid
Processor: AMD FX 4350
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb/G-Skill 4Gb 1600
Soundcard: Claro Halo/DT 990 Pro
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 03-19-2017, 22:08 | posts: 5,788 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Lama View Post
but not us?
Define: us

This is a hardware site, that obviously caters to gamers since gamers are in general interested in hardware, but it's not a "gamers only hardware site" by any means.

If the staff of this site would like to correct me, that's perfectly fine.

If not, then who is "us" Incredible Lama?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incredible Lama View Post
If so, is there a possibility that we will see cut down versions as with the 350 chipset, that will allow for, for example, this new processor to have 8 cores, with quad channel memory performing in the same range as let's say a 1700 or 1600 gaming wise?
Doubtful, since an 8-core would not be defined as an "HEDT".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
FerCam
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming GTX980
Processor: i7 4820k 4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula IV
Memory: 4x4GB CorsairVant 2133GHz
Soundcard: Soundblstr Z+Homemade Amp
PSU: Corsair HX-850 v2 gold
Default 03-19-2017, 22:12 | posts: 219 | Location: Portugal

This is what I was waiting for! Bring it on!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
angelgraves13
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA 1080 GTX FTW2
Processor: i7 5960X 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-E WS
Memory: Corsair V LPX 64GB 2133
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Antec HCP 1200
Default 03-19-2017, 22:30 | posts: 395 | Location: Los Angeles

Can't wait to see what Intel is cooking up to counter this...

My next upgrade will be double the cores, so 16-core/32-thread sounds good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Fender178
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 FTW 2113/8996
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 32Gb 2133
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 03-19-2017, 22:57 | posts: 3,116 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by labidas View Post
Duke AMD: "Rest in pieces, intel."
For what this CPU is geared towards Intel has a huge market share in that department.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
schmidtbag
Maha Guru
 
schmidtbag's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 290
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: GA-890FXA-UD5 Rev 2.0
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889
PSU: Apevia 700W
Default 03-20-2017, 01:02 | posts: 1,374 | Location: MA, USA

I can't help but facepalm when people ask anything gaming related for a CPU like this. Even the Ryzen 7s aren't a good fit for gamers (great CPUs, but get a Ryzen 5 instead).

This CPU is just a desktop version of one of the Opterons AMD is planning to release. That being said, what confuses me is how exactly quad-channel memory is supposed to be achieved. Unless there's something I'm not understanding, this would require a new chipset (X390?) or else the CPU will either be stuck in dual-channel or (in a more likely scenario) not work at all.

I vaguely remember seeing one of AMD's roadmaps around a year ago where socket AM4 was going to be relatively short-lived, where after a year or two, AM4+ was going to be released. Assuming these 16-core chips will in fact exist at consumer-level, they're probably going to be apart of this AM4+ socket.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Turanis
Maha Guru
 
Turanis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte
Processor: SBA
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 03-20-2017, 02:21 | posts: 1,002 | Location: Into the light

Until then lets what we have here:
Athlon X4 AM4 (from MSI's How to)

https://youtu.be/Xv89nhFk1vc?t=29s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
fry178
Master Guru
 
fry178's Avatar
 
Videocard: 560ti/1gb
Processor: i7-3770K@stock
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2133/16GB
Soundcard: XonarDSX/Sennheiser HD580
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760w
Default 03-20-2017, 03:48 | posts: 390 | Location: Maryland

@Fender178
yes. so 64C/128T running on 2TB ram, no problemo..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid
Processor: AMD FX 4350
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb/G-Skill 4Gb 1600
Soundcard: Claro Halo/DT 990 Pro
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Default 03-20-2017, 04:15 | posts: 5,788 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
I can't help but facepalm when people ask anything gaming related for a CPU like this. Even the Ryzen 7s aren't a good fit for gamers (great CPUs, but get a Ryzen 5 instead).

This CPU is just a desktop version of one of the Opterons AMD is planning to release. That being said, what confuses me is how exactly quad-channel memory is supposed to be achieved. Unless there's something I'm not understanding, this would require a new chipset (X390?) or else the CPU will either be stuck in dual-channel or (in a more likely scenario) not work at all.

I vaguely remember seeing one of AMD's roadmaps around a year ago where socket AM4 was going to be relatively short-lived, where after a year or two, AM4+ was going to be released. Assuming these 16-core chips will in fact exist at consumer-level, they're probably going to be apart of this AM4+ socket.
The article states it would be a different socket and chipset, x399

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turanis View Post
Until then lets what we have here:
Athlon X4 AM4 (from MSI's How to)

https://youtu.be/Xv89nhFk1vc?t=29s
I'm confused at what you're trying to do here, jab at MSI?

What they show you in that video is an Athlon X4 950, which is an AM4 chip, so....?

Last edited by Aura89; 03-20-2017 at 04:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.