Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
WTF with BF1 crossfire?
Old
  (#1)
mao5
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5870CF
Processor: i7 950 OC 4.5GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 2.0)
Memory: 6GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 750W
Default WTF with BF1 crossfire? - 12-28-2016, 17:35 | posts: 247

with 16.12.2, one 7970 can get 60-80 fps at 2K resolution and low graphics setting in MP, with 2x 7970, I can get the same frame rates in MP, but a lot of stutters everywhere.

WTF, the red driver team still can't fix the crossfire problem in BF1?

Last edited by mao5; 12-28-2016 at 17:38.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
TonyTurbo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Xfire 390's @ 1100/1500
Processor: I7 3770k @ 4.8GHz 1.3v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 Sniper G1 M3
Memory: 16gb Corsair XMS3 @1600
Soundcard: Onboard (it's that good)
PSU: Superflower 1200W
Default 12-28-2016, 18:24 | posts: 213 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by mao5 View Post

WTF, the red driver team still can't fix the crossfire problems in every game
fixed that for you

Can't wait to finally chin off crossfire and get a 1080ti or Vega is it's good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Noisiv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 ACIV 1150/1500MHz
Processor: i5-4590
Mainboard: ECS Z97 Machine
Memory: 16GB HyperX 2400MHz
Soundcard: SPDIF>SD793II>JBL LSR308
PSU: Silent Pro M700
Default 12-28-2016, 19:36 | posts: 5,463

is it my English or the fixed version might be understood as more apologetic,

as in: crossfire working in many games, but not in every single game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
RexOmnipotentus
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290
Processor: Core i7 4770K (4.1 GHZ)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Memory: RipjawsX 16GB 2133mhz CL9
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM 1000
Default 12-29-2016, 04:14 | posts: 770 | Location: Netherlands

Set post processing to medium. Everything above will mess with the scaling.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
PF Prophet
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Tri-x 290x*2(CF)
Processor: AMD FX-9370@4.6ghz 1.4v
Mainboard: Crosshair V-Z
Memory: 32gb gskill ares 2133
Soundcard: CHV-Z + z5500
PSU: EVGA 1300watt psu
Default 12-30-2016, 14:28 | posts: 194 | Location: Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noisiv View Post
is it my English or the fixed version might be understood as more apologetic,

as in: crossfire working in many games, but not in every single game
odd, i mean i dont grab new AAA titles when they launch(in a beta or even alpha state) but, all the games i have that need dual cards to run at 4k, run just fine one one card at 1080 or 1440...rarely do i run into a title i cant get working with CF if the game needs CF...

my buddy whos got SLI actually complains more about sli then i do cf, but thats because he plays ALOT of titles that will never see an official profile for sli or cf...

they apparently are working on doing better with cf though, was reading they have been working on adding more stock profile options, and may even be working on adding super tile mode and scissor mode back..since AFR is far from the optimal solution in many cases.

for example, back in the day, i would run my o 6870's in cf and, some titles wouldnt run worth a **** in any mode but tile mode, and tile mode rarely gave a large boost to max fps, but it did an amazing job of bringing min fps up
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Zemial
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7970 @ CF
Processor: Intel 4770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Mpower Z87
Memory: Kingston 2400MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24
PSU: Nexus RX-1K 1000W
Default 12-30-2016, 15:54 | posts: 119 | Location: Finland

This isn't crossfire problem. I just bought Nvidia GTX 1080 and my i7 4770k@4.5GHZ still struckling to keep up, but I get lot more better FPS thou. It is about how the game has been made.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Paulo Narciso
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 290X Crossfire
Processor: Intel Core I7 4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: G.Skill TridentX 2400 16G
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 12-30-2016, 18:14 | posts: 1,052 | Location: Lisbon

Quote:
Originally Posted by PF Prophet View Post
odd, i mean i dont grab new AAA titles when they launch(in a beta or even alpha state) but, all the games i have that need dual cards to run at 4k, run just fine one one card at 1080 or 1440...rarely do i run into a title i cant get working with CF if the game needs CF...

my buddy whos got SLI actually complains more about sli then i do cf, but thats because he plays ALOT of titles that will never see an official profile for sli or cf...

they apparently are working on doing better with cf though, was reading they have been working on adding more stock profile options, and may even be working on adding super tile mode and scissor mode back..since AFR is far from the optimal solution in many cases.

for example, back in the day, i would run my o 6870's in cf and, some titles wouldnt run worth a **** in any mode but tile mode, and tile mode rarely gave a large boost to max fps, but it did an amazing job of bringing min fps up
Can you post some links where you read that, please?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 01-11-2017, 20:52 | posts: 6,179

Here I get crashes in DX12 mode. No other game does that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Nitro OC
Processor: i7 3930k@ 4.1 H100i
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: HyperX 1866 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DXG X-540 5.1
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 01-11-2017, 21:25 | posts: 2,146 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
Here I get crashes in DX12 mode. No other game does that.
I have the same issue.
290x and Fury both crash in DX12 regardless of driver used.

I can reset all video settings.
It will launch once in DX12, once I exit the game and try to relaunch it crashes every time.
Only game DX12 does not work for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
learners permit
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Xfire 290X
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87x-d3h
Memory: 2x8 team xtreem lv 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi PCIE
PSU: PCPC 950watt
Default 01-20-2017, 09:47 | posts: 292 | Location: Or.

Main reason I never buy games at initial release is too many issues until proper patches are implemented. SOOOOO annoying!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.