Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
vsync on, sometimes stuck on f'n 58.9 fps????!?!
Old
  (#1)
robnitro
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX RS RX 480 8gb
Processor: i5 -2500k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600 W Evga
Default vsync on, sometimes stuck on f'n 58.9 fps????!?! - 02-26-2017, 22:36 | posts: 19

RX 480 with latest crimson.

I can be playing games that use less than 30-40% gpu d3d, and sometimes will get vsync stuck at 58.9 -59 fps... instead of 60 fps which is my refresh rate. I have a second monitor on intel hd3000.

So annoying, I can close browser and all other apps and still it persists until reboot. What gives, windows 10 is so buggy with this crap- and nothing seems to reset it. Maybe AMD dropped the ball with this last catalyst??
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ObscureangelPT
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7850 OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945 @3.6
Mainboard: Asus M4A785TD-M EVO
Memory: 4x2GB Gskill 1333@1600MHZ
Soundcard: Creative Fatality HeadSet
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default 02-27-2017, 00:35 | posts: 345 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro View Post
RX 480 with latest crimson.

I can be playing games that use less than 30-40% gpu d3d, and sometimes will get vsync stuck at 58.9 -59 fps... instead of 60 fps which is my refresh rate. I have a second monitor on intel hd3000.

So annoying, I can close browser and all other apps and still it persists until reboot. What gives, windows 10 is so buggy with this crap- and nothing seems to reset it. Maybe AMD dropped the ball with this last catalyst??
Possibly the vsync caps at 59FPS due to your screen being at 59HZ.
I know it sounds stupid, but for example my screen supports 60HZ, 59HZ and 50HZ.
And some games just use the 59HZ instead of the 60HZ, so vsync locks it to the 59FPS.
IMO it's fine, as long as the vsync is capped at the refresh rate of the monitor, but for some reason if you are 100% sure that your HZ in those games are 60HZ and you are having 59FPS, in that case you will feel juddering all over the place.
Cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 02-27-2017, 01:15 | posts: 6,618

59Hz isn't a real thing, as far as I understand. 60Hz is really 59.94, so sometimes you see it as 59.94 or 60.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ObscureangelPT
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7850 OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945 @3.6
Mainboard: Asus M4A785TD-M EVO
Memory: 4x2GB Gskill 1333@1600MHZ
Soundcard: Creative Fatality HeadSet
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default 02-27-2017, 01:26 | posts: 345 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
59Hz isn't a real thing, as far as I understand. 60Hz is really 59.94, so sometimes you see it as 59.94 or 60.
It is..
I can show you my properties of the screen, it supports those 3 hz options.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-27-2017, 01:33 | posts: 4,282 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
59Hz isn't a real thing, as far as I understand. 60Hz is really 59.94, so sometimes you see it as 59.94 or 60.
It is. Sometimes refresh rates bug out with certain drivers and you get 59Hz and 60Hz (59.94Hz actual).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 290X CF H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.26V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-27-2017, 01:34 | posts: 4,282 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro View Post
RX 480 with latest crimson.

I can be playing games that use less than 30-40% gpu d3d, and sometimes will get vsync stuck at 58.9 -59 fps... instead of 60 fps which is my refresh rate. I have a second monitor on intel hd3000.

So annoying, I can close browser and all other apps and still it persists until reboot. What gives, windows 10 is so buggy with this crap- and nothing seems to reset it. Maybe AMD dropped the ball with this last catalyst??
Does this issue occur with the second monitor disabled? What refresh rate is the second monitor running?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 02-27-2017, 02:39 | posts: 6,618

This is an interesting can of worms we're opening here. I looked and 59.94Hz is part of the NTSC standard, which would make my original comment completely wrong. As far as I can see, my monitor does support both 59.94 and 60Hz, even if it won't explicitly state so in the firmware when I set it so.

Have you tried putting both monitors on the RX 480? Does the same happen then?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
robnitro
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX RS RX 480 8gb
Processor: i5 -2500k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600 W Evga
Default 02-28-2017, 05:45 | posts: 19

I found out it was Intel's fault. They write horrible software and drivers. My SRT response software is crap too.

Windows was set to 60 on both monitors, but the Intel crapdriver™ still said 59p inside it. I know 59 means 59.9xx but with 2 monitors active not at the same refresh, rivatuner fps was occasionally showing 58.9 fps, with reshade 3 showing an average of 59.45 fps.

Odd, thanks for the help!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
robnitro
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX RS RX 480 8gb
Processor: i5 -2500k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600 W Evga
Default 03-19-2017, 23:45 | posts: 19

Started happening again, I was confused! Then I found out that f.lux was doing it now. By changing the color/brightness slowly it was inducing stutter.

The fix for f.lux:
Choose safe mode
set the change in the window to be fast 20s.

So now it doesn't do a subtle slow change which makes lag, and when it changes it takes only 20s to complete.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 03-20-2017, 00:36 | posts: 872

Quote:
Originally Posted by ObscureangelPT View Post
It is..
I can show you my properties of the screen, it supports those 3 hz options.
https://www.vsynctester.com/

Go there and let it detect your refresh rate. I'm sure you'll find it's 59.94Hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
robnitro
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX RS RX 480 8gb
Processor: i5 -2500k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600 W Evga
Default 03-21-2017, 01:40 | posts: 19

It wasn't the refresh but f.lux.
Cool test, I get 60.0002.... Hz display
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.