Graphical Equalizer or Not?

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by ElectronSpider, Oct 23, 2016.

1. I am no sound engineer, but was wondering if using a graphical equalizer will hurt the audio quality? I ask because the music sounds much "richer" when using the graphical equalizer. Note, I am not talking about any type of boosts such as bass boost, which tend to make music muddy.

For example, if I am listening to an audio cd and change the graphical equalizer preset to that genre of music, such as Metal. I have only tested with Windows Media Player graphical equalizer (I'll try VLC player's EQ as well) and at least subjectively the sound "resolution" between different instruments and vocals seems higher, clearer.

I know that the music has already been mixed by a sound engineer to achieve a optimal sound experience, but the audio sound even better to me when using a graphical equalizer as well.

2. sverek

sverek Guest

GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    Hurt audio quality on hardware level? No.

Hurt audio quality of the sound you hear? Well, as far as you enjoying it and it sound good to you, that all what matters.

3. Extraordinary

Extraordinary Guest

GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Pretty sure all that does is the same as moving the sliders for bass > treble yourself, but as saved presets

4. stevevnicks

stevevnicks Guest

GPU:
    Don't need one
    I don't know enough myself, although with digital audio I will ask, wouldn't an good/half decent software EQ do a good job as it all being done digitally before it hits the speakers?

I don't know so anyone ?

5. jura11

jura11 Guest

GPU:
    RTX 3090 NvLink
    Personally I prefer flat EQ for any music,if you have good sound card and good headphones or speakers plus good quality of music then using any EQ is just crime against any music

If its hurt quality of music,yes if its not done properly or if you have not the best sound card plus headphones/speakers