Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#176)
OrionCheung
Member Guru
 
OrionCheung's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING 8G
Processor: i5 6500 @ 4117.18MHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z170 Gaming K4
Memory: G.Skill DDR4 8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Seasonic 460W Platinum FL
Default 01-09-2017, 19:02 | posts: 114 | Location: New York City, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruse View Post
So are these drivers actually "new" or just official now?

Has anyone tested to see if they still have the secondary display/mem clock screen flicker issue?
On AMD site. It has today release date. But since no one took a picture of the Dec driver 16.2.2 drivers. I dont know what they change. shrug. (I am using nvidia card.)

Last edited by OrionCheung; 01-09-2017 at 19:27.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#177)
Kruse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290X 4GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 750
Default 01-09-2017, 19:04 | posts: 55

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionCheung View Post
On AMD site. It has today release date. But since no on took a picture of the Dec driver 16.2.2 drivers. I dont know what they change. shrug. (I am using nvidia card.)
Thanks, that was most helpful and informative.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#178)
mtrai
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor RX 480 Red Dev
Processor: Skylake I5 6600K
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaw V 2x8 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: evga supernova 1050 gs
Default 01-09-2017, 19:12 | posts: 762 | Location: Panama City Beach, FL, USA

Paging JonasBeckman to do you magical driver compare and let us plebes know what is going on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#179)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 01-09-2017, 19:23 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

i just got an notification there is a new drivers available

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#180)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 01-09-2017, 19:31 | posts: 13,149 | Location: Sweden

Yep, January 3rd now in the file name.
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-arti...ase-Notes.aspx

EDIT: These are new, I think?

Quote:
Fixed Issues
...
Radeon ReLive Overlay/Toolbar will not launch or Record when running League of Legends™ in Administrator Mode and Windowed Borderless Fullscreen.
Long ping times may be experienced with some WiFi adapters.
Quote:
Known Issues
Mouse cursor corruption may be intermittently experienced on Radeon RX 480.
And for the ReLive Known Issues section this was removed as it's now listed as fixed.

"Radeon ReLive Overlay/Toolbar will not launch or Record when running League of Legends™ in Administrator Mode and Windowed Borderless Fullscreen."

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 01-09-2017 at 19:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#181)
Paulo Narciso
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: Intel Core I7 4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: G.Skill TridentX 2400 16G
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 01-09-2017, 19:41 | posts: 1,096 | Location: Lisbon

Vram clock issues seems fixed on my end. Resumed from sleep and clocks remain the same, they haven't dropped to 150mhz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#182)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 01-09-2017, 19:53 | posts: 549

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruse View Post
So are these drivers actually "new" or just official now?

Has anyone tested to see if they still have the secondary display/mem clock screen flicker issue?
I was hoping someone else would experiment to find out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#183)
Mooby29
Member Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290X@1150/1500mhz
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Gskill DDR3 PC12800 16GB
Soundcard: Focal Chorus 826V
PSU: Enermax Revo 85+ 1250W
Default 01-09-2017, 20:18 | posts: 132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chastity View Post
I was hoping someone else would experiment to find out.
Gone for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#184)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 01-09-2017, 20:32 | posts: 29,290 | Location: Guru3D testlab

I have updated the local guru3d mirrors with the new binaries. The drivers is now WHQL and holds some small fixes.

http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#185)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 01-09-2017, 20:39 | posts: 2,808 | Location: Argentina

 Click to show spoiler



Those are the changed/new files vs the December installer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#186)
Rambo
Master Guru
 
Rambo's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 480->RX 560 w8 4 Vega
Processor: i5-4690
Mainboard: MSI Z97 GAMING 3
Memory: 4xG.SKILL 2400 CL10
Soundcard: Hail for bananas!
PSU: EVGA 550W
Default 01-09-2017, 20:41 | posts: 159

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dekaohtoura View Post
Also, they're 496MB, 120MB larger file compared to the previous version (x64, win10).
Newer drivers has something called "ccc2_install.exe" 119MB
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#187)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 01-09-2017, 21:09 | posts: 549

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooby29 View Post
Gone for me.
Initial install was fine, but I was able to trip up the glitching in Wattman after resetting an OC back to defaults. AB still not being friendly with Wattman.

Improvements: Game profile OC working, GPU clocks only. (Memory is greyed out)

Resetting computer will now restore proper memory clocks. (Unlike before, had to reinstall driver)

So at this point I could keep Global to default, and just OC using game profiles for those games that benefit. The memory OC is minimal impact. Also noted that my GPU temp sensor is stable, no more erroneous spikes like before, but that may have been addressed when I reseated the card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#188)
Virs
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 390
Processor: Intel Core I5 4690k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 700W
Default 01-09-2017, 21:22 | posts: 157

Top of the screen flicker is still present for me, when leaving a game that was using VSR or, in some cases, when switching resolution/refresh rate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#189)
LocoDiceGR
Master Guru
 
LocoDiceGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel®Core i5 750 2.67Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55-M
Memory: HyperX Fury @1866
Soundcard: SoundblasterZ
PSU: XFX TS 550w
Default 01-09-2017, 21:36 | posts: 682 | Location: Greece

Why not 17.1.1...It would be more ''logical''

Anyway im gonna try them!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#190)
Dekaohtoura
Master Guru
 
Dekaohtoura's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290 ACIV 1120/1300
Processor: FX8320@4.8GHz...going up.
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FXR2.0
Memory: 2x8GB KingstonBeast@1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 01-09-2017, 21:40 | posts: 190

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambo View Post
Newer drivers has something called "ccc2_install.exe" 119MB
Have seen this many times.

What does it do, exactly?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#191)
Arxon
Newbie
 
Videocard: RX 470
Processor: Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 01-09-2017, 21:46 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEAST View Post
Color and saturation settings have been removed
WOW !
Why they did such stupid thing?
This is incredible! Maybe they need to remove all preferences at all? And left only "uninstall driver" button

Why resolution settings are removed too?
What the hell are they doing?

Last edited by Arxon; 01-09-2017 at 21:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#192)
OrionCheung
Member Guru
 
OrionCheung's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING 8G
Processor: i5 6500 @ 4117.18MHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z170 Gaming K4
Memory: G.Skill DDR4 8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Seasonic 460W Platinum FL
Default 01-09-2017, 21:55 | posts: 114 | Location: New York City, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by LocoDiceGR View Post
Why not 17.1.1...It would be more ''logical''

Anyway im gonna try them!
My guess is. The person that does the drivers is at CES. Some intern doesn't want to mess things up and just give it the same name, and added jan3 in the file name.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#193)
Horus-Anhur
Member Guru
 
Horus-Anhur's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 390 Nitro
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 01-09-2017, 23:24 | posts: 144 | Location: Portugal

Just installed these new 16.12.2 but got the same issues with Wattman on my Radeon R9 390.
Still can't change voltage for the GPU core. And of course, MSI Afterburner is not supported.
But now memory voltage is greyed out. This means that these are even worse than the previous ReLive drivers.

Didn't test any games yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#194)
Kruse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290X 4GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 750
Default 01-10-2017, 06:07 | posts: 55

So, basically they re-released the same driver and just updated the dates?

dafuq?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#195)
LocoDiceGR
Master Guru
 
LocoDiceGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel®Core i5 750 2.67Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55-M
Memory: HyperX Fury @1866
Soundcard: SoundblasterZ
PSU: XFX TS 550w
Default 01-10-2017, 06:49 | posts: 682 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruse View Post
So, basically they re-released the same driver and just updated the dates?

dafuq?
And some small fixes probably.

Some people want WHQL (because reasons!) so here you go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#196)
AlleyViper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: PHII 965BE @4.0GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP DK 790FXB-M3H5
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial 1866C9
Soundcard: SB Z
PSU: RM750
Default 01-10-2017, 07:15 | posts: 283

CGN 1.0 UVD idle bug still present on jan3 release.
At least is good to see some clock issues sorted on other cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#197)
Arxon
Newbie
 
Videocard: RX 470
Processor: Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 01-10-2017, 07:30 | posts: 2

I still doesn't understand, removing bunch of primary settings (color and saturation, resolution, etc) is an improvement or what?

They just threw away important controls and happy with it?
But what is the point? is there any sense?
AMD prepares to go bankrupt or what? I will never buy i new card with lack of primary settings such as brightness and color control.

Last edited by Arxon; 01-10-2017 at 07:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#198)
LocoDiceGR
Master Guru
 
LocoDiceGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel®Core i5 750 2.67Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55-M
Memory: HyperX Fury @1866
Soundcard: SoundblasterZ
PSU: XFX TS 550w
Default 01-10-2017, 08:52 | posts: 682 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arxon View Post
I still doesn't understand, removing bunch of primary settings (color and saturation, resolution, etc) is an improvement or what?

They just threw away important controls and happy with it?
But what is the point? is there any sense?
AMD prepares to go bankrupt or what? I will never buy i new card with lack of primary settings such as brightness and color control.
AMD prepares to put them back again in crimson panel, but you cant wait right?
You just wanna ****post.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#199)
THEAST
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD7950 + HD7970 CF
Processor: i7-5820k @ 4.25 GHz
Mainboard: MSI X99A SLI Krait
Memory: 4x4GB G.Skill 3000 MHz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850i
Default 01-10-2017, 10:42 | posts: 191

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arxon View Post
I still doesn't understand, removing bunch of primary settings (color and saturation, resolution, etc) is an improvement or what?
It is not an improvement but removing them reduces the amount of code the developers have to maintain. You can (and should) change your resolution and refresh rate via the OS itself. And for color settings, most monitors have those settings built-in nowadays. They will probably be back sooner or later due to overwhelming backlash.

One could argue those settings should not have been put in the GPU driver in the first place. Just look at Wattman, it will never be as good as third-party competitors like Afterburner or TriXX, and it is already giving people so much headache due to numerous bugs and it is also breaking third-party equivalents. Putting OC settings in the driver will just bloat the driver, forcing the developers to maintain more code, and shifts priority from fixing bugs in the driver itself; I am pretty sure all GCN v1.0 card owners would prefer AMD's engineers to spend their time on fixing the clock bug affecting those cards, rather than spending it on Wattman which is not even supported on those cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#200)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 01-10-2017, 11:47 | posts: 2,995 | Location: HolyWater Village

Yes now we have WHQL:
WHQL-Relive-radeon-software-crimson-16.12.2-jan3

I don't have bugs with earlier versions so i can Test this one up
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.