R9 Downclock memory issues with ReLive? Try This Workaround

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Chastity, Dec 22, 2016.

1. Chastity

Chastity Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Nitro 5700XT/6800M
    R9 Downclock memory issues with ReLive? :FAILED TO FIX:

As an owner of a nice Sapphire R9 390 Nitro w/ Backplate, I've had some nice gaming experiences with it, that is until Crimson ReLive came about and b0rked up my memory settings. What is happening is that the latest driver and Wattman combo is causing systems to use the lowest power savings on systems that should not, and causing all sorts of issues. Systems with multiple monitors should remain at top memory clock speeds, and unfortunatey they are not, and downclocking to 150. What is worse, they are staying there when gaming, resulting in subpar performance.

Another problem is that 3rd party apps to do overclocking have also been made incompatible, and cause nothing but issues if you change timings with them, like AfterBurner and TRIXX. But we also want to use the latest drivers to get the best performance increases.

My biggest issue is that I get screen glitching due to the memory clocks constantly fluctuating between 150 and full speed (1500 or 1650 depending on my OC) I did manage to get ReLive working as is, but I have to disable all but one monitor, and that is just plain unacceptable. I also am using HDMI and DVI for my 2 monitors, and using HDMI allows me to have 75Hz on one, which I wish to keep. (I'll be ordering 2 DP to HDMI active adapters soon so I can have 3 monitors, and 75Hz on all)

So, for the benefit of Science :D , I decided to try and see if I can get the benefits of ReLive drivers and have some graphic stability. So i did a nice clean install of 16.11.5, after DDU (latest), and then followed up by manually installing 16.12.2 via Device Manager. Lo, and behold, it worked! :banana: With some interesting finds to boot.