Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD ryzen DOES not support high freq DDR4
Old
  (#1)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Arrow AMD ryzen DOES not support high freq DDR4 - 02-16-2017, 14:45 | posts: 14

some bad news
unlike z170& Z270, amd ryzen does not support high speed ddr4 memory kits.
best OC mainboards will be limited to 3200MhZ.

Last edited by JustinBulty; 02-16-2017 at 14:47.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 20GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 02-16-2017, 16:29 | posts: 247 | Location: Germany

Source? And if it were true, would it make much of a difference? 3.2GHz is still twice that of my current ddr3 ram
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 02-16-2017, 16:41 | posts: 13,782 | Location: Proxima \/82

3.2GHz is still ~45GB/s and that's more then enough, heck even anything over 32GB/s is.



If it was bottlenecked you would see it by those leaked highly multi threaded tests, and it wasn't

Sometimes 1800X almost goes head to head with 10core intel and its quad channel ~70GB/s.

Last edited by -Tj-; 02-16-2017 at 16:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1070 SC ACX | U2711
Processor: AMD R7 1700 3.9GHz H110i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: G.Skill 16GB 3200MHz C14
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 02-17-2017, 10:25 | posts: 1,306 | Location: Southampton, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post


Funny how that graph has The G.Skill Trident Z 3200 out performing the Ripjaws V 3200, even though they are the same speed but the ripjaws have slightly tighter timings.. wonder why that is. Wonder if its the RGB Trident Z sticks rather than the standard?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-17-2017, 11:19 | posts: 6,422 | Location: Australia

This article sounds a bit like anti-Zen. Even Kaby Lake really doesn't do well above 3200. It maybe can run it, but the benefit really isn't there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz+ air silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: Oppo 205, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 02-17-2017, 11:23 | posts: 10,204 | Location: United states of Kingdom

There are a few games where high speed DDR4 can help.
ie Fallout 4 scales well with memory speed and timings.
But in general it gives no benefit.

Different cpu arch, possibly different results.
Unfortunate Zen doesnt give the option tho.

Last edited by Mufflore; 02-17-2017 at 11:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-17-2017, 11:55 | posts: 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Öhr View Post
Source? And if it were true, would it make much of a difference? 3.2GHz is still twice that of my current ddr3 ram
i have access to some ryzen stuff but under precision NDA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-17-2017, 12:00 | posts: 14

http://www.shahrsakhtafzar.com/fa/im...1-1000x667.jpg
this is high end mobo but only support 2933 MhZ
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-17-2017, 17:34 | posts: 6,422 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinBulty View Post
http://www.shahrsakhtafzar.com/fa/im...1-1000x667.jpg
this is high end mobo but only support 2933 MhZ
That really doesn't mean anything as is.

Excerpt from the Asus Prime Z720-A support page. This is pretty much standard across Z270 boards in the way it is listed:

Quote:
4 x DIMM, Max. 64GB, DDR4 3866(O.C.)/3733(O.C.)/3600(O.C.)/3466(O.C.)/3400(O.C.)/3333(O.C.)/3300(O.C.)/3200(O.C.)/3000(O.C.)/2800(O.C.)/2666(O.C.)/2400(O.C.)/2133 MHz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory
As I bolded, technically Kaby Lake and the Z270 only support 2133 MHz RAM, the rest is overclocked. If you saw just 2133 MHz for specs on these boards, you would assume Z270 and Kaby only supports 2133 MHz RAM. Technically speaking it only supports 2133 MHz in way since the the rest are overclocked speeds.

You could argue the 2933 MHz on that image is the non-overclocked maximum support speed, like Intel's 2133 MHz, seeing as it is the only one listed.

Last edited by thatguy91; 02-17-2017 at 17:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
vase
Maha Guru
 
vase's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 02-17-2017, 17:50 | posts: 1,653 | Location: #1 http://www.3dmark.com/fs/8257155

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bentez View Post
Funny how that graph has The G.Skill Trident Z 3200 out performing the Ripjaws V 3200, even though they are the same speed but the ripjaws have slightly tighter timings.. wonder why that is. Wonder if its the RGB Trident Z sticks rather than the standard?
The reason is different kit sizes of the same BW (-> module sizes) can vary in timings.
And CL +/- 2 is a big thing...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-18-2017, 05:18 | posts: 14

even worse!
biostar start listing X370 mobos and according to official specs they only support at max 2667 MhZ!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-18-2017, 05:27 | posts: 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
That really doesn't mean anything as is.

Excerpt from the Asus Prime Z720-A support page. This is pretty much standard across Z270 boards in the way it is listed:


As I bolded, technically Kaby Lake and the Z270 only support 2133 MHz RAM, the rest is overclocked. If you saw just 2133 MHz for specs on these boards, you would assume Z270 and Kaby only supports 2133 MHz RAM. Technically speaking it only supports 2133 MHz in way since the the rest are overclocked speeds.

You could argue the 2933 MHz on that image is the non-overclocked maximum support speed, like Intel's 2133 MHz, seeing as it is the only one listed.
im completely aware of this but this is not what im talking about!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
grndzro7
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7850 @ 1200/1400
Processor: Phenom II X6 @4.0
Mainboard: US3DE3 /w VRM sinks
Memory: 8gb DDR3-1600 787-24
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Xigmatek 600w
Default 02-18-2017, 10:36 | posts: 23 | Location: Reno NV

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinBulty View Post
im completely aware of this but this is not what im talking about!
You could at least try to be objective. You can OC the FSB to increase the ram speed. It's always been that way. It isn't bad news.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-18-2017, 11:33 | posts: 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by grndzro7 View Post
You could at least try to be objective. You can OC the FSB to increase the ram speed. It's always been that way. It isn't bad news.
actually im hardware reviewer!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 02-18-2017, 13:36 | posts: 6,786 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

This time around I have to side with Ryzen on this one, first make extreme high frequency DDR4 a requirement (it yet isn't, 3200MHz is more than fast enough for every day use), then complain about it missing. I'm not even sure most people run DDR4 at all currently. I've tried running my RAM at 2133MHz even and honestly, it practically makes no difference for gaming as far as I have noticed in the games I played.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-18-2017, 17:07 | posts: 14

https://translate.google.com/transla...ted&edit-text=

Last edited by JustinBulty; 02-18-2017 at 18:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-18-2017, 18:15 | posts: 14

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
JustinBulty
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: 6700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA
Default 02-18-2017, 19:04 | posts: 14

AthlonTM AM4 !
am4 only support win 10-64 bit
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 ARMOR 4G OC
Processor: i7-2600k (Thanks sykozis)
Mainboard: ASRock H61icalf
Memory: 8GB G.S DDR3 1600 --TK--
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 02-19-2017, 01:45 | posts: 4,221 | Location: Beech Island SC,USA

It would be a millisecond quicker...

What shall I do with all that time?.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080ti SC
Processor: 2600k@4.8 w/ NH-D15S
Mainboard: P8Z77-V
Memory: G-Skills ddr3 16GB@1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: TX850
Default 02-19-2017, 02:06 | posts: 8,294 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinBulty View Post
AthlonTM AM4 !
am4 only support win 10-64 bit
They have already said ryzen will support Windows 7, 8 and 8.1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 20GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 02-19-2017, 02:27 | posts: 247 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinBulty View Post
i have access to some ryzen stuff but under precision NDA.
Sorry.... but I can't believe in random claims made by, frankly, some random dude on the interweb. I don't even know that website and even for them its just some "leak" that might be unreliable.

So it is just wait and see... and especially see if we are loosing out, being stuck at those super slow 3.2GHz modules...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Enterprise24
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980 Ti @ 1539 / 1940 H2O
Processor: i5-6500 @ 5.04Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asrock Z170 OC Formula
Memory: 16GB TridentZ 3600@4200
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX 750W
Default 02-19-2017, 03:58 | posts: 7 | Location: Nan , Thailand

The highest end AM4 motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero support DDR4-3200Mhz.

http://hothardware.com/news/asus-rog...boxed-on-video
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-19-2017, 04:14 | posts: 6,422 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Öhr View Post
Sorry.... but I can't believe in random claims made by, frankly, some random dude on the interweb. I don't even know that website and even for them its just some "leak" that might be unreliable.
The knowledge of most leaks is just the result of the next person finding an unflushed toilet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
phaT-X
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 570 x2
Processor: AMD FX 8150 @ 4.41 ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: ddr3 1866 (16gb)
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD Audio
PSU: Corsair 850XT 70A @ +12v
Default 02-19-2017, 09:46 | posts: 177 | Location: Mob., AL (USA)

Yeah, where are you getting this information from? I would like to see the source too.

Even when AMD has a specific range of ddr memory speeds that are "officially" support, they often can still support higher ranges and some motherboard manufacturers also add support for master memory. My ASUS Sabertooth 990 FX was like that, it officially support ddr3 1066 to 1866, but the BIOS supported up to 2400 mhz.

I believe the AMD Ryzen will perform wonderfully. I think a lot of people forget that a while back AMD was top dog and Intel was the one chasing their tail. When AMD launched there AMx series processors and Intel came out w/ the "Core ix" series is when they fell behind. They were hoping the "FX" BullDozer and Vishera would be something special, but to close to the launch date they suffered major set backs and in order to be close to their original launch date, they just decided not to try and fix their performance issues and just push higher clock speeds, which unfortunately was not going to win any award, hence why they priced them so low.

The Ryzen from what we've seen looks good, and hopefully it will keep on track and run just as fast or faster than Intel. I don't just say this because I am an AMD fan, I choose AMD because they are more user friendly to your wallet / bank acct.! Even when AMD has a superior processor, it will still be cheaper than Intel and they same goes for motherboards that support AMD, they too are much cheaper.

At my work I built (6) PC's, of those 5 are AMD systems, (2) with AMD FX 8370's (originally had FX 6350's), (1) w/ an AMD FX 8320, and (2) w/ AMD FX 6100's, the Intel system has an Intel Core i7 6800K 6-core... and yes, the Intel i7 6800K is a fast processor, but what it cost to build that system is what it cost me to build two of the AMD FX 8 core systems. For anyone that wants to get an Intel Core i7 6 core, 8 core, or 10 core processor, you'll be paying a high price, and oh boy if you dare try and purchase one of their "Core i7 Extreme Edition" processors, you will pay dearly. I just don't understand how Intel still thinks processors are worth being $1000.00 or more, because there aren't and it's not fair to the end users. I am sure every PC gamer out there would love to have an Extreme Edition processor, but for the majority of us, they are out of our reach.

I just wish AMD would release them already, I'm tired of waiting. I have a new Antec Twelve Hundred-Two v3 PC tower, 1 tb Samsung 960 EVO SSD drive, Corsair 1200 watt power supply, and Geforce GTX 1070 sitting here waiting.. all I lack is the AMD Ryzen CPU, Asus motherboard supporting the Ryzen processors, and ddr4 memory that works best w/ the Ryzen. I can't afford to purchase it all at once, so I start buying what I can a few months before the new platform is released.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4107Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3473Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 02-19-2017, 15:01 | posts: 7,777 | Location: In Paradise :)

I do not see a problem with Rysen runnning max DDR4-3200Mhz as it will not bottleneck anything , that's way more than enough bandwidth for today's applications and games. Also you got it take into account it's a brand new architecture and has not been fine tuned yet.

Intel cpu's can run higher ram speeds yes , but they are limited by the cpu imc too as not all skylake/kabylake cpus can handle DDR4-4000 or above , it all depends on that silicon lottery , if you get lucky with a good imc on your intel cpu it might run DDR4-4000+ speeds.

My 2 cents
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.