Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
The Witcher 3 Official Thread (Pt.4)
Old
  (#1)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default The Witcher 3 Official Thread (Pt.4) - 06-06-2016, 11:04 | posts: 13,327 | Location: UK

New thread because the other one got too big, previous threads can be found here:

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Grimbarian
Maha Guru
 
Grimbarian's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD RX480 8gb
Processor: AMD FX8350 @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Krait 970A Sli
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3 2133MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair CS850M 850W Gold
Default 06-06-2016, 12:20 | posts: 942 | Location: On the way to Portugal!

Always found it weird that this site has to close threads that get too big, never come across another forum that has that issue. But then I've never come across another vbulletin forum that handles cookies as badly as this one, if I visit this place but don't view a thread that thread is marked as read the next time I visit, all other forums I use a thread is never marked as read unless I read it or double click it to mark it read...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 06-06-2016, 12:35 | posts: 2,692

Get the new mutagens quest in BaW asap and start leveling those things. Bloodbath destroys shield bearers and if your other builds there are other mutagens that will aid you in the some of the new content.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
AndreasGuido
Ancient Guru
 
AndreasGuido's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Core i7 6700k @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR4-3000
Soundcard: Integrated 5.1
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W
Default 06-06-2016, 14:12 | posts: 4,844 | Location: Riga, LV/Bristol, UK

im so jealous of all of you playing it! I still have no broadband and cant download
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 06-06-2016, 14:30 | posts: 2,692

You can get a disk copy assume it has no online check being cdpj. Seems you can buy the expansions on dvd also but would cost more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
AndreasGuido
Ancient Guru
 
AndreasGuido's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Core i7 6700k @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR4-3000
Soundcard: Integrated 5.1
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W
Default 06-06-2016, 14:40 | posts: 4,844 | Location: Riga, LV/Bristol, UK

I have season pass so already got the expansion!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 06-06-2016, 14:42 | posts: 2,692

Ahh that sucks hope you get your net back soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Brogan
Maha Guru
 
Brogan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 G1
Processor: i7 6700
Mainboard: GA-170X-UD3
Memory: 16GB 3200MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: G2 SuperNOVA 750
Default 06-06-2016, 16:09 | posts: 1,030 | Location: east coast

I wonder how long it's going to take for the next patch to address some of the new bugs found in B&W.

The only other reason I haven't jumped in and started it yet is because I know how sad I'm going to be when it's over.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
-Ruin-
Maha Guru
 
-Ruin-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 1060 6GB
Processor: i5 7600k @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
Memory: 8GB CrucialBallistix DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1220 - Yamaha RXV440
PSU: EVGA GQ850w
Default 06-06-2016, 16:50 | posts: 1,192 | Location: St. Louis MO

Now this is how you do DLC/Expansions! Some other developers could take notes. I don't remember what I payed for the season pass exactly but between the two expansions I feel like I have 3 full games. for under $100.

Well done CD Projekt Red.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780Ti 3GB Matrix
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1300X@3,9GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte AB350-Gaming 3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220+Z-340 2.1
PSU: EVGA 500W
Default 06-06-2016, 18:17 | posts: 8,165 | Location: Netherlands

Haven't played the game much, waiting to get my hands on a 1070 and play it with all the bells and whistles + downsampling.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Amaze
Maha Guru
 
Amaze's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1 1550/7800
Processor: Intel 2500K @4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: O2+ODAC
PSU: Coolermaster v700
Default 06-06-2016, 19:16 | posts: 2,194 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Haven't played the game much, waiting to get my hands on a 1070 and play it with all the bells and whistles + downsampling.
Just a heads up; a 1070 can't maintain 60 fps at 1440p with Witcher 3 max settings.
Very sad indeed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 06-06-2016, 19:33 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaze View Post
Just a heads up; a 1070 can't maintain 60 fps at 1440p with Witcher 3 max settings.
Very sad indeed.
Even without hairworks? It probably can.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 06-06-2016, 19:48 | posts: 2,692

Well the new update lost me 10 fps on my nvidia card, so maybe they can patch it back up a bit, or nvidia can get some driver improvements.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
evilkiller650
Ancient Guru
 
evilkiller650's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 980ti AMP! Extreme
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 Veng
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG 5.1
PSU: XFX 750W XXX
Default 06-06-2016, 19:50 | posts: 4,804 | Location: Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimbarian View Post
Always found it weird that this site has to close threads that get too big, never come across another forum that has that issue. But then I've never come across another vbulletin forum that handles cookies as badly as this one, if I visit this place but don't view a thread that thread is marked as read the next time I visit, all other forums I use a thread is never marked as read unless I read it or double click it to mark it read...
I do know of other forums that do this because it over-stresses the servers (or something like that )
I don't mind it and it also keeps the forum more organised, instead of having to look through threads that could possibly go on forever and have tens or even hundreds of thousands of posts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Turanis
Maha Guru
 
Turanis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte RX500
Processor: SBA
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 16GB-4
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 06-06-2016, 22:13 | posts: 1,118 | Location: Into the light

If some of you have crash to desktop after watch cutscenes or want to enter to inventory here's a tip:
Enter in The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt\bin\config\base\visuals.ini and change MovieUbersampling=true to false.
Maybe will be helpful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Brogan
Maha Guru
 
Brogan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 G1
Processor: i7 6700
Mainboard: GA-170X-UD3
Memory: 16GB 3200MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: G2 SuperNOVA 750
Default 06-06-2016, 23:09 | posts: 1,030 | Location: east coast

^^ Have always made that change. Also change the movie fps from 30 to 60.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Turanis
Maha Guru
 
Turanis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte RX500
Processor: SBA
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 16GB-4
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 06-06-2016, 23:31 | posts: 1,118 | Location: Into the light

There are complains about CTD on Gog forum,thats a good tip for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
nateluthje
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 1080 strix sli
Processor: 6700K @4.8 Kraken x61
Mainboard: Asus Z170 maximus hero
Memory: 32Gb corsair ddr4 3000
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 1000watt coolermaster
Default 06-07-2016, 01:40 | posts: 239 | Location: Redland Bay Australia

I've just started playing b&w, no graphics issues with health bar as some have suggested. Running latest crimson drivers, hd7970ghz 6gb xfire. Runs smooth, 45-55fps at 1440p, ultra. No issues thus far, but I have only played about 5hrs into b&w.

Cheers, Nate
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 06-07-2016, 02:39 | posts: 1,818 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turanis View Post
There are complains about CTD on Gog forum,thats a good tip for me.
I have the GoG version. Not a single problem here :-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Brogan
Maha Guru
 
Brogan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 G1
Processor: i7 6700
Mainboard: GA-170X-UD3
Memory: 16GB 3200MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: G2 SuperNOVA 750
Default 06-07-2016, 02:42 | posts: 1,030 | Location: east coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by nateluthje View Post
I've just started playing b&w, no graphics issues with health bar as some have suggested. Running latest crimson drivers, hd7970ghz 6gb xfire. Runs smooth, 45-55fps at 1440p, ultra. No issues thus far, but I have only played about 5hrs into b&w.

Cheers, Nate
NG+, or regular?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Grimbarian
Maha Guru
 
Grimbarian's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD RX480 8gb
Processor: AMD FX8350 @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Krait 970A Sli
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3 2133MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair CS850M 850W Gold
Default 06-07-2016, 09:45 | posts: 942 | Location: On the way to Portugal!

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilkiller650 View Post
I do know of other forums that do this because it over-stresses the servers (or something like that )
I don't mind it and it also keeps the forum more organised, instead of having to look through threads that could possibly go on forever and have tens or even hundreds of thousands of posts
Simplicity of a huge thread is you can easily search for something before asking the same question over and over and annoying regular posters in the thread, if each game has four or five threads how do you search for something? Open every single thread and search every single thread? Nobody would do that!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Bond!JamesBond!
Master Guru
 
Bond!JamesBond!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS GRYPHON Z87
Memory: 16GB Mushkin BL DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 06-07-2016, 10:06 | posts: 680 | Location: US

just got a little more to do before every single thing possible is done.
level 35 and about 500hrs ive played.
then i'll start dlc. hos first then baw.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 06-07-2016, 11:14 | posts: 13,143 | Location: Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimbarian View Post
Simplicity of a huge thread is you can easily search for something before asking the same question over and over and annoying regular posters in the thread, if each game has four or five threads how do you search for something? Open every single thread and search every single thread? Nobody would do that!
It's to lessen the strain on the servers from search requests.

Used to be a problem back when threads went on for thousands of pages and tens of thousands of posts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Grimbarian
Maha Guru
 
Grimbarian's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD RX480 8gb
Processor: AMD FX8350 @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Krait 970A Sli
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3 2133MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair CS850M 850W Gold
Default 06-07-2016, 11:53 | posts: 942 | Location: On the way to Portugal!

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatman839 View Post
It's to lessen the strain on the servers from search requests.

Used to be a problem back when threads went on for thousands of pages and tens of thousands of posts
Is that why cookies don't function as normal on other sites as well? Ie a thread should always stay unread unless I actually read it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Arabaldo
Member Guru
 
Arabaldo's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 4GB 1450/7800
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4,3 GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-S01
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600Mhz CL9
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 06-07-2016, 22:06 | posts: 85 | Location: Sweden

The BIG question...when I'm finished with this game...what game can match this...looong time since I have been so into a game like I have with this. I just can't let it go, searching every nook and cranny of the gameworld...don't wanna miss anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.