Need opinion on 1070 and 1060 for best Flight sim use

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by wingclip, Jan 16, 2017.

1. wingclip

wingclip Active Member

GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070
    Hi Folks,
    I’m in the market for a new graphics card and plan to place an order for one before the day is over. At present, I have an MSI R HD7970BE, which has 3 GB memory, a Bus Width of 384, a default Boost/Base Core clock of 1050MHz and 5500MHz (1375 x 4) memory clock speed.

I’m not a “gamer” per se, but I am an avid Flight Sim hobbyist. Over the years, I’ve accumulated several thousand dollars of 3rd party add-on software for my Flight Sim platform; FSX.

FSX hits the CPU hardest but the right GPU can certainly contribute strong support to the system. [I run my i7-4790K (Devil’s Canyon), at 5Ghz when in the sim]

My budget is keeping me at an ABSOLUTE maximum of $390.00. However, I was looking at a GTX 1060 6GB card for about $270.00 when I started. Then after reading some reviews, I began considering the GTX 1070 8GB.

The problem is that the 1070’s that are in the $390.00 spot may not be all that much of an improvement over the 1060 for the additional $110.00+ price tag.

The following cards, (links included), are what I’m looking at. Most are MSI’s but I have some EVGA in the list too. Because I have an MSI mobo, I prefer to stay with an MSI GPU but it's certainly not a "must".

Keeping in mind that I’m focused on using it for the FSX Flight Sim only, (no games) I’m hoping that someone can help me determine the best card for my needs, bang for the buck, and OC capabilities.

Thank you,
    Rich
    (My basic system specs are below as well).

$389.99: MSI GAMING GeForce GTX 1070 8GB (GeForce GTX 1070 ARMOR 8G OC)
    https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B01GXOX2BU?ref=emc_b_5_t&th=1

$264.99: MSI Computer GTX 1060 ARMOR 6G OCV1 NVIDIA GeForce GDDR5 DVI/2HDMI/2DisplayPort PCI-Express Video Card https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B01L9VB642?ref=emc_b_5_t&th=1